We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashton House Hostel

Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (26)
  • Excellent7%
  • Very good11%
  • Average19%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible46%
14 Oct 2017
“Central but needs cleaning”
30 Apr 2017
“Avoid this mouse trap”
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Laundry Service
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
See what travellers are saying:
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

This place is really really dirty. It's location is ideal as it is central to Deansgate and the Printworks, but the place is filthy! We hired a full room so we had exclusive use of the room rather than a hostel type room. We were...More

Thank Matt C
Reviewed 30 April 2017

I was rubbed by this 'so called hotel' they take your money and kick you out!! Be careful, staff are extremely rude! The place is a mess, definitely not for human use. If you book in this place, you are certainly going to regret it,...More

Thank travel15126
Reviewed 9 August 2016

I was due to stay here in June but the property cancelled my booking 2 weeks beforehand as they were having refurbishment work done. No problem there, I booked alternative accommodation. However it is now 2 months later and despite half a dozen phonecalls and...More

2  Thank indoorsy
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Wow - this place is something else. I stayed with 21 other mates in a room full of bunk beds for a stag weekend. We were put in the basement (or as we affectionately called it the "Dungeon Room") 3 tiny Windows that were blacked...More

Thank Craig L
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Staff generally completely unmotivated to assist you with a few rare exceptions. The wifi is terrible, the rooms are dirty and the whole atmosphere made me want to pack my bags and leave. The fire alarms went off several times, all 'false alarms' and apparently...More

1  Thank Nomad S
View more reviews
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel class
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (26)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
1 June 2016|
Response from trinalayland | Reviewed this property |
No, there isn't a bar.
Rebecca C
23 February 2015|
Response from Umberto T |
There's is parking nearby but you have to pay. I would guess approx £12 for 24 hours max.
Room Tips
"Book a private room for privacy or stay spend a bit more and stay some where better."
Read review
"28 bed dorm was fine for price, request a bed as they allocate them (some by door are awful as 26 other..."
Read review
"Rooms on the upper floor seem quiet"
Read review
"There are no good rooms unless you have a private room. Just bite the bullet and get used to a real hostel..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing