We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Manchester

Hostelworld.comUS$119*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$240*
US$119*
Great Deal
US$228*
US$240*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Manchester
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 312: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Manchester
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Best hostel in Manchester, BUT there's house boats on the channel right outside the window keeping their engine on all nigh until 6 in the morning. It's like having someone mowing their lawn, closing the window is not enough. I had to get up early to work and i slept maybe 3 hours. I told the receptionist and she just...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pavel_fedor
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we're delighted to be the "best hostel in Manchester". We're really sorry to hear you didn't sleep well due to the noise from the narrow boat engines on the canal. I would like tor reassure you that although there are usually boats on the canal near us it's very rare that...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
PROPERTY’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I stayed in a four bed room. I've been to a lot of hostels around the country and this was very much to my expectations. Clean, comfy, wonderful little touches like splashes of colour and beanbags, an all day breakfast which is nice for a fiver, all in all a very comfy place. The view of the water was amazing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SakuraDragon85
About Property's Favourite Review
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and recommendation, we look forward to seeing you again next time :)

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

As a Campaigner for better access and understanding in provision for disabled persons, I was impressed by this Hostel, nicely laid out for design of access, with trained and interested staff who were willing to provide assistance where needed’ Disabled toilet facilities, an accessible room with Bathroom/wet room, Lowered counter at reception and in the kitchen, Will hope to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mh5802017
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we're really pleased to hear you were impressed by our hostel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2017

I stayed 1 night in a 4 bed dorm, it was a Monday night & 2 of the beds were free which was good. Positives: -Basic self-catering kitchen. -Clean rooms -Comfortable bed with personal light, shelf, charging spot -Good wifi in dorms and common rooms Negatives: -Fire alarm went off at 4am due to someone opening the fire escape door....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julia B
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're pleased to hear you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. Sorry about the disturbance from the fire door at night, it is necessary for health and safety and security purposes that these doors are alarmed, thankfully due to the signage we have on them it is now...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

The staff at the YHA were great! From start to finish all staff members I came across couldn't have done more for me and my booking of 18. The hostel was well laid out with all amenities you could ask for, great location and great atmosphere. Clean and tidy, smart design and great social spaces, thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollielbrown
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review, we hope you had an excellent time in Manchester and hope to see you again soon :)

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

YHA is a nice hostel, with a great athmosphere. It's very well located, so that you can reach the centre by walking in nearly 15 minutes. The neighborhood is very pretty, quiet and typical. The only "negative" point might be that the rooms and the toilets are pretty small if, like us, you're four in a dorm. However, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it's great to hear you found our hostel to have a great atmosphere and the staff welcoming and helpful. We hope to see you again in the future :)

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

The decoration is made with luminuous colours and the common rooms are adapted to all kinds of people. But food doesn't varie: rice with chicken and just served with a different sauce. This youth hostel car be recommeded to anyone who is not too complicated nor fussy about comfort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we’re pleased to hear you found our common areas pleasant. We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t fully happy with the meals. The group evening meals do change daily and are part of a groups rolling menu which is standard throughout the YHA. It’s important to have feedback like yours...

Reviewed 17 March 2017

I stayed for 4 nights at YHA. I found the staff to be very friendly. I thought the price was reasonable. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy the food because the food wasn’t varied and the quantities lack of food sometimes. Finally, I thought the bathroom was a bit small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we’re pleased to hear you found our staff to be friendly as always. We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t fully happy with the meals. The group evening meals do change daily and are part of a groups rolling menu which is standard throughout the YHA. It’s important to have...

Saint-Maurice, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is nice, but the hygiene isn't that good. When entering the room, it smells nasty. I think there was not enough food for everyone. However, there are positive points. The staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were secured with electronic cards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorenactz
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'll pass this information onto our housekeeping team. We're pleased to hear you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and we hope you will come and stay again soon.

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

This is a hotel where young people stay. This is beautiful, there are canals around the building. You can do many activities like babyfoot, billards, watch tv... But the only default is the organisation for the breakfast or the dinner if you want to eat you should go the first but you eat good, after you haven't hungry, you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnson M
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Manchester and hope to see you again soon.

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.7 km away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#8 of 117 in Manchester
1,485 reviews
0.5 km away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 117 in Manchester
4,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
552 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1.1 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#20 of 117 in Manchester
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Manchester

Address: Potato Wharf | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $32 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Manchester Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Manchester staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Manchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book a room overlooking the canal as the geese are very noisy!”
  • The noisy geese!!
stbeeskay, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the heating to be lowered”
SakuraDragon85, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for one overlooking the canal”
billyburp, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ensure you've a group going or don't stay here if you don't like people invading your space.”
laurenswordsx, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose en suite if possible.”
teessidecouple, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$119* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$228
Orbitz.comUS$240
Hotwire.comUS$240
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates