We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Manchester

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
YHA Manchester
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Manchester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 312: English reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I chose this hostel for it's proximity to several attractions I was visiting while in Manchester. It's walking distance from the Deansgate train station, the Museum of Science and Industry, the old Corrie filming set, the art museum and even Roman era ruins. The rooms were clean, spacious and quiet. Mine had a private bathroom with good water pressure in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadia F
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Nice staff. Generally good bedrooms. Kitchen could do with a makeover- cookers tried and worn, general lack of pots etc. Despite this summer's wi-fi upgrade of YHA properties to "the cloud", still couldn't get decent wi-fi in my room (108). Bedrooms overheated - in January! Friday and Saturday nights tend to be very noisy with thoughtless loud guests - nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevan S
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we're sorry to hear about the noise being unacceptable, please rest assured that we do have systems and controls in place to address this which have sadly failed on this occasion. We hope we do see you again and you get a better nights sleep next time.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I enjoyed my stay in Manchester. It is the first time that stayed at the YHA. I was stranded in Manchest er due to some unforeseen circumstance. i could not find a hotel to stay in everything was book and anyway the prices for December were sky high. I was so grateful for the YHA but very apprehensive. To my...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank interjen2000
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're pleased to have helped and it's really great to hear such good feedback especially from someone who is new to YHA

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

This is one of the most comfortable cheap hostels I have been to in England. However they charge you for some offers that in others hostels are included, such as breakfast and cloakroom. The place was very clean and well design as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thiago C
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, by charging separately for extras our guests can just pay for the goods and services they need and we're able to keep the overnight price low. We hope you had a good time in Manchester and hope to see you again.

Brigg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Although the hostel was nice and the staff were polite, and the food was good, our room (6 bed room with toilet) was awful. There was an extremely strong smell of weed in our room even with the window open. The floor had a stick and wet patch on the floor and the toilet was dirty, there was urine stain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amanda2470
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're pleased to hear you thought the hostel was nice, the staff were polite and you enjoyed the food. We take our cleanliness very seriously so are disappointed and sorry to hear we didn't meet our own high standards on this occasion. I have passed your feedback onto our housekeeping...

Parbold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. I stayed at YhA before flying out the next day and then again on my return. The staff were so friendly and went above and beyond on both visits. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Manchester.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nonstoptraveling1989
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review and recommendation, it's great to hear our staff went above and beyond. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Fabulous place to stay. Really lovely staff and the hostel was nice and clean. Lovely atmosphere the only issue we had we didn't like the bathroom but you get what you pay for but overall would highly recommend if you're just wanting a nice cheap place to say. Thankyou

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniellecarterx
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and recommendation, we hope you had a great time in Manchester and hope to see you again soon.

North Wales
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for New Year's Eve. We couldn't leave the hotel fast enough What can I say about this hotel?? The room was dirty Dirty sanitary towel under the bed There was horrible muck smeared on the window and the smell from the toilet was actually making us feel a little sick The noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djmarcelbeattie
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

The cost of accommodation is what has always prevented us from seeing more of the UK as a family. My husband has an annual guys holiday in youth hostels and suggested we give it a go - great call hubby! Really impressed by this youth hostel. Clean and modern; family room was basic but a perfect base to sleep; staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoelfranklin
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review and recommendation, we're so pleased to have convinced you that YHA membership is a wonderful thing and hope you get to see some more of our amazing hostels around the country.

Reviewed 18 December 2016

1. YHA membership card didn't gave me discount: Last night i staying YHA manchester, made me Disappointed. because Saturday night will be double price 35£, i got YHA membership card, that reception see my card at first time i arrived for check in , i ask her to extra one more night ,so i paid 35£ on Saturday night ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mi Chi R
Oliver W, General Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

I've noted the comments you've made and am currently in the process of sending a separate response to the same complaint you emailed us. We're still investigating parts of your complain however I can give you a response on a couple of your points at this stage. 1. Apologies we didn't add your membership discount onto the extra night you...

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.7 km away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#9 of 116 in Manchester
1,428 reviews
0.5 km away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#42 of 116 in Manchester
4,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
511 reviews
1.1 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 116 in Manchester
2,397 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Manchester

Address: Potato Wharf | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $32 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your YHA Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Manchester Hotel Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Manchester staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Manchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book a room overlooking the canal as the geese are very noisy!”
  • The noisy geese!!
stbeeskay, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the heating to be lowered”
SakuraDragon85, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for one overlooking the canal”
billyburp, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ensure you've a group going or don't stay here if you don't like people invading your space.”
laurenswordsx, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose en suite if possible.”
teessidecouple, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5