We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hatters Hostel on Newton Street

Traveller (130)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (9)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
HOTEL CLASS
649Reviews
143Photos
2Q+A
78Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 81
  • 160
  • 152
  • 116
  • 140
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The location was nice because it was only a ten minute walk away from the train station. However, it was a bit dirty and the water was very cold. The beds were also very uncomfortable. The fire alarms went off three times throughout the night. It is already so difficult to fall
Read more
Needed a room to stay after travelling for 15 hrs and was excited to lay my head down for the night however.. *Reception - display a manner which portrays they would rather not be there. Told us lift was broken so we had to carry our heavy rucksacks up to 5th floor - which is
Read more
Response from HattersHostels, Manager at Hatters Hostel on Newton Street
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thankyou for leaving us a review. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our building is a an old one and due to safety we unfortunately can't let guests into the elevator. We do have lockers on each floor so it's disappointing to hear you weren't made aware of them. Hatters Hostel
Read more
I've stayed at a lot of hostels but this is in the top 2 I've hated. On the 5th floor (only have a lift for your bags), the female bathroom is on the 4th and on the 2nd. I was there for 4 days and only 1 day did the 4 toilets work. The rest of the days there was only 1 working
Read more
Response from HattersHostels, General Manager at Hatters Hostel on Newton Street
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us here at Hatters. Due to the age of the building we can't allow passengers in the lift, it's for safety reasons and we really do value the safety of our guests. Reception are happy to take any bags up in the lift and being on the 5th floor means you get to burn a few more calories!! We don't have any problems with the toilets reported and they are cleaned and restocked twice a day by our lovely housekeepers. Don't forget reception is available 24 hours a day so if you were experiencing problems we would of been more then happy to help. Glad to hear you made the most of the free luggage storage and breakfast!! Happy travels Hatters
Read more
I would just say read the one star reviews and its an accurate picture of this place. I've stayed in many different places in the world from Zimbabwe to Borneo, Tokyo to Transylvania. Many hostels, hotels, different places. I would rate this as the worst dump I've ever stayed
Read more
Response from HattersHostels, Manager at Hatters Hostel on Newton Street
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thankyou for taking the time to review us. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. As you mentioned we have 24hr reception available to help with any complaints during your stay where you can also pick up free ear plugs. Hatters Hostel
Read more
Beds were so uncomfortable, and the room was absolutely freezing. Looks like they've half painted the room then decided not to paint the other half. The toilets were the worst thing of all.. The men's toilets were blocked and had poo in all of them. The girls toilets were
Read more
Response from HattersHostels, Manager at Hatters Hostel on Newton Street
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thankyou for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear about your uncomfortable stay and will take it up with the appropriate people. Hatters Hostel
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
How is that up to standard? Does NOT keep out the winter
Badezimmer, Schimmel einfach übermalt
Notice the mold by the window on the ceiling
Sink in the ladies’ room
Picture of the window in the ladies’ room
PreviousNext
1234567
"I would recommend the all female room if you are traveling alone or with one other person. It did make me feel more safe."
"Look elsewhere - not worth the money."
"Stay somewhere else, grab an airbnb"
"This kitchen should be closed and better securety is recommended."
"Choose a room with less beds and on the lower floors as the lift doesn't work."
PreviousNext
12345616
PRICE RANGE
US$22 - US$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hatter`s hotel manchester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandManchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing