We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hatters Hostel on Newton Street

588 reviews
Save
Traveller (111)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (9)
Overview
  • Excellent13%
  • Very good28%
  • Average24%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Free Parking
Pool
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (588)Write a Review
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
66
132
111
74
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
66
132
111
74
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastbeds were comfortablecity centretrain stationwould stay againkey cardcentral manchesterconcert
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for our Christmas night out, as a cheaper option than travelling home at night. We weren’t expecting much, as we got a really good price on an already cheap room. The room was clean, and had enough space for our...More

Thank Elliot339
Response from HattersHostels, Manager at Hatters Hostel on Newton StreetResponded 4 days ago

Hi Elliot, thanks for the Feedback. We hope you made it back home safely :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Room was painted and the smell of the paint made me nauseous and had migraine for two nights. The room also had curtains and they were not working with one window not closing at all. The bathrooms were terrible , smelly and occasionally without...More

Thank talat m
Response from HattersHostels, Manager at Hatters Hostel on Newton StreetResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Talet, we appreciate your feedback and have taken note of the issues you have raised. Thank you.

Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Positive points: the staff, the price and the location Negative points: everything else. - To use the shower you have to press a button each 10 sec, and you can’t change the temperature; - The lifts aren’t for people, so imagine if you stay in...More

Thank Paulino S
Response from HattersHostels, Manager at Hatters Hostel on Newton StreetResponded 2 January 2018

Hi Paulino, thanks for the review and glad you liked the location and the value for money at Hatters, We have taken note of your other points. Hope you enjoyed your time in Manchester :)

Reviewed 24 November 2017

Given the Fact that I had just stayed in Hatters Hostel, Liverpool a day earlier, I must say this one is a bit of a climb-down!! First - the positives. Proximity - its walking distance from Manchester Piccadilly (where most intra-city trains stop). It's also...More

Thank mario_rozario
Response from HattersHostels, Manager at Hatters Hostel on Newton StreetResponded 2 January 2018

Hi Mario, thanks for the feedback :)

Reviewed 20 November 2017

Stayed here recently with the lads and for that the hostel is prefect. Centrally located making exploring the city nice and easy. The pictures on the website are clearly some years old and slightly deceptive. The rooms were damp and mouldy and lets not talk...More

Thank Ecostew22
Response from HattersHostels, Manager at Hatters Hostel on Newton StreetResponded 2 January 2018

Hey! Glad you liked your free chicken nuggets! We do them every Friday in our basement bar!

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345693
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Details
Price range
US$24 - US$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$24 - US$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (111)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (9)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Andrew P
8 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ashleyyoungx | Reviewed this property |
There is a pool table, board games and computers in the common room on the ground floor.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"PLease if you have a moderate budget , dont subscribe to this place."
Read review
"If possible, ask for the room not facing east. After getting very little sleep, the sun rose in a direct..."
Read review
"book your room as early as you can - this place was busy"
Read review
"Choose a lower floor (if poss); as lift is for staff only"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing