We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Sign up to Unlock Loyalty Benefits & Gain access to Member Discount Rates
Mercure
US$79
View deal
Booking.com
US$78
View deal
US$78
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
getaroom.comUS$123
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1511)
Room & Suite (679)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 17/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Updated 17/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#86 of 140 hotels in Manchester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible by road, rail and air. Each of the 280 bedrooms have an en-suite bathroom, flat screen TV, WiFi, hairdryer, climate control and tea and coffee facilities. Upgraded rooms are available. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms and a gym. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, Level 3 Bar & Brasserie is the perfect place to unwind. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary WiFi, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Safe
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Sign up to Unlock Loyalty Benefits & Gain access to Member Discount Rates
4445Reviews52Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,090
  • 1,427
  • 999
  • 508
  • 421
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
SimonBrumUK wrote a review 4 Jul
Birmingham, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
This hotel is very tired and run-down. My room was incredibly tatty. They've previously tried to smarten the rooms up by painting everything - furniture, bathroom tiles, the lot. In the bathroom the paint is naturally coming off the tiles and it all looks awful. There was an intermittent leak under the sink, so I got up in the morning to a flooded bathroom. Luckily there was an open drain in the floor, so the flood was not as bad as it could have been. However, having an open drain in the floor isn't really that great given anything living in the pipes can crawl out in the night. Another bathroom issue was the fact you can't stand under the shower if you're much over five foot tall. Oh, and the toilet flush was dodgy. The front door to the room didn't lock unless you pulled hard on the door - I'm sure many guests have left the room thinking the door was locked, when in fact anyone could walk in and rob them blind. However, the worst thing about the room was the poor soundproofing - I had a 'lively' young couple in the room next to me and I could literally hear every word of their 'lively' conversations, as well as their movements - and they were still going at 3am... luckily I pack ear plugs when I travel, so I managed to get some sleep, but be warned, if you're sensitive to noise and don't like wearing ear plugs, don't book this hotel. I tried to report the issues when I checked out, but there was a massive queue at reception, so I just left my room key and got out of there. Needless to say, with so many new hotels in Manchester, I won't be staying there again. It's a shame, because it has the potential to be a great hotel, but it needs a complete refurb, and those soundproofing issues need to be addressed. In its current condition it's not doing the Mercure brand any favours at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: If you want a good room, book a different hotel.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Forbes, Other at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you Simon for taking the time to leave us your feedback I am very sorry that we have fallen short of our normal standards. We are currently looking at bedroom and bathroom upgrade options and I do hope you will come back and see us once we have made the changes. Thanks
Read more
Urban SilverBak wrote a review Jun 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom21 contributions29 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
It was an amazing bank holiday weekend. Fantastic staff and service throughout the hotel. Clean and fresh room, nice food in the restaurant and some cool cocktails went down a treat. Well done to everyone and will gladly be back next time we’re in Manchester.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Forbes, Other at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We agree some of the cocktails are simply great!. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and I do hope we can welcome you back again soon. Thanks
Read more
JordanBearpark wrote a review 1 Jul
5 contributions14 helpful votes
I really am not one to complain, but this hotel charges so much and seem to completely content with ripping people off, it just isn’t right. I usually always pick budget hotels because I’ve never had a bad experience, I picked this as a treat and it’s been a nightmare. We picked this hotel due to the fact it had its own car park, only to find that they actually only have about one quarter of the car park for the hotel - around 30 spaces. We asked reception and all they could say is “it’s first come first serve” which is NOT what the hotel is advertised as. We were then told to park in NCP which has a hefty charge of £25 a day - we were here for 4 days!!! The food is revolting, I didn’t actually think it was possible to have a bad pizza. Pizza is pizza, how in earth can it be bad? What I was given made me heave, and I physically could not eat it, which was a complete waste of £20. The food and drink in general are extortionate prices and not worth it at all, the alcohol also seems extremely watered down. The room was disgusting, dirty, tiny. A standard room is basically a box room with a small double bed wedged in it. The bathroom was covered in grime and the bathroom floor was so filthy I dare not walk bare foot. We had to go to the shop to buy water as the water coming out of the taps was cloudy with bits floating in it, I’ve seen cleaner water in drains. The internet is non-existent. So when I had to work for a day in my hotel room it was completely impossible. The TV didn’t work at all, there wasn’t a single channel that was available - what year is this!?!? The lifts have a mind of their own, you’ll press to go up, you’ll get in a lift and it will take you down then back up - you’ll also wait 5-10 minutes for a lift to show up. You also have to use your card to use the lift, which reception will fail to tell you when you check in. If you like sleep, get used to not getting any. The windows are paper thin and don’t fully close. So your room will be cold AND you’ll be kept awake by trams, traffic, sirens, and anything else in Manchester. The hotel itself looked nice from the front but anything above level 3 is dated and in serious need of refurbishment. When we booked the hotel, the email didn’t even tell us when the check-in/check-out times are. Simple things this hotel just can’t do! Seriously, avoid this hotel at all costs!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Forbes, Other at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback I am very sorry that this has been your experience I shall be sure to get this investigated and get these things resolved moving forward. Thanks
Read more
Tammy F wrote a review 1 Jul
43 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
We booked the hotel as it was close to the Arena, had onsite parking and was reportedly a 4* hotel. Apart from being in a good central location and good customer service, that’s all I can say positive about the hotel. Being a 4* hotel I expected to have a better accommodation, but was more like a run down 3* hotel. The room was basic (that’s fine), but was grubby and needed a deep clean. We only had stopped in the hotel for 30mins before going out and then returning to sleep in the evening. Had we intended to spend longer in the hotel room or stayed more than one night, we would have asked for a refund and looked to stay elsewhere. I did mention the hotel room to the receptionist. There is parking onsite, that can be a bit tight in some areas. Parking is very limited. There is an NCP car park next door.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Forbes, Other at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback I am very sorry that on this occasion we have not got this right for you we shall certainly use this feedback to make things better moving forward. Thanks
Read more
Julia G wrote a review Jun 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom7 contributions2 helpful votes
We’ve had a great time at Level 3 restaurant and bar at Mercure Hotel. An amazing host Nora and her manager Neil made our afternoon birthday tea extra special with lots of care and attention to detail when we visited today. A 5* experience Well done Nora and Neil what a team! Julia and Dave
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Forbes, Other at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review its great to hear and I shall be sure to let the team know the impact they had on your visit we do hope we can welcome you back again soon. Thanks
Read more
Ffion C wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Stayed here for a work conference, thoroughly enjoyed the friendly atmosphere from all the staff. Special shout out to dimitris that gave us lots of recommendations of where to go and took the time to ask about our stay. Thank you mercure easy check in too !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Forbes, Other at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the team and in particular Dimitrios looked after you so well. I shall be sure to let him know the positive impact he had on your stay. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon. Thanks
Read more
Shaun M wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Customer service appalling. Will not be staying at this chain of hotels again. The reception desk can’t make a decision without a manager being present and a manger leaves at 5pm so your left with unresolved issues
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Forbes, Other at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
I am very sorry that we have not managed to resolve these issues where possible we do empower the team to make decisions however some do need management approval. It would be good to know more information so we can try and make this right for you. Thanks
Read more
Arqrite wrote a review Jun 2022
Napier, New Zealand10 contributions4 helpful votes
Had a great time in the bar, excellent service from Luis & Francesca. They fool special care of us, nothing was a problem - great work from those two!! Thank you!! Sat in the "best seats in the house" overlooking Piccadilly, would recommend to families, friends - anyone wanting either a pre night out kick start.... or a wind-down night cap!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Forbes, Other at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback its great to hear and delighted you enjoyed our level 3. I shall be sure to let the team you have highlighted know how much of an impact they had on your stay. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon. Thanks
Read more
fabian k wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The hotel itself is nothing special but it is well-located in the town centre and there is a car-park. What makes it a good stay is the staff who are really nice. They are young, friendly and helpful. Thank you Dimitris and Shreya for a nice dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Forbes, Other at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback we are always looking at how we can improve and this can only help. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your dinner and I shall be sure to let the team know the impact they have had on your stay. Thanks
Read more
lyfted wrote a review Jun 2022
Leicesterhire157 contributions78 helpful votes
The hotel is very well located. It in at the centre of the city close to the tram terminal. The staff were really good - so friendly and helpful. I want to mention especially Ibby and Maria on reception, Mike in the bar and the lady at the Concierge desk whose name I didn't get. Unfortunately the room was a real letdown. It was quite small and was tired looking and somewhat shabby. We were there for two nights and unfortunately the cleaner forgot to clean the room and replenish tea, coffee, soap etc. Wi fi was very, very slow. The room certainly wasn't terrible but there is a clear need for a bit of investment to raise the standard. On the positive side they do have some great staff and I hope that their efforts are recognised.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charles Forbes, Other at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback we are currently looking at bedroom and bathroom upgrade options and feedback shall certainly help push this along. I am delighted that the team looked after you so well and I shall be sure to let the people know that you have highlighted what impact they have had on your stay. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon. Thanks
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ramada manchester, manchester ramada
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGreater ManchesterManchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
280
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Virtual Hideout Manchester (0.4 km), Breakout Manchester (0.4 km), and Electric Gamebox (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Teppanyaki Chinatown, Pizza Express King Street Manchester, and Sangam Manchester City Centre.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Manchester.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ordsall Hall (2.8 km), Granada Studios (1.1 km), and Victoria Baths (2.6 km).