We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 5,273: English reviews
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Beautiful rooms and great location. Very handy aswell. Service was a bit poor though, could of been more friendly I reckon? I was welcomed and check in was really smooth, but after that I wasn't really 'checked' up on if you get me? I wasn't asked how my day was or anything Food was amazing aswell.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChattingtonB
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear ChattingtonB, Thank you for your review and your kind feedback on our hotel and quality of food. Here at the hotel we do our utmost to ensure our positive service interaction with our guests is maintained throughout their stay with planned regular service checks, however with 338 bedrooms and a very busy operation this unfortunately isn't always possible. As...

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Reviewed 23 February 2016

The hotel was lovely and up to date and clean and we had really nice room but when we arrived it took a while for our room to be ready. We understood the first two times since we were quite early but it kept getting closer to 4 and no room, they didn't come tell us when it was ready...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E5565NCjesss
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jess, Thank you for your kind feedback although to be fair our check in is from 3pm and there are days in such a busy hotel that rooms take a little bit longer to bring back on line as we want them to be immaculately presented for each and every guest. We pre check all of our rooms for...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Really convenient location. You get a great sized room and lovely bathroom. We hired a room for a meeting which was handy. Only 1 thing I would say is the food is a little disappointing, I only had breakfasts and lunches, which included a strange Chinese rice dish with bacon in and over cooked dry chicken in a Thai curry....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhiteRoseTammy
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tammy, Thank you for your feedback and kind comments. As a Conference guest your lunch and breakfast is taken by dozens if not hundreds of guests daily and I will speak with chef to ensure each and every guest receives the kind of quality and wholesome food that we are renowned for. kind regards Paul Bayliss MBE General Manager...

Ambleside
Reviewed 23 February 2016

My daughter and I stayed here for a couple of nights thinking shopping and spa would be a good combination. Unfortunately there were no spa appointments available on either of the two days....and upon enquiring about the other facilities were told there was a sauna, steam room,cold shower and hot seats...and that we would have to pay extra to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maura L
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Maura, Many thanks for your kind feedback although with any booking using additional services in the hotel I'd always book them before arrival. We are a hotel with an urban spa which books up very quickly. We're not actually asking guests to pay any extra for our spa services because that area id bespoke for Spa guests taking treatments....

Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

This is definitely not the worse hotel out there! Stayed here so could visit the Christmas markets, staff were friendly on arrival rooms are just a bit to business orientated but are clean, staff were nice & didn't mind doing the girls cocktails at like 1 in the morning, can't fault it to much but could be better in ways

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott190
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Scott, Thanks so much for all your kind words they are appreciated and its always good when guests put a positive spin on their stay. All the very best Paul Bayliss MBE General Manager The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016

I recently stayed here as it is one of the only city centre hotels offering a double-double room. Although we got a good rate, for a "four star" hotel i expected better. The rooms, corridors and lifts were dated and needed an upgrade. For a four person room, you needed a magnifying glass for everyone to be able to see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you for your feedback and so sorry if you were disappointed although our double double rooms are popular maybe for adults with their Children is the best option. Next time I'd consider spending a little more and getting two adjoining rooms. Kind regards Paul Bayliss MBE General Manager The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2016

During Valentines weekend spent a day at the Spa. had a full body massage which was divine. The staff at the Spa were so friendly and helpful. The light lunch was very nice and served in a novel way. Don't expect anything massive as after all it is all about health and wellbeing in the Spa and a light lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Alan, You are very kind thank you and I'm so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Paul Bayliss MBE General Manager The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Kirkham, Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Booked last minute, good value for money. Approx 15 minute walk into city centre so a little further out than I thought. Practically next door to Piccadilly Station but you can't hear the trains. Lovely big hotel, rooms a great size too. Beds really comfortable. Was a little surprised to see the homeless in tents across from the hotel but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Clare, Thanks so much for all your kind words and for highlighting just how quiet a nights sleep you get in our hotel. We look forward to your return sometime soon. Kind regards Paul Bayliss MBE General Manager The Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Stay at the Macdonald was fine, good breakfast and service bright and cheerful. Room was spacious and bright although very hot! The bed was a bit lumpy and there was no access to earplugs to mask the loud traffic noise. Also, oddly there was no soap or face clothes.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Becky, Thanks so much for your kind review it is appreciated and I will look into the concern with soaps and facecloths in your room. Our beds are vitally important to us so testing it will be a priority to ensure we offer a silent night. Our triple glazed windows keep noise out so my question would be whether...

Birmingham
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Very lovely hotel only dissapointment we had to wait for our rooms to be completed by 5pm we had booked 4 king size rooms under the same name, when our first room was done by 2 pm and we got or first room key the hotel knew we had arrived but yet we had to wait till 5pm for the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
GenManManchester, General Manager at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you for your kind feedback and so sorry you had to wait although our Checkin is from 3pm and not at 3pm as you mentioned we are a very busy hotel which operates 24/7 with guests checking in and out all the time. That said thank you for your comments generally which we will use to ever...

931 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (728)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (206)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (70)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (342)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (164)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (31)
Viewed
Feature Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Suite (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1.0 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 115 in Manchester
4,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 km away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#33 of 115 in Manchester
2,278 reviews
1.6 km away
The Lowry Hotel
The Lowry Hotel
#3 of 19 in Salford
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, set in the heart of Cottonopolis, is Manchester's largest four-star hotel. Perfectly located if travelling by rail, road or foot, our eyecatching expanse dominates the skyline all the way from Piccadilly Station to the Mancunian Way allowing quick and easy access to and from all the major motorways. The team at our hotel in Manchester is driven to deliver an outstanding guest experience and has a reputation for its service standards and food quality. As the 2013 winner of "The best sleep in the city" award (Manchester Evening News), it combines 338 beautiful bedrooms with state of the art conferencing, an indulgent urban spa and first class bar and live theatre restaurant experience in our Scottish Steak Club. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa

Address: London Road | Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range: $138 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Manchester Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Manchester Hotel Manchester
Macdonald Hotel Manchester
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manchester
#18 Business Hotel in Manchester
#27 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#27 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#42 Family Hotel in Manchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
46 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (46)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floor”
 of 5 bubbles fatboyfat44, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the rear don't overlook the road.”
 of 5 bubbles Yorkshirebird27, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Maybe a better view with an even number room. We had 849 and could see the Etihad stadium much to my son's delight!”
 of 5 bubbles stanleylas, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lower ground floor rooms as using stairs easier due to long wait for lift at higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles DPG62, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor you can get the better”
 of 5 bubbles nozzer2015, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5