We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Le Lion

Booking.comUS$72*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Le Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 44: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Le Lion
 Click to rate
Bucharest
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Stayed for 3 nights in Feb in this nice central hotel , facing directly the main plaza of the city. The room was big, nicely furnished and with a comfy bed. Got there in the afternoon and found the room a bit too chilly, even though I tried diff settings on the thermostat in the room. So take note to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mire84
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Hotel Le Lion is in the very center of Clermont Ferrand, not far to wander thru the old part of town, lots of great bars, cafes and restaurants close and at the end if the night outside the hotel is wonderful. The room we had was perfect, overlooking the square, modern bathroom, all very clean. The staff were very helpful,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leefh
Thomas J, Gérant at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear guest, We thank you warmly for having communicated us your satisfaction further to your stay to the hotel the Lion. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you during your next visit in Clermont-Ferrand. Best Regards,

Reviewed 19 December 2016

We were in room 11 first floor overlooking the main square. The room was big enough with en suite facilities and a balcony. Good TV if needed. Resyaurant very busy which is a good sign and food excellent. Only down side breakfat was 12 € per head. Sausages bacon and scrambled egg along with standard continental faire does not equate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
Thomas J, Gérant at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Hello, We thank you for the comment concerning our establishment. Your notices come to reward the daily work of all the team of the Lion. Concerning the breakfast we are happy to announce you that we are reorganizing him completely to correspond at best to your expectations Faithfully

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Great hotel which is right in the centre but still quiet. The room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the square and was spacious and furnished in a loft style. Lovely big shower room with a large walk in shower. Good bar and food and excellent breakfast with proper hot chocolate made with melted chocolate and steamed milk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
Thomas J, Gérant at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear customer, We thank you warmly for having communicated with us your satisfaction further to your stay to the hotel the Lion. Your notices come to reward the daily work of All the team of the Lion Faithfully

Reviewed 2 November 2016

very nice hotel in the heart of Clermont, on the Place du Jeud. close to shops and cafes. bus and tram right in front. there are 2 malls close by and the really cool black cathedral. Parking is tricky but there is an under ground carpark nearby and the hotel will give you a voucher for a set day rate....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michellesX7959EM
Thomas J, Gérant at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Goodmorning, we are delighted that you are seduced by our establishment. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you during your next stay on Clermont-Ferrand Faithfully

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is placed in the center of the town, very convenient. The rooms was clean and modern. Unfortunately, it has an attached restaurant on the ground floor. This resulted in a lot of noise to the hotel room. Worse, the cafe started packing up a bit before midnight. i had to put up with the scraping of chairs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffbloom
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear guest, We present our apologies for any inconvenience. We sincerely hope that this does not taint the image you have of our establishment. We are truly sorry and hopefully still have the chance to receive you again. All the Lion team

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

This place has been given a makeover and is well positioned in the city square. It has a bar and restaurant attached which was nice (nice pizzas) and good menu and staff. The rooms were nice but the air conditioning doesn't work and the shower in the morning took 10 minutes to warm up. There is a fair amount of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear customer we thank you for your comment. We are glad you apreciated the position of our institution. We inform you that the air conditioning works perfectly, please call the reception in case of problems. Indeed receptionists manages the operation of the air conditioning in the room. Finally there are also buses to the station and those are very regular....

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 September 2016

This hotel has been renovated to a high standard. We had a big room with lots of space, a good sized bathroom, plenty of storage space, hangers and hooks. There is a coffee machine in the room and an electric jug if it is just hot water for a tea that you are after. We were cordially received by a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WingerJack
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear Customer, It is with great pleasure that we receive your comment, and rest assured that we will certainly share your comments with all our teams. We are very pleased to receive these compliments about our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back with us very soon. Best regards.

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We loved this hotel, quite quirky, beautiful room with a beautiful view. bedrooms are only a few short steps from the lift. Warm welcoming staff. Perfect location, everything is closw by including the magnificent Catheral and theatre ...wish we didnt have to leave!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olive o
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We sincerely thank you for providing us your satisfaction with your stay at the Lion Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Clermont Ferrand. Best regards

Mechelen, Belgium
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The hotel is well located in Clermont Ferrand on a lively square. With the windows closed you can block all the noise from the square. But then it gets very very hot inside. At checkin they forgot to tell us that the A/C is controlled at the reception and we couldn't get it too work ( wasn't anybody at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robfets
Thomas J, Directeur général at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your comment. We present our apologies for this inconvenience. Indeed, the air conditioning can be adjusted by the receptionists only the system is a bit complicated. We assure you of our full understanding for your discontent. We are truly sorry and hopefully still have the chance to receive you again. All the Lion team

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clermont-Ferrand hotels
0.2 km away
Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre Jaude
Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre ...
#1 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
601 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#3 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
690 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Litteraire Alexandre Vialatte
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Litterai...
#13 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Privilodges Carre de Jaude
Privilodges Carre de Jaude
#16 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
122 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Princesse Flore
2.5 km away
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Centre
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Centr...
#2 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel Le Lion

Address: 16 Place de Jaude, 63000, Clermont-Ferrand, France (Formerly Hotel De Lyon)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Clermont-Ferrand
Price Range: $110 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Clermont-Ferrand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Le Lion staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Flagstaff, Arizona
Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Le Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the square”
leefh, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room at the rear would be quieter”
kevinwU1647MR, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for a balcony room”
michellesX7959EM, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with a working A/C”
robfets, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Views of Placee de la Jaude are great - from the fourth floor rooms there's less noise from the cafes below.”
mallorcafan, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$72* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$72
Hotels.comUS$83
TravelocityUS$83
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates