We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
15 boulevard Maurice Bourdet, 13001 Marseille France
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$72
View deal
PricelineUS$72
Booking.comUS$72
Hotels.comUS$72
TripadvisorUS$72
StayForLong
ZenHotels.comUS$77
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (454)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (15)

About

#35 of 143 hotels in Marseille
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Marseille, offering a quiet environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Nearby landmarks such as Le Cours Julien (0.6 mi) and Randonnées théâtrales Marcel Pagnol Cie Dans la cour des Grands (0.7 mi) make Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles a great place to stay when visiting Marseille.

Rooms at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a desk providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

24 hour front desk, a concierge, and baggage storage are some of the conveniences offered at this hotel. Free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Holiday Inn Express Marseille-saint Charles Hotel, parking is available.

If you’re looking for a Mediterranean restaurant, consider a visit to Chez Fonfon, Le Petit Nice, or Chez Etienne, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Holiday Inn Express Marseille-saint Charles Hotel.

Should time allow, Château d'If, Vieux Port, and Mucem are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in Marseille!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Shared lounge / TV area
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic, Italian
1166Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 306
  • 573
  • 196
  • 44
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ruben U wrote a review Oct 2022
Avignon, France100 contributions108 helpful votes
The hotel is convenient, for sure… but that is the only plus. The management allocated me a room by the lift… all day and night my ears were on the lift engine. Thanks to them!!! The Tv did not work at all. The staff could not make the effort to provide me a late check-out even tough I mentioned during my check-in that I was involved in the MC2022 race!!! Clearly I will not come back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Make sure you ask not to have a room by the lift!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Ruben U, Thank you for your review and for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles for your accommodation needs. We appreciate you as one of our guests! We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience. I'm sorry we've missed the mark. I brought this up to our local management's attention. I'm confident that the necessary actions will be taken to ensure better service. I also sent you a private message discussing this further. We look forward to seeing you again on your future trips and we'll do our best to make your next stay better than the last! Safe travels, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alien W wrote a review Oct 2022
543 contributions142 helpful votes
It is just the average quality of a Holiday Inn hotel. The devices are quite old, the room is fine and has some space. The location is very convenient, near the train/bus/subway station and easy to get to everywhere of the city.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Alien W, Thanks for sharing feedback about your stay with us. We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience. However, I am sorry for what happened during your stay. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DRSRG wrote a review Oct 2022
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India100 contributions110 helpful votes
This got to be your choice in case you are travelling to Marseille on a business trip or even leisure trip if you make use of public transport a lot. Right opposite St. Charles station, very well connected in terms of bus, train or metro. Rooms are decent in size and amenities offered are acceptable. Breakfast spread is basic but good to start your day. Staff is really comforting and understanding. Sea view offered is hardly a sea view, so don't choose this place in case you are looking at a sea side hotel but for everything else this is the place to be.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chelenb33 wrote a review Sep 2022
Melbourne, Australia109 contributions77 helpful votes
If you need to stay close to the railway station for travel, this is an excellent budget no frills hotel. Clean, efficient friendly staff, reasonable sized rooms with all the basics, safe and hairdryer. Most important of all, despite my room facing the busy station and road, the excellent sound insulation meant there was NO traffic noise whatsoever.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mousepractice wrote a review Sep 2022
Cardiff, United Kingdom307 contributions64 helpful votes
This Holiday Inn is very near to the Saint Charles station, literally across the road, and is also next door to a large supermarket. The hotel itself was clean and tidy, though the aircon could have been better, breakfast was varied with both hot and cold options. Lovely outside seating area, very handy for putting your feet up when you return to the hotel! Hotel staff all very pleasant and friendly, though the bar wasnt very well stocked with glasses or drinks options. Taxis into the main town marina area varied in price for 8 euros to 18 ! There is a Metro in the station that comes out right by the marina, though we didnt use it. Too crowded and hot when we were there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
FirstClassLounge wrote a review Sep 2022
London, United Kingdom1216 contributions128 helpful votes
Good location but the rooms need improvement. My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our mini-break to Marseilles. We’ve arrived quite late and were welcomed by a friendly night concierge. Once our check in was complete we went straight to our room (810) to get some rest. The room had a simple but outdated decor. There was no mini-fridge provided. Aircon wasn’t working proper. The bathroom was quite dirty with visible signs of mould next to the shower… It also smelt awfully of sewage and the smell hadn’t disappeared thought our stay I had to buy some air freshener as it was unbearable to stay in the bathroom… I do not know what cleaning products the housekeepers use but there was also a extremely strong smell of vinegar anytime rooms were cleaned. The hotel provides you with some shampoo and hand wash but I would advise anyone to take their own toiletries. Hotel had a good location next to the train station and 15min from the port thus I haven’t left 1 star. I am a platinum elite member of IHG programme and honestly I’ve never stayed in a worst hotel and the management should do more in terms of overall cleaning to ensure their guests have enjoyable experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Sep 2022
Dear paulinanewman, Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting Marseille and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. Pleasure having you as our guest and thank you for being an IHG Rewards Platinum Elite member . I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary stay due to the comfort and cleanliness of our room. This is certainly below our usual high standard of service. Please be assured that I have noted and forwarded your comments for the management to improve. In the midst of the inconvenience, I am glad to know that the location of our hotel and the service of our staff were still appreciated. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Esther Cardenes wrote a review Jul 2022
Groningen, The Netherlands6 contributions
dear managers, often because of a bad review, the employees are called to account. here I really want to emphasize that here is the fault with the managers. If the employees knew where they stood.. such as: reception there are three chatting a friendly man speaks to us. the other two continue to chat aloud quietly with each other about going out. this is structure and to the manager who has to explain, how to behave at the reception. bedroom. leaking on all sides which is not well finished. cleaning this was so very dirty?! which manager controls this?!?! breakfast, employees who prepare everything there have real passion for their work and are really friendly but again here you see that they don't know what to do, so they are talking to each other. and manager from every place of this hotel. don't dare to address your employees, but take a good look at yourself in the mirror and take a step harder for your hotel! otherwise find another job.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Hi Esther C, Thank you for choosing IHG Hotels and Resorts as your travel partner! We always strive to provide the best service to our guests. I'm sorry for the experience. I shared this with our hotel management. I'm certain that all you've pointed out will be looked into and addressed accordingly. I also sent you a private message discussing this further. We appreciate you as one of our valued guests. I hope you'll consider us again in your future travel plans! Stay safe, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ang G wrote a review Jul 2022
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom189 contributions23 helpful votes
Just spent 3 nights here. Right across the road when you come out of St Charles train station, 2 minutes walk maximum. Good size room with tea and coffee making facilities. Comfy, decent sized bed too. Very quiet with no noise from other guests during our stay. Daily housekeeping, nice fluffy towels. Breakfast was included and served 6.30am - 10.30am each day. Plenty of seating available including a shaded terrace outside if you wanted. Good choice of pastries, bread, cold meat cheese, fresh and dried fruit, cereals and yoghurts. Also scrambled eggs and sausages but we didn't try the sausages as they were very pale and did not look very appetising (sorry!). We walked to the old port, took about 15 minutes but be aware that coming back some parts have a slight uphill climb. We got the metro from St Charles a couple of times, just 2 stops on line 1 to the old port. It cost 1.80 euro each for a single trip and trains ran every 10 minutes until 11pm (think its 12.30am at weekends). All the staff we met at the hotel were helpful and friendly. We were able to leave our luggage for a couple of hours after check out too. Turn left outside and there's a little cafe/creperie on the corner where we had a final late morning coffee and croissant. There's also a Carrefour supermarket next door which was handy for getting supplies. Overall a great base if you want to be near the train station within easy reach of the old port.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TravelingBeanCounter wrote a review Jul 2022
Saint Louis, Missouri67 contributions41 helpful votes
First off, the reception personnel were outstanding in every respect, Each went out of their way to assist us regardless of our travel questions. That’s where the good times ended. The room was a nightmare. A/C would not cool the room down. The hot water pipes knocked whenever hot water was used—in our or the adjacent room. The electrical outlets either did not work or were physically hanging off the wall. The carpet was visibly worn. The bed did not have a top sheet, and the “fitted” sheet did not fit (it was short). The bed springs were shot. The bathroom caulk had mildew. One of the walls had gouges out of it. We only stayed in the room (221) approximately 12 hours, so it wasn’t worth getting another room. Holiday Inn should promote the staff out of the hotel. Literally.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Jul 2022
Hi TravelingBeanCounter, Thank you for choosing IHG Hotels and Resorts as your travel partner! We always strive to provide the best service to our guests. I'm sorry for the experience. I shared this with our hotel management. I'm certain that all you've pointed out will be looked into and addressed accordingly. I also sent you a private message discussing this further. We appreciate you as one of our valued guests. I hope you'll consider us again in your future travel plans! Stay safe, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike E wrote a review Jun 2022
Little Rock, Arkansas110 contributions18 helpful votes
I stayed here because I was taking an early morning train to Paris from Marseille Saint-Charles. Less than 5 minutes from the elevator to your train (or vice versa). Other than that, a very underwhelming hotel. Room looked old, and I had to change rooms to get one with working air conditioning. Breakfast is serviceable but immediately forgettable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Hi Mike E, Thank you for your visit to Holiday Inn Express Marseille Saint Charles. Our hotel is the best place to enjoy a relaxing stay in an environment of simplicity. I read your message and am sorry that your stay was not satisfactory. I know this is not what you come to expect from a quality chain like ours. I distributed your message to our managers and took the necessary steps to stop this from happening. We hope you allow us to host your next travel. We know you won't regret this decision. Regards, Oscar C. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express marseille-saint charles hotel marseille
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurBouches-du-RhoneMarseille
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS MARSEILLE - SAINT CHARLES, AN IHG HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 518 Photos (France) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gare de Marseille Saint-Charles (0.1 km), Viens Attendre à Marseille (0.06 km), and Arc de Triomphe ( Porte d'Aix ) (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Manne, Sur le Pouce, and Caffè San Carlo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palais du Pharo (1.9 km), Palais Longchamp (1.5 km), and Château d'If (0.9 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express Marseille - Saint Charles, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.