We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The People Hostel - Marseille

Save
Share
12 rue Jean Trinquet, 13002 Marseille France
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (2)

About

#9 of 122 in Marseille
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The People Hostel - Marseille, a“secret spot” a stone’s throw away to the Mediterranean. You are a group of students ready to ride the artistic wave of this harbour city, a group of friends eager to vibrate while listening to the secrets of Marseille, a group of workers happy to dive into the creeks after a meeting? Whether you are a group of 10, 20 or even 100, we are ready for you! The People Hostel – Marseille offers shared rooms, private rooms, a bar, a locally sourced snack, a planted terrace, an art gallery and a dedicated team proud to serve!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Internet
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Snack bar
Meeting rooms
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shops
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Safe
Private bathrooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
26Reviews0Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 6
  • 3
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Victor L wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
I got robbed during my stay, 300 euro bose sound box. I had a padlock and it was opened. Staff couldn’t care less, were not empathic AT ALL. I know there is not much to do in this situation, but staff even didn’t say they were sorry for situation. They just said “You had a padlock and you got stollen? This is weird.” It was like they didn’t believe me, or they are used to that situation. Which made me wonder… I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Justyna T wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
It was a great hostel with friendly, helpful staff. I liked their café and the room was in a very good condition. I had to stay in Marseille last minute, and I was really stressed, but they saved me as they had free beds and I could check in after midnight. Highly, highly recommended!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Rö D wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
First, I'd like to list the downside to leave the best for the end. There is no kitchen, so if you need to store something on the fridge or need hot water, you have to ask the staff for it, and there is no microwave 🙄 Also each bunk bed has its own lights but mine wouldn't turn off, and even though I asked the staff to check it out, they never did, therefore--> couldn't get almost any sleep on the two nights of my stay, which was terrible because you basically pay to SLEEP. Even though I speak french and English fluently, it was very hard for me to understand the staff; probably because of their accent; of course they can't do anything about it, just be prepared for it. Now for the good parts. The hostel looks brand new and it was spotless. I stayed at a 6 bed female dorm and it had its own bathroom with shower and a nice balcony. The beds are comfortable and have curtains, which is something to be thankful for in a shared dorm; you also get a locker for your stuff, but bring your own padlock. The heating can be controlled from within the room. The location is excellent, very near to the port, the cathedral, Panier and many other attractions, so you can easily get everywhere walking. There are a lot of restaurants, kebabs, markets etc around. The ambiance at the bar is really chill and cozy. You can get a basic breakfast for 3€. All in all I recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Melody B wrote a review Sep 2021
Lisbon, Portugal36 contributions2 helpful votes
I spent one night in this beautiful hostel! Staff is sooo friendly and nice, they let me leave the things in some kind of storage until check in time. Location is perfect! Right in the center of the city and close to all important sights. Room is really clean, comfortable and quiet! Temperature in the room was perfect since it was quite hot outside. I will definitely come back! Friendly recommend! 😊
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from The People Hostel, General Manager at The People Hostel - Marseille
Responded 10 Oct 2021
Hello Ivana, Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad you did enjoy the hostel and its atmosphere. We will welcome you again with pleasure
Read more
Georgina M wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Overall our experience at The People Hostel was very positive. It was very clean and the facilities were great. There is a lot of in bunk shelf storage which is pretty cool and extra bathroom facilities on the corridor if the one in the room is occupied. The courtyard is really nice for eating breakfast or getting a drink and the location is perfect, right between the main areas (vieux port, le panier, joliotte). We only had a few minor criticisms: the lockers are too small, not even a carry on case would fit inside, there needs to be more hooks in the bathroom (there was only one and it was very low down), the plastic shelf on the shower was broken so there was nowhere to put shower gel etc. All interactions with staff were cordial but they didn’t have any maps etc to show us around the city/give us recommendations.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from The People Hostel, General Manager at The People Hostel - Marseille
Responded 22 Aug 2021
Hello Thansk for your comment. We are pleased to know that you did like the hostel and had a plaisant time in it. We take note of your remarks and we'll have a look on it. Hope to see you again BEnjamin
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$52 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurBouches-du-RhoneMarseille
NUMBER OF ROOMS
208
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The People Hostel - Marseille
Which popular attractions are close to The People Hostel - Marseille?
Nearby attractions include Centre de la Vieille Charite (0.3 km), Musée d’Archéologie Méditerranéenne (0.3 km), and The Panier (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The People Hostel - Marseille?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and meeting rooms.
What food & drink options are available at The People Hostel - Marseille?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The People Hostel - Marseille?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The People Hostel - Marseille?
Conveniently located restaurants include Twist Avenue, Le Refuge, and Wood La Cantine Gourmande.
Is The People Hostel - Marseille located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Marseille.
Does The People Hostel - Marseille offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The People Hostel - Marseille?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The People Hostel - Marseille?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palais du Pharo (1.3 km), Palais Longchamp (2.2 km), and Château d'If (0.7 km).
Is The People Hostel - Marseille accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.