We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Save
Share
20 quai Docteur Gailleton, 69002 Lyon France
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
US$172
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
HurbUS$207
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (770)
Room & Suite (243)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 22/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Updated 22/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#61 of 159 hotels in Lyon
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Our 5* hotel is located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour offers a very comfortable stay in the center of Lyon. Our breakfast buffet is open for hotel customers to enjoy our wonderful view over Lyon. Also, our terrasse Good Times is open to everyone for lunch with a menu made of local products. Hotel guests only are welcome to have dinner in our restaurant. Our So FIT offers Biologique Recherche treatments, which have amazing results, or Deep Nature massages for a more cocooning moment. Our fitness area is available upon reservation. When restaurants and bars will reopen, we will be more than happy to let you (re)discover our renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", our new panoramic restaurant (more info to come !) and our cocktail bar "Le Melhor". Our luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. We hope to see you soon !
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Butler service
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
River View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Japanese

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
198Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
37Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2558Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,078
  • 912
  • 347
  • 140
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
markgoerlitzca wrote a review Nov 2021
Paris, France5 contributions1 helpful vote
At 9.00 am, the house keeper walked into my room on November 12th without knocking while I was naked. I called front desk to complain and they did nothing. This is the second occurrence. Soaps are cheap dispenser. Room is out dated. TV Chrome cast does not work.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Morgane Metaillier, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Responded 15 Nov 2021
Dear Markgoerlitzca, Thank you for your comment about the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry for the incident with the house keeper and understand your disappointment. It is exceptionnal and absolutely does not reflect our five star service. We apologize sincerely. Please rest assured that we took the appropriate measures with the housekeeping departement. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our soap dispenser in your room. Our Balmain products are available in dispensers in order to reduce our environmental footprint : it dicreases drastically the soap and plastic waste. Our customers are usually very enthusiastic with this new solution. Also, we are sorry that you did not like your room. We exchange very regularly with our headquarters about the refurbishments we need. We hope they will take place soon. Last but not least, we are very sorry that the TV Chromecast did not work. Next time, do not hesitate to tell us - we would be more than happy to help you. We sincerely hope that you will give us a chance to regain your trust during your next stay. Best regards.
Read more
traveller1959 wrote a review Oct 2021
Schluchsee, Germany2910 contributions543 helpful votes
+1
There is absolutely no reason to stay at this overpriced hotel which is a shame for the Sofitel brand but meets none of the quality expectations associated with Sofitel. If you are a member of the Accor rewards program use the opportunity to try out the nearby Intercontinental which is classes above the Sofitel and to enroll into their bonus program. I always loved Sofitel hotels, but this one is a disaster from A to Z. LOCATION: The name suggests that is on Place Bellecour. But this is not correct. The hotel entrance is 2 1/2 blocks away from the corner of Place Bellecour, so the hotel name appears as a bogus claim. The location is not bad but not good either. It faces the Rhône, but there is an extremely busy street between the hotel and the riverbank. Very unusual for Lyon, there are no bars and restaurants in the immediate surroundings with the exception of a red light place. The tourist attractions are still in walking distance, but the location is on the fringe of the area which is interesting for tourists. For business travellers, there are also better locations. CHECK-IN/CHECK-OUT: In our travelling party, there was an old man who was almost blind. When he reserved his room several months ago he indicated that he wishes to get a room side-by-side or at least on the same floor with his brother who acted as his guide. The reception gave both brothers rooms on 1st floor and and on the 3rd floor! When the brothers complained, the reception did not help, really heartless (they checked in at 2 p.m., so there was plenty of opportunity to find another room). When I checked out, after waiting about 20 minutes in a long line in front of the reception, they charged me €550, although I had prepaid room, breakfast and parking. After complaining, they reduced the bill to €70 (for drinks in the bars) which was correct. But they left the impression that they tried a fraud. ROOM: Although we had a "renovated" superior room it had the dark, brownish décor of the late 1950ies. Nothing pretty. Also the lighting was dim. There was a Bose radio on the room which was, however, so old that it did not have USB sockets or Bluetooth, so it was useless for us. The bathroom - also dim and brownish - had a shower with a curtain that was way too short. The result was a puddle with a diameter of 2 meters. You got wet feet when you wanted to use the toilet. It was almost impossible to turn on the shower because the tap was extremely notchy. At the door, the safety bolt fell out of the doorframe so that I had to drive in the screws again. So much for safety! We had the impression that the hotel virtually fell apart. The toiletries on the room were smelling cheap whereas in the public restrooms they had nice liquid soap of L'Occitaine. PUBLIC AREAS: There is a lobby bar with a small outside area which is, however, hardly usable because of the traffic noise from a busy road which separates the hotel from the Rhône. The late night bar is on the 8th floor with decent views but the drinks are extremely expensive, the cocktails are ridiculously bad (tasteless and oversweet) and the service is disastrous (e.g.: waitress taking the order for a gin tonic, waitress running around with a gin tonic through the bar but not seeing the customer, waitress bringing the gin tonic back to the bar). BREAKFAST: Breakfast buffet was just okay for a price of €29 but somehow they were not going the extra mile. E.g., there was no complimentary champagne which is usual on this price level. No freshly baked waffles or pancakes etc. I know hundreds of five-star hotels with better breakfast buffets. On Sunday morning, the breakfast room was so crowded that they sent us to another room and we had to balance our food and drinks through two doors and across a hallway which was packed with people who waited for a free table. RESTAURANT: In October 2021, there was some confusion about the hotel restaurants. Actually, there are two restaurants on the 8th floor: Trois Domes with a Michelin Star for dinner and Le 8 for lunch. The hotel website said the Trois Domes was closed and the Le 8 had a Bib Gourmand from Guide Michelin. However, there is no Le 8 listed in the current Guide Michelin, let alone one with a Bib Gourmand. Obviously, they have lost this qualification and I call it a fraud if it is still on their website. In the end, we had a dinner on the Bib-Gourmand level with Michelin-star prices. One of the greatest disappointments that we ever had! We regretted that we did not eat again at Christian Tetedoie who really deserves his Michelin star. COVID SITUATION: The hotel does not check the pass sanitaire (as other hotels do) with the consequence that you have to wear a mask in all public areas. There is only 1 person allowed in each elevator - which actually means that children and disabled persons have to ride alone. Luckily, they did not enforce this regulation. At the breakfast buffet (no check of pass sanitaire!) the safety rules are very lax, also in the bars (where at least pass sanitaire is required). In sum, a rather dangerous situation. CONCLUSION: This is by no means a luxury hotel albeit it has luxury rates. Even the superior rooms are terrible, the service is disastrous and the restaurant was a great disappointment. Nearby, in a better location, right inside the historic Hotel Dieu complex, there is the Intercontinental Hotel which plays in a different league but has similar rates. A clearly better choice. The Accor Group is well-advised to downgrade the Sofitel Bellecour to Mercure level in order not to ruin the excellent reputation of their Sofitel brand. Or, even better, to modernize this hotel thoroughly. In its current state, it is a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Floors 1 to 3 have renovated rooms
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Morgane Metaillier, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Responded 11 Oct 2021
Dear Traveler 1959, Thank you for your review of the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry that our hotel did not match your expectations. Please rest assured that we take note of your remarks to improve the quality of the services mentionned. We are very sorry that we could not meet your demand of having your disabled guest and his brother in two connecting rooms. We will check if it was an issue concerning room type, and in any case, discuss this matter further with our teams to improve our reactivity on such demands. Also, concerning saftey relative to COVID matters, our regional law says that the sanitary pass is mandatory to enter bars and restaurants but it is not requested upon check in nor to enter breakfast room. Also, wearing a mask is mandatory in all closed public areas, even if the sanatary pass was checked (e.g. in restaurants). We stay at your disposal and hope that you will give us a chance to regain your trust. Best regards, Morgane
Read more
Lawrence G wrote a review Sep 2021
2 contributions
The hotel is a comfortable size and well located on the Rhone near restaurants and shops with easy walking areas around. Its across the river from where most river boats embark. We had a nice junior suite with a good bed and river view that was quiet even though exposed to the busy street. As stated by others the furnishings are a bit tired and not up to date. There is a dearth of plug ins for charging your devices. On the other hand all of the staff from the bellman to the manager were genuinely accomodating with good English spoken. I give a shout out to the general manager Jaque and the concierge who made sure we could get meals even though we did not have the pass sanitare (applied for weeks ahead.) Everything was clean and the top floor restaurant has a great view for breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Junior suite is of good size with separate sitting room and nepresso for morning coffee
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Morgane Metaillier, Service clients/Réception at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Responded 20 Sep 2021
Dear lawrencegL2757CY, Thank you for your review of the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very sorry that your room did not meet your expectations and hope that you will accept our apologies. We regularly exchange with our headquarter about our refurbishment needs and hope that our hotel will be renovated shortly. We thank you for your positive feedback concerning our staff and restaurant which will be shared with our team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our Ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Morgane Responsable Expérience Client
Read more
WOCDOC wrote a review Sep 2021
Amsterdam, The Netherlands26 contributions22 helpful votes
We had a great stay at the Bellecour downtown Lyon. Appreciated the excellent reception for us and good care for our very low sportscar by Le Concierge Mr. Sebastian. Nice room, breakfast area with a spectacular view. We felt welcome. Until next time!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Morgane Metaillier, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Responded 13 Sep 2021
Dear Wocdoc, Thank you for your kind review of the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are very glad that you appreciated your stay and particularly your room and breakfast. Thank you for your mention of Sebastian, who was very glad to help you with your sportscar. We hope to see you again soon !
Read more
allangeoff wrote a review Aug 2021
Boulogne-Billancourt, France1 contribution
From the outside to the decoration of the rooms and public area, this hotel has not changed since the 1980s. And, ok its August but not possibility of having more than a tapas to eat? (Except for breakfast)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Morgane Metaillier, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Dear Allangeoff, Thank you for taking time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are really sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Our priority is always to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important for us. Please rest assured that we will take appropriate measures to embellish our rooms and our catering. We really hope that you will give us the opportunity to better welcome you when our rooms will be renovated. Best regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$180 - US$283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sofitel lyon bellecour hotel lyon, lyon sofitel, accor lyon
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesRhoneLyon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
164
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Which popular attractions are close to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour?
Nearby attractions include Musee des Tissus et des Arts Decoratif (0.3 km), La Place Bellecour (0.4 km), and Bar Melhor (0.02 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Table d’Ambre, Le Mirtillo, and L'Établi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Sofitel Lyon Bellecour located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Lyon.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sofitel Lyon Bellecour offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.