We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Direct on the square, shops and restaurants close by The hotel is a romantik hotel, very old and charmig building Friendly staff and nice service The restaurant serves excellent specialties in an elegant setting

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cony K
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Cony K, Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor, I am glad that you have enjoyed our service during your stay at The Ritter St. Georg. I do hope to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards Matthias Engel General Manager

Southington, Connecticut
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We were on a Viking river boat tour of the city and this was the place we had lunch. It was surprisingly good. The service equaled the quality of food. The hotel was gracious in allowing us to use the hotel services while we had our free time to explore this beautiful town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rusty H
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Rusty H, it was a pleasure to host you. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your lunch at the Ritter and I do hope to welcoming you again. I hope you have had a good time on your river cruise. Kind regards Matthias

Wetaskiwin, Canada
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This was our second time at the Zum Ritter and I can say it won't be our last! We chose this hotel because it is central to anything you might want to do while in Heidelberg. We were able to walk to the funicular which goes to the Heidelberg Castle, as well as restaurants, shopping and The Old Bridge. It...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ruth M
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Ruth, thank for staying at the Ritter. I am more than happy to read that you have enjoyed your second stay at our renovated hotel and that you have been satisfied by our service and offer. I do hope, that it won't take for more years to welcoming you back in Heidelberg. Kind regards Matthias Engel General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I work for a company in Heidelberg so I have to travel there a lot. This hotel is the best I have been to so far. Friendly staff, very comfortable quiet room with lovely bed. In terms of location, you cannot get better, trust me ! Really enjoyed my time there. Advise: Book early to get a good rate, last...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nicolase846
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Nicolase846, thank you for your nice commentary for your stay at the Hotel Zum Ritter. I do hope to welcoming you soon again in Heidelberg. Kind regards Matthias

Rochester, NY
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Although the building is old, rooms are modern. Located in the middle of everything, which makes it noisy at night. Rooms around the courtyard get kitchen noise, rooms on the side street get late night noise and early morning noise (people dragging suitcases on cobblestone street, garbage pickup). Very clean, comfortable. Breakfast is too expensive at 15 Euros.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nykathy
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Nykathy, Thank you for taking your time to post your experience during your stay at Heidelberg. I am happy to read that you like our newly renovated comfortable rooms. I do hope to welcoming you soon again at the Ritter. Kind regards Matthias Engel

Romsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

This is a very historic building right in the centre of Heidelberg. To get there by car is not easy as the hotel is situated in a predominately pedestrian area. Car parking is in a public car park approximately 400metres away. The hotel is a magnificent building ,but, does show its age in some areas. There was no air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajknell
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Ajknell,an I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in one of the oldest buildings in Heidelberg. As we will celebrate next year our 425th birthday, we have renovated softly and in conjunction with our heritage the rooms and the restaurant area in the beginning of this year. I do hope to welcoming again and that...

Sydney
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Fabulous hotel situated in the heart of Old Town Heidelberg. We stayed for one night just recently in August. Our room was beautiful. Very clean, extremely well thought out and lovely clean modern bathroom. The bed was super comfortable. The hotel is in a great spot for exploring the main street and all the many restaurants and shops that surround....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellie458
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Kellie458, thank you very much for such a nice rating on tripadvisor. I am very happy to read to you have fully enjoyed your stay at the Ritter and I am looking very much forward to welcoming you soon again for a longer stay. kind regards Matthias Engel General Manager

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

My partner and I had a 2 night stay booked at this hotel. Unfortunately due to a family emergency we had to get flight home last minute. Called hotel immediately to explain situation. Hotel was entirely unsympathetic and wouldn't even consider giving refund even under the horrible circumstances. Most hotels give 24 hour free cancellation and wouldn't refund the second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGChapmans
Matthias E, Manager at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear JGChapmans, first of all I do hope that your family emergency has gone to a good end. I would like to explain, that your reservation was done via internet and that you have decided to book a non-refundable room rate which gives you a certain discount. You have the opportunity to add a travel insurence or if you pay...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We were very pleased to see the hotel building which is a charming historic building. We had to walk a bit from the parking garage. The location is great. Very central with lots of eating options very close by. We could also easily walk to the funicular to the Castle and to the pedestrian bridge. Our room was very small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bhatku101
Matthias E, Manager at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Bhatku101, I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg. I do hope to welcoming you soon again and that you will have another possibility to explore more sights in the area of Heidelberg. Kind regards Matthias Engel General Manager

Leuven
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

The concierge was very helpfull for letting me park in front of the hotel. The room i had was sparsely decorated which was a bit of a disappointment after seeing the highly ornamental wonderfull facade and restaurant. Maybe management should consider to add 1 of 2 tastfull "Heidelberg styled" decorations? Overall an excellent experience! Tx!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jvds66
Matthias E, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg, responded to this review

Dear Jvds66, thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at the Hotel Zum Ritter. I am happy to read that you have been satisfied with our service. I would like to inform you, that after our renovation this year, we have made some lovely pictures of Heidelberg and its surroundings which we will be framed soon and placed...

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 77 in Heidelberg
452 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#2 of 77 in Heidelberg
522 reviews
0.4 km away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 77 in Heidelberg
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Goldener Falke
Hotel Goldener Falke
#18 of 77 in Heidelberg
216 reviews
1.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Heidelberg City Centre
0.3 km away
ArtHotel Heidelberg
ArtHotel Heidelberg
#7 of 77 in Heidelberg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg

Address: Hauptstr. 178, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Price Range: $156 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zum Ritter St Georg
Zum Ritter St Georg Hotel
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Heidelberg
#15 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Birmingham, Alabama
Alta Loma, California

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If we ever return to this city we would not hesitate to stay and eat there.”
 of 5 bubbles 402rustyh, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't come”
 of 5 bubbles TravelerVII, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Stay clear of the street facing rooms (room 101) as at night the street light shines in / curtains not good enough.”
 of 5 bubbles FrankNamibia, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Back side was quiet, not as scenic.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesanthonytabor, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“You can special order eggs on request with the large buffet breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles DoctorBobUS, 2 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay