We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

684 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edelweiss Lodge and Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 665: English reviews
Shillington
Reviewed 30 December 2014

My wife and I stayed here from December 10 to 16 of 2014. We truly enjoyed our stay. While there, we had a package mailed to us from Kronach, Germany. The mailer had checked with Edelweiss security to make sure that we would receive it. When it arrived, it was rejected by Edelweiss security and sent back to Kronach. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silx404
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

I spoke with Security and Paula. They will be in touch with you per email and get it sorted out.

Schinnen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 December 2014

Sorry we stayed here. For the 3 of us At $174 a night and breakfast not included, I feel we over paid. Most of the hotel advertised tours on the website was either cancelled or book full. If we weren't required to pay the week stay upfront during checking, I would have left early. Food here was average with the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bill D
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We value our guest feedback and see it as an opportunity to improve service for future visits. Our standard rooms are priced from $86 - $149 per night based on your rank. For more than 2 adults in a room, it is $10 extra per adult. That works out to $53 per person, or 44E...

Steinwenden, Germany
Reviewed 21 December 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Edelweiss 3 times now. It is located close to the train station, restaurants and shops. We don't really care for the food selections on site. The rooms are clean but we have had cosmetic issues with each room we've stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Djbar425
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued business. We are in the process of replacing all the guest room carpets in the hotel. After ten years with millions of guests, we needed a fresh start. Hope you can make it back to see what it looks like.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 17 December 2014

We participated in many of the tours while staying at Edelweiss. The lodge itself is in a fabulous location situated just below the Alps. Absolutely beautiful. The food available in the restaurants within the lodge was great as well. No DFAC food here! The staff was helpful and courteous and rooms were very nice as well (we stayed in one...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dawn S
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your thorough review. Sounds like you had a great vacation which it is all about. Hope you can come during another season and try our seasonal tours as well.

Montgomery, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 December 2014

So many things to offer from the spa to tours of the area. We were there only two days and enjoyed the breathtaking views of the Bavarian Alps. Wish we had time to visit the Partnach Gorge but we did take the Alpspix Gondola to the restaurant and enjoyed those views. Would have like to hike to summit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dnnyedy
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

We hope you come back and summit that mountain!

Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 November 2014

The positives-location and friendly staff; after that I feel cheated at $150 a night. Pullmans steak was so salty and my baked potato pretty much burnt. They ran out of eggs so no made to order eggs just the buffet scrambled or omelets. The bar food is so limited and not that great. Our room could use a little sprucing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank miler100
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We have hundreds of positive comments about the Pullman Steaks that we are a bit surprised. The Chef uses a method called Sous Vide. They season the steak with pepper and herb salt. They then vacuum seal it and cook it in heated water for one hour. Afterwards they char the steak...

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 November 2014

My wife and I visited here while celebrating our 30th anniversary. Prior to arriving we read reviews both here and on Facebook. A concern was the negative comments posted on each site. After our visit may I say some people will complain about anything! This place is extremely nice and the staff and workers there are top notch. It would...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mark D
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Congratulations on 30 years and thank you for your wonderful review. Our staff do a fantastic job and we are glad you recognized their efforts. We you choose to stay here again someday.

Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Being retired military we were overjoyed to know we had the privilege to stay at this hotel. It's location is at the base of the Alps. The lobby is welcoming, receptionists will help with any question. The tours from the hotel's front door are the best. There is a small souvenir store where you can sign up for the tours....

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Linda C
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for the review and those helpful travel tips. I am sure many travelers will be on the same path and can use the advice.

washington state
Reviewed 12 November 2014

If you have earned the right to stay at the AFRC's Edelweiss Lodge and Resort ( military/DOD IDs required) you must make a point to stay in this stunning hotel. Fly to Germany and see the sights! Thank goodness we have seen fit to treat our valiant warriors and their families to lodging of this high standard. You can visit...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank okeedoke
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Wow. Danke for the "stunning" review. We appreciate your willingness to get other motivated to not wait. As Warren Miller (ski videographer) famously said, "if you don't go this year, you will be one year older when you do." We hope to see you back again.

Dalzell, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 November 2014 via mobile

I highly encourage everyone that can go here to go. The value for your money is outstanding. You can also use your star card if necessary for food and other items. I highly ecourage you to go during the winter. Skiing, sight seeing, and taking a short trip to the Nusweinstein castle. Well worth the trip for both kids and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank crazyoldman2009
EdelweissResortGAP, Manager at Edelweiss Lodge and Resort, responded to this review

Another great review. Thanks for encouraging others to take advantage of this beautiful Resort exclusively for our US military.

475 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (459)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (170)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
366 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
Hotel Rheinischer Hof
#4 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
263 reviews
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
#3 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Zugspitze
Hotel Zugspitze
#5 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
191 reviews
4.7 km away
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaway
Das Graseck - my mountain hideaw...
#1 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
208 reviews
3.8 km away
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkir...
#17 of 42 in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Long revered as one of the most desirable destinations in the Bavarian Alps, the Garmisch-Partenkirchen area is an idyllic location nestled at the foot of sweeping Alpine vistas and home to the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort. Just 56 miles from Munich, 34 miles from Innsbruck, the Edelweiss Lodge and Resort is located in the heart of Europe. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge and Resort

Address: St.-Martin-Str. 120, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Number of rooms: 330
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Resort Garmisch Partenkirchen
Edelweiss Lodge And Resort Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany - Bavaria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edelweiss Lodge and Resort staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Edelweiss Lodge and Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A balcony is treat.”
 of 5 bubbles Marilee957, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The best suites are of course corners and the south side has the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles KristofL455, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go to the top of the lobby to sit in a rocking chair on the outside balcony!”
 of 5 bubbles G5245BFlaurac, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Mountain view suites are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles Aslan-Betti, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“View of the mountains from every room”
  • View from our room
 of 5 bubbles babylam2000, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5