We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

ARCOTEL Velvet

Show Prices
#130 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

681 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for ARCOTEL Velvet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 411: English reviews
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We spent 4 nights in this hotel, situated 10 minutes walking from the cathedral. The location was really good. The room was nice and clean. The wifi worked fine. On the other hand, we heard nearly all the day noises from the street (we were 2nd floor...avoid it) and also from the room itself a noise like a continuous shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Albert P
VelvetBerlin, Night Audit at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you recent visit to the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and that you have taken the time to share your detailed feedback here on this social platform. We would like to thank you for the honest feedback that you given it means a lot for us. At first we apologize for the noisy room. We hope you... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Really wel located - with subway, bus, S-bahn and tram on your doorstep. The staff is really friendly and helpful. But the room can be very warm and noisy. Also the bathroom arrangements can be a bit weird like the shower and sink in a open space with the room - just the WC in a separate compartment. But the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LUCIANA S
VelvetBerlin, Public Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Luciana, Thank you very much for you recent visit to the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and that you have taken the time to share your detailed feedback here on this social platform. Thank you very much for your friendly words about the staff and location.We apologize for the bathroom but that’s our design. Our Suites in the 7th floor having... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Did a had a very bad luck or is it always the same... Location: is good. About 10min walk from center and at hotel's are is also good restaurants etc. Next to hotel is subway (U) station. Check in: It was easy and fast and staff is very friendly Room: well I got a room where windows are straight to... More 

Helpful?
Thank JarkkoD
scotland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2016

3 Nights for a Sightseeing Trip - Perfect Choice We stayed here 24-27 January ! Perfect location > 5 mins walk to Friedrichstrasse Station (Schonefeld Airport link) > 10 mins walk to Berlin Wall Memorial Park - a "must do" > 10 mins walk to Palace of Tears - a "must do" > 20 mins walk to Check Point Charlie... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank davymac786
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback about your stay at ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the location of our hotel, the condition of the room and the kindness of our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest at ARCOTEl Velvet Berlin. Kind regards Your... More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as a family trip for New Years Eve, the hotel is really modern and the rooms are very spacious and clean, could not fault it. Also in a really good location with a road of restaurants opposite and shops near and about 15 walk from Brandenburg Gate with a subway round the corner if you don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phoebe P
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Phoebe, Thank you very much for your great feedback about you recent stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet. We reallly appreciate! We are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our rooms and the central location. We hope that you had a safe trip home and that you may come back for a return... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location right next to loads of restaurants and bars. It's is also walking distance to all of the major attractions which is great. The room sizes are good however we found the rooms to be very hot with the outside temperature around 2 degrees, we was still hot with the air con on.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Thomas, Thank you very much for your recent stay and that you have taken the time to write a feedback. We are pleased to hear that you liked the location and the rooms sizes. Unfortunately you had a negative experience during your stay as well. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble with the temperature in the... More 

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

The hotel is well located, around a 20 minute walk to most of the attractions. The Underground is just round the corner. There are lots of nice cafes, bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. Bedrooms were basic but clean and comfortable. It is a weird set up with the bathroom being separated from the bedroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily G
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear Emily, Thank you very much for your stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and that you have taken the time to leave a very detailed feedback. Great to hear that you felt confortable at our hotel and that you liked the central location. Unfortunately you had some negative experiences during your stay. We are sorry that the room temperature... More 

Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2015

the only good thing with this Hotel is location. WiFi as mainly in German Hotels -slow. breakfast 12 Euro, while you can get much better food in the next to the Hotel cafe and it will cost you less. staff working in the restaurant at the breakfast, is also involved in the room service...may be that is why you can... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Zaza64
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a feedback about your recent stay. We are happy that you liked the location of the hotel. With regret we realized that your stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin was not to your fullest sastisfaction. Please be assured that we will take your mentioned issues about the breakfast... More 

Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Enjoyed our stay here very much. A completely uncomplicated set-up, had a very nice room after getting an upgrade, had a bathtub which I enjoyed after all our walking around this wonderful city!! The perfect location, love this cosy area with all the great bars and restaurants and we also enjoyed the breakfast in the cute little hotel bar. Everyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Josy213
VelvetBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for your recent stay and for your kinds words about it. Great to hear that you liked the hotel, the staff and the location. We would like to welcome you again in the near future. Kind regards, Your ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Easy access from Tegel airport (bus 128 and then U6), quick check in, friendly staff, nice room with comfortable bed, very strange arrangement with shower and zink without walls (fun? no, romantic? no, irritating? yes). WC has walls, thanks for that! Wall-to-wall carpet is not a favourite but I guess it works as a silencer since we heard nothing at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MMM66
VelvetBerlin, Leiter Gästebetreuung at ARCOTEL Velvet, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Berlin. Unfortunately you did not like the design of our bathroom. Please be assured that we take this issue seriously and we will forward it to our management. We... More 

604 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (218)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (349)
Viewed
Comfort Double Room (56)
Viewed
Comfort Twin Room (46)
Viewed
Junior Suite (60)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Suite (72)
Viewed
Superior Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Adelante Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#66 of 662 in Berlin
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#44 of 662 in Berlin
888 reviews
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#42 of 662 in Berlin
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Mitte

Neighbourhood Profile
Mitte
The centre of Berlin, Mitte is most famous for sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, and Museum Island. The central location makes this one of the city's most expensive places to live. It is here the oldest traces of the city can be found, and evidence of some significant transformations, as well. The gangsters that once ruled the impoverished streets between Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt have given way to an international crowd pursuing fashionable designer clothes, the newest food trends and frequenting the many craft shops. Graphic designers have taken up residence in what used to be backyard barns and stables. There are still vestiges of the old days, however. The occasional housing complex is a reminder of the neighbourhood’s past. And if you look carefully, an old 1920s ball house nestled amongst the art galleries and exhibitions of Auguststrasse can still teach you how to dance the old fashioned way.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Velvet

Address: Oranienburger Strasse 52, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Price Range: $42 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your ARCOTEL Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Velvet Berlin
Arcotel Velvet Hotel Berlin
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#95 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#106 Family Hotel in Berlin
#162 Business Hotel in Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ARCOTEL Velvet staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Lawrence, Kansas
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from ARCOTEL Velvet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a room facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles Peterkjeldsen, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back, on the upper floors are probably quieter, but our friend in the front, on the 3rd floor had no complaints.”
 of 5 bubbles toyasyl, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“superior rooms only have tea/coffee facilities”
 of 5 bubbles 455AlanB, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Great Location”
 of 5 bubbles tilly172016, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“This hotel is in the former East Berlin and there's a historical U station that was once closed off the public.”
 of 5 bubbles PoySak, 29 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay