We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heart of Gold Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$29*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$75*
US$29*
US$66*
US$63*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Heart of Gold Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 410: English reviews
Start your review of Heart of Gold Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Didn't know what to expect when I booked the Megadorm but the room and the hostel were surprisingly nice! The Megadorm is one room with a ton of beds (I think 40?), I was afraid it was going to be super noisy but it actually wasn't. The ceilings were nice and high, the beds were spread out nicely, there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annabel W
Sao Carlos, SP
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was perfect during my stay in Heart of Gold Hostel. The breakfast was really good and the beds were comfortable. There is a lounge where people gather together with a bar and a pool table. Right around the corner there is a small cozy restaurant that servers pizza, perfect for those who are getting back to the hostel after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celso E
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best hostel I've ever been to. I highly recommend it. From the staff to the beds, everything was just like it should be in every place out there. I made my reservation on the day and still only payed 10€ for that night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ângelo F
heartofgoldhostel, Office at Heart of Gold Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're super happy to hear you had such a positive experience at the Heart of Gold Hostel and hope you will come back sometime soon :)

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 1 week ago

Heart of Gold has very welcoming staff. Peter received us with a smile and recommended some good restaurants. At night they have happy hours and it is a good place to hangout after being out all day in the city. Only comment I have is that the beds are very squiky but besides that rooms are comfortable and big.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coral M
heartofgoldhostel, Office at Heart of Gold Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Heart of Gold Hostel - we are working on improving our beds and hope you will come back to see that for yourself :)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is at the heart of the old city and next to the Museum island so you can avoid a lot of transport for the main points of interest. The staff was excellent, always with a smile and ready to help with anything but the rooms were a bit dissapointing even for hostel standards. The linens and the matreses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xristos P
heartofgoldhostel, Office at Heart of Gold Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we're glad our staff made you feel welcome at the Heart of Gold Hostel. We're sorry you had a hard time sleeping - we try to ensure everyone gets a good night rest and apologize if this didn't happen during your stay. We are always trying to improve the hostel - we have recently...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked a double room just for myself and it turned out to be a 3 bed room. The check in took quite long, people were friendly but procedure took long. The room was clean but very basic. There are better hotel/hostels for that money in Berlin.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 623jenny333
heartofgoldhostel, Office at Heart of Gold Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - we are happy you had a pleasant stay and will work hard to make sure you have a better experience if you ever decide to stay with us again :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this hostel last minute because of low availability around Berlin... but I'm so glad we did! Such a great stay! A short walk from a lot of cool little cafes and restaurants, and a short 5 min walk to the underground and s bahn trains to go further. The rooms and bathrooms are really clean and there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 649brynf
heartofgoldhostel, Office at Heart of Gold Hostel, responded to this review

We're very happy you booked with us as well! We're glad we provided you with a good time in Berlin and hope you will stay at the Heart of Gold again soon :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location was central, within walking distance of Alexander Platz, the Berliner Dom and a number of other attractions. Good transport links to the rest of the city too. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfortable. Bathrooms are private and there's a cool bar downstairs. One of the best value hostels I've stayed. My only criticism is that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
heartofgoldhostel, Office at Heart of Gold Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback! We're very happy to hear you had a good time at the Heart of Gold Hostel and will have a look at the showers to make sure they are working properly! :D

Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

It was the first time that I stayed in a hostel in a shared room and it was very good. The first night that was lots of noise, but the other nights were fine. The rooms were clean and spacious. The toilets also clean and always available. Totally recommended to who wants to spend a few days in Berlin. Good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana Filipa R
heartofgoldhostel, Office at Heart of Gold Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We're sorry about your first night, but are happy to hear the rest of the nights were quiet :) We hope you'll come back to stay with us again!

Reviewed 18 March 2017

With just a five minute walk from Fredrichstraße station, it's in a great location. Rooms and bathrooms are clean and the staff very helpful. There's a pool table and a bar in the foyer and a bunch of Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy references all over the place if you know about that. Overall great stay, would go there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
heartofgoldhostel, Office at Heart of Gold Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to hear you had a good stay and hope to see you back here sometime soon! 42.

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#22 of 344 in Berlin
1,340 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 344 in Berlin
1,204 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Mitte

Neighbourhood Profile
Mitte
The centre of Berlin, Mitte is most famous for sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, and Museum Island. The central location makes this one of the city's most expensive places to live. It is here the oldest traces of the city can be found, and evidence of some significant transformations, as well. The gangsters that once ruled the impoverished streets between Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt have given way to an international crowd pursuing fashionable designer clothes, the newest food trends and frequenting the many craft shops. Graphic designers have taken up residence in what used to be backyard barns and stables. There are still vestiges of the old days, however. The occasional housing complex is a reminder of the neighbourhood’s past. And if you look carefully, an old 1920s ball house nestled amongst the art galleries and exhibitions of Auguststrasse can still teach you how to dance the old fashioned way.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Heart of Gold Hostel

Address: Johannisstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Price Range: $30 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Heart of Gold Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heart of Gold Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Gold Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heart of Gold Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Heart of Gold Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Backroom of Megadorm is significantly quieter”
  • Megadorm Back Bedroom
773annabelw, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“8 mixed was a good option”
coralm400, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A really good tour leaves from the hostel around 10:30 am pretty much everyday- would definitely recommend that!”
Skye666, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a city view room.”
Y201NVfrancescad, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I've slept in the 7 bed dorm and it was quite spacious”
martinad312, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$29* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$66
PricelineUS$63
Hotels.comUS$75
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates