We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Heart of Gold Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Heart of Gold Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

607 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heart of Gold Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 379: English reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Full of 'eurotrip' loud American, no respect for anybody else. Rude staff who were not helpful and were very rude when I asked to book another night. Unhelpful for tourist and local info, they acted very suspicious of their customers after something went missing in a dorm and felt victimised despite not being involved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libby W
heartofgoldhostel, Leiter Front Office at Heart of Gold Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we try our best to make our guests feel at home and are very sorry that you didn't have a good experience at the Heart of Gold Hostel. Our staff should have definitely helped you with anything you needed. Hopefully you will come back sometime so we can make a better impression on you!

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 7 October 2016

I just stayed one night there and I'm happy for that. We stayed in huge room with arround 20 bunk beds there was really dirty and there were weird old men who were just looking at the girls, there were people smoking grass, there was not internet, the bathroom was dirty and none came to clean or check, in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josy v
heartofgoldhostel, Leiter Front Office at Heart of Gold Hostel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you didn't have a good experience at the Heart of Gold Hostel. Our staff works very hard to make everyone feel welcome, this is also why our reception is always open - so you can tell our staff any time you have some problems and they can help you solve them immediately. We hope you...

Vasteras, Sweden
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Me and my girlfriend went on a Eurotrip this summer and stayed for two nights at HoG hostel. We arrived quite late and there were lots of people at the reception/bar area. Didn't seem to have much air-conditioning as it was very humid and hot. Nice touch with the bar though, and nice place to get to learn some more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mårten L
heartofgoldhostel, Leiter Front Office at Heart of Gold Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review :) We're happy you enjoyed our stay in the Heart of Gold Hostel. The bar can get a bit warm, specially in the summer, but that's why we have the cold beer on tap! :D We're sorry that the bathroom wasn't as clean as it should have been, but hope you will still come back...

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Truly a very pleasurable establishment with staff who go the extra mile to ensure your comfort and ensure that you feel welcome. Without any reservation I wholeheartedly recommend this establishment or who are seeking a central location and high standard of accommodations in Berlin!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dickie D
heartofgoldhostel, Leiter Front Office at Heart of Gold Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We're very happy you had such a good time at the Heart of Gold and hope you'll come back soon :)

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

This was my first time stopping in a hostel and it was absolutely fantastic, really clean rooms/shower facilities and great atmosphere in the downstairs bar. On top of that it was really cheap and in a great location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Good room, bars, wifi. great place to meet other travellers very central location would definitely recommend it to other travellers. The bar is quite pricey, but consistent with local prices. Made some brilliant friends there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie N
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

When we first arrived to check in, they couldn't put us all in the same room even though a confirmation Email was sent to us confirming we would be in the same room. Once we argued it, they said they couldn't do anything. We looked online for another hostel to stay in amd told them the reason we chose the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Loved the way the hostel was Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy themed - made me ridiculously happy. Centrally located. The staff were really helpful and the bar cheap and cheerful. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were reasonably clean (strangely more male bathrooms than female on the second floor?). Really lively and chill atmosphere on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radhika G
Foshan, China
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

The hostel is in a great location (central Mitte District), with good public transport links, and walking distance from plenty of drinking and dining areas. The staff were helpful, especially when suggesting places for us to see off the beaten track. Inside, the rooms are exactly what you'd expect from a hostel, but there are nowhere near enough toilets and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darbz89
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Love Berlin and this place is a great spot to rest up. Near the train stations and city centre, lots of things to do nearby. The bar is loaded with beer, some table and chairs and outdoor seating. The megadorm was surprisingly quiet, given there were about 40 of us in there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nomeian

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#6 of 662 in Berlin
1,377 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
#14 of 361 in Berlin
1,220 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 361 in Berlin
1,144 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Mitte

Neighbourhood Profile
Mitte
The centre of Berlin, Mitte is most famous for sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, and Museum Island. The central location makes this one of the city's most expensive places to live. It is here the oldest traces of the city can be found, and evidence of some significant transformations, as well. The gangsters that once ruled the impoverished streets between Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt have given way to an international crowd pursuing fashionable designer clothes, the newest food trends and frequenting the many craft shops. Graphic designers have taken up residence in what used to be backyard barns and stables. There are still vestiges of the old days, however. The occasional housing complex is a reminder of the neighbourhood’s past. And if you look carefully, an old 1920s ball house nestled amongst the art galleries and exhibitions of Auguststrasse can still teach you how to dance the old fashioned way.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Heart of Gold Hostel

Address: Johannisstr. 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Price Range: $26 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Heart of Gold Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Heart of Gold Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heart Of Gold Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heart of Gold Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Heart of Gold Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the hostel website before booking, they may have special offers.”
 of 5 bubbles danno81, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book early if you really do want to stay”
 of 5 bubbles chuckywang, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Doors are slamming... don't pick a bed just next to tje door”
 of 5 bubbles MPR1899, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The 12 bed was the best, had two bathrooms with showers, and nice kitchen. Also had a balcony where you could chill.”
 of 5 bubbles tomhE7392JJ, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The 32 dorm is indeed 4 separate 8-bed dorm room behind a main door, so it is quite nice indeed.”
 of 5 bubbles Isaac725, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay