We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 35: English reviews
Start your review of Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof
 Click to rate
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel was ok although not as good as others we've stayed in. We had our own private room in a newly built block which was away from the main building. The shower was a bit strange as there was no doors or curtain so often water ended up all over the bathroom. We couldn't check in early so spent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swiss_r
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Had to send them all kind of papers before booking was OK, that was frustrating. Had to cancel one student of 8, they charged us EXTRA for her NOT accommodating in the group room even though I already had paid for 8. Service was mostly friendly but it depended on who was behind the counter. The last morning, after check-out,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pasi S
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victor P
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Pros: - Friendly staff - 24 hours reception service - Wardrobe - Washing machine and dryer - Not far from train station (but a far from city center) so it is good for short stay Cons: - It is hard to find the hostel, I have to ask someone to find the hostel - I was allocated to the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chui_Yeng
Qaha city,Egypt
Reviewed 3 September 2016

I have stayed there for only one night, my overall experience was great, the place is very organized, the staff are smiling and helpful. The room was small but practical with a WC inside, the breakfast was fine, the location was great just close to Berlin central train station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mittle
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 August 2016

The place is very comfortable and clean, they provided us with useful information and night staff was very kind, it's a very good place for teenagers! We really enjoyed our stay. The only thing I didn't like is that internet is not available in the room, but I guess that promotes getting together on common spaces...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clausrivas
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

Ours was a short break @ Berlin & so we decided to stay here but to our sheer surprise it's an amazing place to stay, ever smiling & helpfull staff makes it even better. Location is really nice as it's close to most of the attractions i.e. holocaust museum, the Reichstag building & the brandenburg gate. Its well connected with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sumit_Singhh
Nashville, Indiana
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

I visited this hostel with a class. Everything was an ordeal and the staff was rude to the students. For example, some members of the class woke up with big bites and our professor tried to change rooms for them, and the woman at reception was rude and unsympathetic. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denadunn
JugendgaestehausHbf, Marketing at Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to review our hostel. We are very sorry that you didn`t enjoy the stay in our hostel. The satisfaction and happiness of our customers are the most important values for us. Every single room of our hostel will be controlled after getting cleaned from our housekeeping department to guarantee the cleanliness of the...

Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

I went with my college on a class trip and this was the second hostel we stayed at. Absolutely awful. The staff was unfriendly, they made us make and unmake our own beds. And take out our own trash. I'm not even sure what the staff at this hostel does, besides telling their guest how to clean their rooms. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hope S
JugendgaestehausHbf, Marketing at Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to review our hostel. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the stay with us. In our "house 2" we offer budget accommodation, especially for school classes, groups and backpackers. Here the guests are asked to put the linen on and off by themselves. The guests in our main building are provided with...

Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 10 January 2016

The hostel is not far from the main train station - around 10 minutes, which is quite close for such a huge city like Berlin. Yet it is not very easy to find, but the hostel sends a map explaining the itinerary. Not very cheap but given the location it seems like a reasonable choice. All rooms have two sets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlopiEmi_Klimt
JugendgaestehausHbf, Marketing at Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time for this very detailed hotel review! This will surely help our future guests. One point we have to adjust: The WiFi in the public area is free of charge. We are looking forward to seeing you again! Best regards, Jugendgästehaus Hauptbahnhof

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Moabit
Motel One Berlin-Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
Hotel Ibis Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Moabit
IntercityHotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
Hotel AMANO Grand Central
#82 of 634 in Berlin
868 reviews
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Mitte
ApartHotel Residenz Am Deutschen Theater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Moabit

Neighbourhood Profile
Moabit
You may not realize Moabit is one of the city’s most central neighbourhoods when you arrive at Hauptbahnhof (central station). Surrounded by waterways, Moabit is a quiet island protected from the hustle and bustle of Berlin. The crowds that do gather prefer spending their evenings in cozy restaurants over the party venues offered by other districts. With its beautiful parks, old housing and romantic industrial areas, life has traditionally been relaxed and a bit slower here. But the tone may soon be changing. Reasonable housing costs and proximity to city centre are attracting more young Berliners and international visitors. This interest is encouraging new bars, cafés and nightclubs, making Moabit a candidate for most up-and-coming neighbourhood in the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Jugendgastehaus Hauptbahnhof is the ideal base for discovering Berlin, the capital of Germany. It is very centrally located, only 400 m away from the central station (Hauptbahnhof). Nevertheless, it enjoys tranquillity and is set in green surroundings. The government district, the Reichstag, the Brandenburg Gate, the Spree river and the Tiergarten park are all within walking distance. In the immediate vicinity, you will also find numerous restaurants and cafes.The 66 rooms are equipped with bathtubs and WC. The establishment additionally offers rooms with wheelchair access. The sizes of our rooms range from single-bed rooms to four-bed rooms, we also offer dormitories and there are also TV and common rooms as well as conference and function rooms for 4 to 300 persons.Enjoy a great start to your day with our ample breakfast buffet.You can also make use of our bicycle hire service or the city swimming pool, which can be found opposite our guest house. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof

Address: Lehrter Str. 68, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Price Range: $40 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Malta
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Jugendgaestehaus Hauptbahnhof staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Requet Haus 1 instead of Haus 2 to avoid walking over and going outside to get Wifi or go to the reception.”
FlopiEmi_Klimt, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“They are very similar one to each other, and they are all pretty good.”
971agust_nc, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
“they say that they separate their garbage, but i did not see the separation of bins. ”
tristilde0314, 6 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a corner room on the 4th floor.”
hjmZurich, 29 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Get a private room if you can help it.”
Ash_NPS160, 27 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Hotwire.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates