We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Fantastic service. Great hotel. Have stayed there twice. Definitely recommend it. I stayed with 40 children in July and this hotel was in a convenient location (even though it is not actually in Alexanderplatz as the name states!). We were very impressed with the rooms, the food and the overall helpful, friendly staff. If we had any problems the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BEVP72
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your lovely words! It makes us happy. Great that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin with us. We will looking forward to your next visit at MEININGER and wish you a good day! Kind regards!

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Although I originally wanted to stay closer to the centre availability meant I chose this hostel, which was fairly convenient as the U-bahn station is just opposite. The rooms appear fairly clean and I appreciate the individual lights and sockets on the bunks,although upon arrival I found tissues in my already made up duvet which led me to question if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelqueenNi
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing MEININGER and for your review. We are sorry that your stay was not as satisfactory as you wished. Nevertheless we hope you enjoyed your time in Berlin. May we see you again in one of the other Meininger Hotels across Europe. Kind Regards, YOUR MEININGER

Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days whilst on an educational trip, and the hotel was was great! The rooms were fairly clean, although small; the meals were very tasty, however I will say that there wasn't much choice for the evening meal dishes- there was only one choice of main course each night. Despite the limited choices for the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethsReviews_xo
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your kind words! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin with us. We will looking forward to your next visit at MEININGER and wish you a good day! Kind regards!

Kempston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Spent a long weekend on a stag do recently. Receptionist on Friday was extremely friendly, but the chap on Saturday struggled to say hello. Arrived early, so stored bags in room with lots of other guests, so not the most secure process. Rooms were clean, but basic. Didn't spend too much time there, so didn't matter. Breakfast was fresh and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevfrost8
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear kecfrost8, Thank you very much for your open words. We are pleased about your good stay so far. We regret not meeting your expectations completely. About our staffs kindness we will take care to enhance our service. Nevertheless we would be happy to welcome you again! Kind regards, Your MEININGER team

Erskine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Excellent place to stay in a great location. Great service provided by all the staff who were polite and happy to help with any questions we had about the local area. Rooms were clean and idea. Stayed in other Meininger Hotels across Germany and definitely recommend them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Craig W., Thank you so much for taking your time sending us your feedback. We are grateful that you enjoyed staying here and for your recommendation. We wish you all the best and we are looking forward to your next visit! Kind regards, Your MEININGER team

Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel is situated in Alexanderplatz, which is a fairly artsy neighborhood in the world's artsiest city. Staying in the "kiez" of Alexanderplatz ensures that you're across the street from a groovy coffeeshop, next door to a local wurst vendor, and a short walk from Berlin's Saturday night events. The hotel is just adjacent to an u-Bahn stop, further making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Jason A., Thank you so much for your great and detailed feedback! That is fantastic, that you have had so much fun here and that everthing was just fine! The breakfast is optional and cost 6,90 EUR but with group booikings the breakfast is included. We are very pleased about your great feedback and we are looking forward to...

Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend booked a double room here to visit the city, the hotel is really well placed! Firstly we asked for a room on the top floors and they gave us one on the first floor but that was fine! The room was big and clean when we arrived, a little bit disappointed there wasn't a mini fridge,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sally F
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Sally F. Thank you for your feedback. We regret not meeting your expectations. The upper floor is our superior floor. If you prefere staying there you need to book a superior room. Please keep in mind that we are a low budget hotel that has no private refrigerators in the rooms, but we offer a fridge for all in...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We loved our stay here. We had a room with a private bathroom which had a great view of the neighborhood. The staff was really kind & helpful and our room was the most spacious of the places that we stayed. The hotel is not in the heart of Alexanderplatz but it is just a few U-bahn stops from Alexanderplatz....

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank justg975
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear justg975, So great your feedback and we are very pleased about your good time with us. Happy guests are our aim and we are happy about every satisfying stay. We wish you all the best and we are looking forward to your next stay! Kind regards! Your MEININGER reception

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Good place to get rest - the rooms are simple bunk beds in a nice small room. It´s close to a train station so it is convenient to get around. The reception area was clean and there were couches, but the vibe / atmosphere wasn´t great to meet new people there. It costs 5EUR to use the washing machine &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiffaniiee
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Tiffaniiee, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you liked staying here so far. Our washing machine has different programms, faster are also awailable. Next time, just ask our staff at the reception. We are happy to assist you! We are looking forward to your next stay and wish you al th best! Kind regards, Your MEININGER...

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

The hotel was good for the stag party. Rooms were basic but we weren't expecting much. The hotel ran out of towels for each room, so we had to dry ourselves with clothes. On checking out - the receptionist Lydia was very rude, snapping at guests and being very assertive. We appreciated she was on her own and busy, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Will_Room
MEININGERHotels, reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Will, Thank you for taking your time sending us your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed staying here so far and regret that not everything went the way it should supposed to be. We hope that you contacted our staff about the towel situation, that we got at least the chace to solve the situation. We also want...

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#388 of 633 in Berlin
93 reviews
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Ackselhaus
Ackselhaus
#36 of 633 in Berlin
255 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Kastanienhof
Hotel Kastanienhof
#152 of 633 in Berlin
228 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#112 of 633 in Berlin
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighbourhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighbourhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz (formerly "Prenzlauer Berg") is located on Schonhauser Allee by subway station Senefelderplatz. The modern hotel is only one and a half kilometres from Alexanderplatz and not even two to the Museum Island. You will find a great variety of pubs, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep - exactly the right place for fans of the youthful side of Berlin! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Schoenhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range: $84 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“after 10 pm there is a quiet policy difficult to enforce Rooms ending in 04-08 are near the elevators can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 208danv, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid sharing dorms unless you have a big group”
 of 5 bubbles Thundering_Raiden, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great place if you need some sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles 207waynek, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“7th floor rooms have terraces”
 of 5 bubbles 652micha_p, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles the0harish, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5