We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
See the most recent reviews
Showing 161: English reviews
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Decided to stay here because rates were relatively reasonable for the area at the time I booked. I stayed in a double room - the room was clean and the private bathroom in the room was quite spacious and well equipped (soap, towels, hair dryer) for a budget hotel. No fridge in the room but there is a shared fridge... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Colin G
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello kool_blu89, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are pleased about your good experience with us. Even if we could not fullfill whoöe comfort (matress and pillows) we are glad that you liked staying here and we are looking forward to your next stay! Kind regards and have a nice day! Your MEININGER team More 

Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Just like Ryanair and easyJet say you're flying to a city but your miles outside, this hotel is nowhere near Alexanderplatz. expect a 15-20minute walk or 4 stops on the train... When we arrived the reception didn't have a record of our booking through booking.com and we had to wait for 45 minutes for them to confirm we could actually... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liam_omuk
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Liam_omuk, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing MEININGER. We regret that we could not meet your expectations as much as we wished and that our location (right in the middle of Berlin East) was not the area you wished to stay. Online bookings might take a while till we receive all booking details. We are sorry that... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

I would give no stars if it was an option. They couldn't even get the bookings right even though we called ahead three times and emailed them 6 times beforehand checking bookings to ensure that they had done it correctly. When we were trying to solve the situation the staff were rude and unhappy to help. In the rooms it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Lauren, Thank you for your open words and we regret not meeting your expectations. The hustle with the rooms had a different backround and different reasons that the final situation was like that. We want to apologize, if you felt treated unpolite. At the end we solved that problem. Hairdryer are available at the reception, if there is no... More 

Travellers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Nice modern rooms and bathrooms, however the atmosphere was non existent. The staff were also terrible, I literally waited 10 minutes to buy a beer at the bar while the young woman with glasses sat at her computer 3 meters away completely ignoring me. A couple also walked in and waited as well, before we all agreed to go elsewhere.... More 

Helpful?
Thank wayne k
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Wayne, Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. An explanation for that might be that the whole bar is hard to see from the reception desk. Our receptionist and bartender are the same and it is much easier to contact our staff directly, because sometimes they really just do not notice you! We regret... More 

Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2016

The first time I staid here was because of the great location, close to Alexanderplatz as well as clubs and other venues around the Eberswalder Str. metro station, plus a very good price. Downstairs the place is pleasant---a colorful reception area plus a room with seating where breakfast is served in the morning, and which for the rest of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michał P
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Michal, Thank you so much for your friendly and detailed feedback. I was a pleasure reading it. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best! Kind regards, Your MEININGER team More 

Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Along with my friend we have very nice stay, from first moment until the end. Whole staff was very friendly, helpful. Due to my early arrival I was offered to leave luggage and personal belongings in safe place. Staff welcomed us by small bottles of wines and sweets due to the fact that they weren't able to provide standard double... More 

Helpful?
Thank 27Moni
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Monika, Thank you so much for that very kind and lovely feedback. We are more than happy reading your friendly words and we are deeply moved. You are more than welcome to explore more of Berlin anytime and it will be our pleasure to see you again! Many thanks and all the best for you! Lovely greetings from Berlin,... More 

Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2016

First of all i hadmy things stolen from the common kitchen downstairs and the receptionist with rasta hair took my complaint down and promised toget back to me after reviewing the cameras. She never did and when questioned , she ironically siad you are rigt and i am wrong. When i aked her why is she arrogant , she was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Theoharis H
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Theoharis H, Thank you for taking your time leaving a comment. Your feedback surprised us, because your description does not fit to our staff and we forwarded your complaint to the other MEININGER hotel. We are sorry for your bad experience, but your message belongs to an other house. MEININGER has four different houses in Berlin, so this mistake... More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Went there with my girlfriend and the room was really, really small but cozy. The view was really great with huge floor-to-ceiling windows. However, the bed was really bad and uncomfortable, and the mattresses moved too easily around just when sleeping which caused us to wake up several times.

Helpful?
Thank Morten K
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Morten, Thank you for your open words. We are pleased and sorry for your good and disapointing experience with us. We rather see our guests happy with everything. We started our renovation to renew our rooms step by step for more cleaness and cosyness. We hope your next stay will be more satisfactory! Kind regards and all the best!... More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I stayed there with 2 other friends in a hotel room (they have dormitory rooms too). Not so good because; -We had a room with bunk beds filling up most of the room.Dont expect 3 star hotel quality or you will be disappointed, I would say this is hostel/backpacker style, if you are travelling in several cities and with friends... More 

Helpful?
Thank sheabutter-c
MEININGERHotels, Rezeption at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Sheabutter-c, Thank you for your feedback and voting. Right now we are renovating our house and will fix the shower problem as well. We offer different kind of rooms as you can see on all example pictures. Some have only bunk beds others have a double bed too. We appreciate that you liked staying here and that you liked... More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2015

This hostel/hotel has standard and dormitory accommodation which is a great idea but unfortunately you run a substantial risk of being double booked (which judging from a pre-printed letter left in the substitute accommodation is a regular practice) and shunted into a dormitory room at the same price. The staff are helpful but embarrassed by the deficiences of the management's... More 

Helpful?
Thank wibutee
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear MEININGER guest, Thank you for your open words. We regret not meeting your expectations about the room and that you did not receive any respond to your e-mail. MEININGER combines hotel and hostel, that we offer different kind of rooms. Especially our 4 bed rooms have either two bunks or one bunk and a double bed. Even if we... More 

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#81 of 662 in Berlin
215 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#399 of 662 in Berlin
89 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Prenzlauer Berg
Pfefferbett Hostel
Pfefferbett Hostel
#29 of 361 in Berlin
262 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighbourhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighbourhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz (formerly "Prenzlauer Berg") is located on Schonhauser Allee by subway station Senefelderplatz. The modern hotel is only one and a half kilometres from Alexanderplatz and not even two to the Museum Island. You will find a great variety of pubs, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep - exactly the right place for fans of the youthful side of Berlin! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Schonhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range: $80 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid sharing dorms unless you have a big group”
 of 5 bubbles Thundering_Raiden, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great place if you need some sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles 207waynek, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“7th floor rooms have terraces”
 of 5 bubbles 652micha_p, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles the0harish, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Double check that you'l get the rooms you've booked!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles wibutee, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay