We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
See the most recent reviews
Showing 166: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I travelled with friends and we stayed here . Was decent and had every essential. In front of metro station which can take you anywhere ! Nice restaurants around the area. Great area In General ! From my experience , quite safe area. Rooms were hot but then again we were 6 in one room. But we cracked a window...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Akila W
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Akila, really nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate all kind of feedbacks but espacially the good ones of course. :) You are right that the rooms in this MEININGER Hotel do not have any air conditioning. Gladly we do not have that many weeks a year where air conditioning actually is necessary. Although we...

Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Three of us stayed in a 6 bed dorm here. It was extremely clean and perfect for what we needed it for, there was free wifi access in the room as well as plugs and a light with each bed. The hotel itself was a little more out of the way than we would have liked but easily accessible by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouiseSheffield2014
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Louise, Thank you for staying at MEININGER Alexanderplatz and for your kind review. We are pleased to know that you have had a good time staying with us. So we hope to welcome you again sometime soon. Looking forward to your next visit. Yours, MEININGER reception

Stockholm
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Belen, New Mexico
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We got a room because everywhere in town was sold out (for a football match),So we only stayed one night there. The Pros: Very close to a Bahn Station, next door to a Biomart, close to many great restaurants. It was clean, it had an Elevator, it was close to a trendy neighborhood. The Ehs: The Bathrooms were nice, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello Elizabeth, Thank you very much for your stay at MEININGER and that you took your time sending us your review. All in all we are glad to know that you have had a pretty good stay with us even if you had some complaiments. We are a low-budget hotel with daily rates. At the time you booked your stay...

Latina, Italy
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simone C
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel has excellent location and very friendly staff, but there are unfortunately far more things on the bad side. My non smoking room smells really badly of tobacco. I was not allowed to change to another room, but a cleaning lady sent to fix the smell. She was able to take some of it away, but the bathroom stinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauri G
MEININGERHotels, Leiter Gästebetreuung at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear MEININGER guest, Thank you for your open words, honesty and that you took your time to send us your opinion. We are very sorry, that your stay was not as satisfactory as we wished. All MEININGER houses are non-smoking that we tell all our guests. Still it happends sometime that guests just dont care and smoke anyways. The pictures...

London
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights from 25th to 30th May whilst attending a language course in the vicinity. My room was a double room for single use on the 7th floor (street side) with a sunny balcony which I requested offering great views over Berlin. It was basic, very clean and well-equipped including small table and chairs, TV, hairdryer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna498
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear A., Your feedback means a lot to us and we are pleased reading your words. Every satisfied guest is a proof for us making a good job. Your were staying in one of our best rooms and we are glad to know, that you liked it. For sure, the view from there above is quiet fantastic and you are...

Ledbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent value for money, clean and great location. Spot on for our needs visiting the city as a group for a weekend. The 'black out' blinds and late check out option for 10 euros were particularly welcome after sampling Berin's (all) night life.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
Meininger H, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Hello MEININGER guest, We are happy to read your review and that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin with us. Satisfied guests are our aim and we are pleased about everyone that have had a good time here. For everyone who want to explore Berlins night life our late check out is always welcome! So, thank you for taking your...

Hradec Králové, Kralovehradecky Kraj, Czech Republic
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a four person room with a private bathroom. Room was quite cleen (not 100% though) but the bed sheets and towels were clean. Staff was very friendly,always eager to help and advice us about which places to visit and how to reach them. Breakfast is not included,and it costs 5.90 per person , but I doupt if u...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ptatemvan
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear guest! We really enjoyed your postive review and your recommendation. The feedback of our guests is very important for us, because it helps us to develope our services. We hope to welcome you again in our house and a next vacation here in Germany's capitol city. Kind regrads Yours MEININGER-Team Berlin Alexanderplatz

Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We had a tree person room but got a dorm for six. Bunk beds and everything. Found those maggots which like moist places in the floor at night, disgusting! One staff member was pretty rude, we felt like we diaturbed her webhopping when we asked if she could make us a reservation. Other staff members were great. Hotel had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauliina K
MEININGERHotels, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review

Dear Guest! We are terrible sorry about your bad experience in our house. Unfortunately we were sold out that time and we had no triple-bed-room avaiable. We are very sorry about our rude staff member. Usually all our employees are friendly and helpfull within all guest matters. Maybe you will give us a second chanceand we are lokking forward to...

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Jurine
Hotel Jurine
#382 of 662 in Berlin
93 reviews
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Ackselhaus
Ackselhaus
#23 of 662 in Berlin
253 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#101 of 662 in Berlin
223 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#3 of 367 in Berlin
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Prenzlauer Berg

Neighbourhood Profile
Prenzlauer Berg
No Berlin neighbourhood has undergone a greater change than Prenzlauer Berg. The artists and non-conformists that defined the district’s intriguing subculture in the 1980s and 90s have been replaced by a young, hip crowd that frequents the many cafes. Where there were once run-down houses in the shadow of the Berlin Wall, there are now designer shops. Beautiful old homes have been modernized and renovated, and on Sundays, thousands turn the park next to remnants of the wall into a playground for street artists, musicians, and flea market shoppers. This attracts young urban families who enjoy the balance of big city life and small-town comfort. Meanwhile, trendy, young, upper-class visitors from all over the world are attracted to the local high-end shops, cafés, and sophisticated bars and restaurants. The merits of this transformation are a favorite topic of debate around the city, but it makes for some of the best people-watching Berlin has to offer.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz (formerly "Prenzlauer Berg") is located on Schonhauser Allee by subway station Senefelderplatz. The modern hotel is only one and a half kilometres from Alexanderplatz and not even two to the Museum Island. You will find a great variety of pubs, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep - exactly the right place for fans of the youthful side of Berlin! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Schonhauser Allee 19, 10435 Berlin, Germany
Region: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Price Range: $85 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline and HRS so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel Prenzlauer Berg Hotel Berlin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“after 10 pm there is a quiet policy difficult to enforce Rooms ending in 04-08 are near the elevators can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 208danv, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid sharing dorms unless you have a big group”
 of 5 bubbles Thundering_Raiden, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great place if you need some sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles 207waynek, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“7th floor rooms have terraces”
 of 5 bubbles 652micha_p, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles the0harish, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5