We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Alt Deutz

Save
Share
Graf-Gessler-Str. 13-15, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia Germany
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (89)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (15)

About

#232 of 291 hotels in Cologne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
In the heart of Cologne, this hotel offers bright rooms with cosy interiors and free Wi-Fi. The KolnMesse Exhibition Centre and the Lanxess Arena are a 4-minute walk away. A cable TV, work desk and telephone with free, unlimited calls to German landlines are featured in the rooms at the Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena. A free bottle of mineral water is offered each day. A rich continental and healthy breakfast is served each morning at the Alt Deutz. Cologne's Old Town and Cologne Cathedral can be found within 2.5 km. These are just 1 stop from Koln-Deutz Train Station, 900 metres from the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Car hire
Salon
Baggage storage
Wifi
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Horseback riding
Fishing
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, German

Location

Full view
87Good for walkers
Grade: 87 out of 100
43Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
7Attractionswithin 0.5 km
323Reviews4Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 73
  • 61
  • 40
  • 83
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Daan P wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We didn't get our deposit back even though we did nothing wrong. They tried to convince us that they payed us back but we never got the money. Room was very mediocre, only one window so there wasn't a lot of light coming in.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from csupport, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry you were not completely satisfied with your experience. We regret any misunderstanding with your deposit, however, as we are unable to verify your reservation without more details, we invite you to contact us directly so that we may review the matter with you. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with an improved stay in the future. Kind regards, S.R. Robinson, Manager
Read more
C.Z. wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Contacted hotel for information and finding solutions for a possible stay. The manager stated she also was the owner of the hotel. In the course of discussion, she bluntly said she is not interested in customer satisfaction, she does not need it, she does not care for the hotel reputation... I told her I would leave a comment ...unbelievable!!! C.Z.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from csupport, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are very sorry you felt your request was not dealt with as you expected. Unfortunately, as you chose a special non-refundable rate via booking.com, this discount does have specific conditions attached which are clearly explained on the website. Out of respect for other guests who may have chosen a rate with different conditions we regret that no changes or modifications are permitted. We can understand your disappointment but hope that we will have a chance to welcome you in our hotel on a future occasion. Kind regards, S.R. Robinson, Manager
Read more
Yulia wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I travel a lot, and myself I have been working for many years at the front desk in the hotel, but this is the first time I have encountered such a situation. I came to Cologne for work and booked this hotel solely because of it’s proximity to the exhibition. The price is not high and I understand that this is a very simple place, I do not have any special expectations and claims. I looked at the photos of the rooms (on one of the famous e-commerce website, but booked directly on the hotel’s website, decided to save them a commission), it seemed to be clean with a lot of positive comments...On arrival, I was given a room on the third floor. Having risen and opened the door of the corridor, I already felt a sharp unpleasant smell and in the room it was just everywhere! The smell of mold so strongly permeated the room that it was simply impossible to breathe in it! Terribly dirty carpet, an old bathroom with a smell from the sewer, a shower in which I would not dare to wash without flip flops, a washbowl in the room... Physically it is just impossible to stay in this room and I sincerely do not understand how the hotel can sell a room that does not meet the sanitary standards. I went to the front desk, explained the situation and kindly asked to change the room. There were no more rooms in this category and I asked if there were any other rooms, I was ready to pay the difference in price. But to my surprise, the only solution on the part of the hotel was to book a new room (bigger one, but at the same price as the one that can not be lived in) as my room was booked at a non-refundable price! I understand the cancellation policy, but why should a room where you can't stay without risking your health be my problem? If there is no longer the same room available, shouldn't I get any other OK room in this situation? It is not a whim and I do not ask for a replacement because I do not like the color of the walls! I really think that this is unfair, the photos of rooms on the Internet are quite different and do not correspond to the horror that is actually here. As a result, I had to pay for a room with mold as it was booked with a non-refundable rate and the full price for the second room, which at least has no carpet and you can breathe in it. Well, the mold in the bathroom is probably everywhere. There are no words, it is really my first negative review ever, I'm not a supporter of spoiling the reputation, but in this case I can not be silent. Regarding breakfast I can’t say anything as it is my first and for sure the only one night here, I only know that it is outside in another building.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from csupport, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Dear Yuliastr86, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We value all feedback as the comfort and well being of our guests is of the utmost importance to us and we would like to apologise for this less than perfect experience. Indeed, during your stay, we were unable to offer another of the same room category. While we did propose the room to be cleaned, we regret that this option was not to your satisfaction. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with an improved stay in the future. Kind regards, S.R. Robinson, Manager
Read more
52andrasm wrote a review Dec 2019
Budapest, Hungary2 contributions2 helpful votes
Dear Sir or Madam, I am deeply indignant as I have never experienced such an outrageous and agressive bahaviour on behalf on any service provider in the so-called developed part of the World. I really do not understand the point being so unhelpful to any customer. It is not about the refund, but being just as flexible as it does not harm You and us either and finding a common solution. I really don't understand the point why You have been so kind about this issue to my friend who called You in German - and now so rejective and unpleasant to me. On the long run, our feedback of dissatisfaction in all kind of publicly available platform will hopefully help future customers to avoid this type of behaviour. Mr Andras
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from csupport, General Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz
Responded 24 Dec 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with the response received from our hotel, however, it allows us an opportunity to provide information that we believe will help clarify the situation and help with any future reservations. Out of respect for our other guests, if a non-refundable or non-alterable rate is chosen with certain conditions attached, we have to respect them. This means that once booked regrettably no changes or cancellations are possible, which is clearly stated on the booking platform. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes for the festive season, S.R. Robinson, Manager
Read more
georgiana_mu wrote a review Aug 2019
Ipswich, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
I had one of the worst experiences in a hotel. Mr and my partner reserved a room with double bed with almost 2 months prior the reservation. When we arrived there we were told that our room is at the 3rd floor which was more like the 4th and stairs from 3rd to the 4th floor were tiny so you can barely step on them. We arrived in the room and guess what we had two twins bed and the room looked like in an attic. I mean there were no space between the bed and the top of the room. We went downstairs and the ladies from the reception told us is a wish yo have your room with a double bed but I don’t understand why you can choose. I mean you are not supposed to be able to choose if it’s only a wish. I do not recommend even if it’s close to tube/tram/bus stations. For extra euros you can get something much better
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from SR_Robinson_1, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz
Responded 25 Sep 2019
We would like to thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry to read that there were some misunderstandings during your stay and would like to take the chance to apologize for any inconvenience these may have caused. We always try to accommodate our guests booking requests, however due to limited availability we cannot guarantee special requests in terms of location or room type and bed type preferences. Please consider that due to the individual shape of our building, some rooms vary in size and layout. We hope this did not affect your stay too negatively, we would be more than happy to welcome you again, soon. Kind regards, on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena, S.R. Robinson -Manager-
Read more
C130Captain wrote a review Aug 2019
International44 contributions66 helpful votes
Simple small hotel, old but clean, centrally located in Deutz and good option for one overnight. The rooms are small, no balcony, equipped with TV, small shower but (suprise, surprise) every room is equipped with a tablet computer free if charge and already connected with the wifi. There is no elevator available and the hotel has some 3 floors with very steep and tight stairways. Many typical bars and restaurants in the neighborhood. Breakfast is offered at the sister hotel some 300 yds distance on the main road.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Try to get one of the lower rooms if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Michael B wrote a review Sep 2018
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom29 contributions41 helpful votes
Possibly the worst hotel I have stayed since my student days. The price was a complete rip off. The room was a terrible layout very small and an uncomfortable bed. The location for the exhibition centre is OK - this is the only plus point. The breakfast is a waste of money - do not bother. If this place is the only room left n Cologne - stay in Dusseldorf. I even had to book my own taxi! OVER €400 for 2 nights!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SR_Robinson_1, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz
Responded 14 Sep 2018
Thank you for staying at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the good location of our hotel. Please consider that due to the individual shape of our traditional building, some rooms vary in size and layout. Our prices may vary during high demand periods, e.g. during events or trade fairs - but even at trade fairs we are still a little bit cheaper than our competitiors. Regarding your comment on our popular sparkling breakfast we are actually surprised. Usually most of our guests liked our breakfast buffet. As compared to local cafes we offer a quality above average, wide choice of products and a good value for money. We regret that you did not leave our hotel happy. Should you ever be back to Cologne, we would be more than happy if you give us a second chance. Kind regards, on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena, S.R. Robinson -Manager-
Read more
T3985MJ_ wrote a review Sep 2018
55 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
Arrived this hotel today, staff was not service oriented. They charge my credit card before they let me see the reserved two rooms. The front desk located in a different building from the hotel so we had to go to the other building at the end of the street, searching reserved rooms, not finding it, had to go back the front desk building asking AGAIN where the rooms are located. After we saw the rooms is was so bad, ordered 2 separate beds, received 1 small double bed. room too small to move inside, not clean, not looking as description and as pictures show, public toilet and shower for 8 rooms sharing together, means about 16 persons for 1 toilet! We couldn't use it because it was occupied all the time! Asked staff to upgrade rooms by adding payment, they wouldn't do that, they wouldn't let us complained to manger. Their staff attitude was so bad we couldn't help it any more, laughing and smiling in your face as they want you be angrier with them, as they despise us, we just requested staff to keep their eyes at our language, they told us put it at our room, but in order to take language upstairs to room, we needed to go up by SPIRAL STAIRS with suitcases!!! They wouldn't keep our language while we went to search for another hotel. We have no words to describe this place, surely it can't called hotel and not even a hostel. Be careful of this place. Did not received our money back and went to stay in another normal hotel. We asked Booking.com to call hotel and ask them for refund but, they received NO as an answer. It is so frustrating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: You need to lift your suitcase by hand in an spiral stairs, If you like to share W/C and shower...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from SR_Robinson_1, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz
Responded 14 Sep 2018
"Thank you for staying at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena. We do apologize for the fact that you were not fully satisfied with your visit. You had booked a room with shared bathroom at a reduced rate. These rooms are especially popular with guests who want comfortable accommodation at a very good price-performance ratio. The shared bathrooms is used by 3 rooms at most. Our various room categories, including descriptions of the rooms and bathrooms, are detailed and transparent on all portals and on our website - clearly visible when booking, as well as on our booking confirmation. We offer double and twin-bedded rooms and try to accommodate our guests’ preferences accordingly. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee such type of preference due to limited availability. Also all our rooms feature different sizes and layouts, which is due to the historical building of the hotel. The facilities of our hotel correspond to the German two-star hotel standard equipment where an elevator is not part of. However, we are happy to help older and handicapped guests with their luggage or try to book a room on the lower floors. Your note on the friendliness of our team we take very seriously. Being an owner-managed privately-run hotel, the friendliness is one of our hallmarks. If you ever change your mind and plan to be back in Cologne, we would be more than pleased to consider any preference you may have concerning the choice of the room. Kind regards, on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena, S.R. Robinson -Manager-"
Read more
TStiller wrote a review Aug 2018
Munich, Germany487 contributions150 helpful votes
Big RipOff, do not go there!!! I did book for the GamesCon in advance, paid 160€ and got a Hostel room with one bed for two people and a bathroom/toilet for three rooms to share. When I asked for another room the sold me another room for 80€ four beds as a studio! When I asked only to switch the could not. So even the people at the front desk are nice but useless crooks. BREAKFAST WAS BETTER THEN EXPECTED, after these experiences, but still not really good. Be careful this is in s rural area with social difficulties as alcohol and drugs on the street. In total never go there I will not come bakk again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from SR_Robinson_1, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz
Responded 29 Aug 2018
Thank you for your stay and your feedback. We regret that you classify the city center in Cologne Deutz as a social focal point. Cologne-Deutz convinces with a lively restaurant and cafe culture and many shopping possibilities, with the excellent connection to trade fair, Lanxess Arena and city center a very good connectivity is given. You had booked a "Double Room with shared bathroom". These rooms are different from our standard double rooms, what is clearly stated on our website and the booking confirmation. Rooms with a shared bathroom are a cheaper alternative to save some money. Kind regards from Cologne, for the team of the Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena, S.R. Robinson -Manager-
Read more
AmKreuz86 wrote a review Aug 2018
Helsinki, Finland590 contributions98 helpful votes
+1
I had booked this hotel without looking into it, which is normally a no no from myself. I read the reviews on TripAdvisor about this hotel and was disappointed thinking I had booked somewhere not so great. All this changed however when I got there. The location is beautiful and away from where the mass amounts of tourists are. There are lovely little bakeries, coffee shops and other shops so close, along with lovely scenery. The hotel itself was clean, well presented, bed was comfortable and shower was great. The staff were lovely and didn't moan when I had asked for extra coat hangers. For the price this is a gem. I can say it once, twice, a hundred times... FANTASTIC LOCATION. I recommend wholeheartedly. We are already planning another trip back to Köln with a stay at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from SR_Robinson_1, Manager at Hotel Alt Deutz
Responded 14 Aug 2018
Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena and your kind compliment to our team. We are glad to read you enjoyed our central location as same as the cleanliness of our comfortable rooms. We would like to thank you for your appreciation of our excellent value for money room rates are updated on a daily basis and often offer unique deals. We would be happy to welcome you again in the future and will be pleased to assist with any requests you may have during your stay. Kind regards, on behalf of the entire team of Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena, S.R. Robinson -Manager-
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$243 - US$361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GermanyNorth Rhine-WestphaliaCologneDeutz
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Alt Deutz
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Alt Deutz?
Nearby attractions include KölnTriangle (0.4 km), Lanxess Arena (0.4 km), and Koln Sky (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Alt Deutz?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and baggage storage.
Is parking available at Hotel Alt Deutz?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Alt Deutz?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lommerzheim, Saint Louis, and Mongo's Restaurant Koeln.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Alt Deutz?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Alt Deutz?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Heinzelmaennchenbrunnen (1.4 km), St. Ursula (1.8 km), and St Kunibert Basilica (1.4 km).