Hotel Esplanade

Hotel Esplanade

Burgwall 3, 44135 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia Germany
Traveller (56)
Panoramasuite
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#10 of 59 hotels in Dortmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Das Esplanade in Dortmund ist eine Liebeserklärung an das Ruhrgebiet und dessen Kultur. Mit Leidenschaft und vielen Details entfachen wir das Ruhrgebiets-Gefühl in jedem. Komfort wird bei uns großgeschrieben. Erleben Sie die Vorzüge eines inhabergeführten Hotels. Wir stellen die persönliche Betreuung in den Mittelpunkt. Das spüren Sie als unser Gast von Anfang an. Wir bieten 96 Zimmer von Standard bis Juniorsuiten an. Ab Frühjahr 2024 werden Sie auch einen neuen Wellness- und Fitnessbereich nutzen dürfen. Wir verfügen weiterhin über eine Hotelbar, 36 Parkplätze und 5 Tagungsräume.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more

Location

Burgwall 3, 44135 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia Germany
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Dortmund Airport
Dusseldorf Airport
55.2 km
See all flights
Dortmund Central Station
9 min
164Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 63
  • 14
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jay Z wrote a review Dec 2023
Dundee, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from a wonderful stay at this hotel.

Great location close to the train station, the city centre and the U-Bahn station so very easy to get to & from. Despite the busy location, our room was very quiet. Even with both windows open at night, we barely heard any noise.

The room was nice & cozy, clean with plenty of storage. It appears that someone had run off with the TV remote but the staff immediately fixed the issue and brought us a new one. And speaking of the staff, every single person working there was nothing but friendly & helpful. From the lady at reception who upon learning that we were going to the medieval market, immediately got us a map of the city & explained how to get there & where the other markets (and the largest Christmas tree) were. Even the breakfast staff on Sunday found us a spot to sit & were very approachable even though they were clearly rushed off their feet during the breakfast rush. We were very well looked after.
Breakfast was great every day. After 2 nights of markets & gigs, we slept in on Sunday so arrived during peak time for breakfast but the other 3 mornings, it was a lot calmer/quieter.
The hotel is embracing the city's cultural heritage beautifully. It inspired us to seek some of the city's former steelworks.
Overall highly recommend the hotel & its staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katja Kortmann, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Esplanade
Responded 21 Dec 2023
Dear Jayz, thank you so much that you have reviewed us and that you have taken the time to do that. I am very grateful and happy about your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel and I am very happy that you have enjoyed the stay in our private run hotel and in Dortmund so much. I would be very happy to see you next year again. Now I wish you a MERRY Christmas and a happy NEW YEAR - full of love and joy. Katja Kortmann Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KStannov wrote a review Sept 2021
Brussels, Belgium
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Esplanade has it all. Friendly service-minded staff, modern rooms, comfortable bed with soft bed linen and great water pressure. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Parking available in the basement, U-bahn station a few hundred meters from the hotel and pharmacy and groceries on the way.
I wish I’d had time to sit in the bar and enjoy a beer - I’m still smitten with Germany and the hotel scene there 👏
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mindaugassarpis2021 wrote a review Oct 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything was clean and tidy, staff were really nice. This is a family run hotel so you can really feel the personal touch. The breakfast was also really good. And there is a nice little bar which is always open if you feel like having a drink after a long days work.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katja Kortmann, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Esplanade
Responded 15 Dec 2021
Dear Mindausgassarpis2021, thank you very much for your fantastic review! It was a pleasure to read it. We have been very happy that you have recognized our hard work. I hope to see you again. Take care!! All the best! Kind regards, Katja Kortmann
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jamie D wrote a review Mar 2023
St Austell, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was very clean and tidy. Rooms a decent size and comfortable but nothing exciting. However this morning (28th March) when checking out at 5am the male receptionist demanded that I needed to pay for the stay when I had already done this on arrival. After showing him my bank statement showing that the full amount has been paid for he then tried charging me for the Monday night which was 71 euros, again this had been paid as part of the 216 euros for 3 nights! He also tried charging my friend for breakfast on the Sunday and Monday mornings when we hadn't had breakfast at the hotel at all. Not sure if the man was making a general error or he was trying to scam us, but BE WARNED when staying at this hotel. Make sure you get a copy of the receipt and invoice after paying.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katja Kortmann, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Esplanade
Responded 15 Nov 2023
Dear Jamie, thank you very much that you have booked our private run hotel and that you have taken to write a review. I am very sorry that you have been so unhappy with us. I have spoken with my colleague and there must be a big conversation problem. I am really sorry for this misunderstanding. However, I want to make clear that it is not right to warn people. Kind regards, Katja Kortmann Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roam46641 wrote a review Feb 2024
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is near the city center.
The Location is the only good thing.
Rooms - dusty and very noisy, feels like you sleep on the road.
Breakfast - below avarage, cheap coffee and lack of variety.
Stuff - not well trained
Just for few pounds more you can have much bette hotel
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katja Kortmann, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Esplanade
Responded 3 Apr 2024
Dear Roam, unfortunately, you have not enjoy your stay in our hotel. I am sorry for this. You have written this review under a secret name so that we are not able to talk about your review. I am really sorry that you think that everything is bad here. According to our other reviews you can see that we always try to make the best of our guests' stay. We are offering all varieties of coffee such as capuccino, Latte Macchiatto - I am not sure what you mean. Have you been in our hotel? I would be really happy if you could contact us again to help yourself and us to find a solution. Kind regards, Katja Kortmann General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trikoJerusalemIsrael wrote a review Nov 2022
Jerusalem Israel
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a typical German small, clean hotel - located close to the central train station. Friendly reception at the front desk. The lounge is very small. Located in the Ruhr Region The internal designer covered the walls with dark photographs depicting coal mining scenes, which is somewhat depressing.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ewu906451 wrote a review Dec 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my second stay. My previous stay made a good impression.The time the room was cold, can't change the heating. Distances to train stations are good, except the dodgy street in front of it. In general the stay was O.K.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katja Kortmann, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Esplanade
Responded 21 Dec 2023
Dear Ewu, thank you very much that you have reviewed us and that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I am very sorry that you have been freezed in our room. :-( The street ... :-( However, I am in contact with the city to try my luck to improve the situation. Please be sure I do my best. I wish you a MERRY CHRISTMAS and a HAPPY NEW YEAR! Kind regards, Katja Kortmann Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ala G wrote a review Jan 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are clean, beds comfortable and staff are helpful and polite. Close with a walking distance of 10 minutes to square with restaurants and bars. Can walk to hotel from Train Station (15 minutes walk). Good area and plenty of shops around.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for room NOT facing main road
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard K wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I don't usually write reviews but the staff were excellent and very helpful especially as I didn't know any German. The room was excellent value and ideally situated from the city and close to the metro links. Would definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katja Kortmann, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Esplanade
Responded 15 Nov 2023
Dear Richard, thank you so much that you have been our guest, that you have taken time to write us this incredible nice review. Thank you so much. What should I say more - THANK YOU!! I am really happy! See you very soon again, Kind Regards, Katja Kortman Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Guy H wrote a review Jul 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hotel , the staff made it everyone of them first class !

We arrived during a heat wave and were very grateful for the air on in the rooms .

Nice courtyard to sit in and drink beer and chat.

Had a lovely breakfast every morning . The young lady in there looked after us superbly .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Bed in the room is a small double so if your big get a room each.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Guy H wrote a tip Jul 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bed in the room is a small double so if your big get a room each."
Read full review
Ala G wrote a tip Jan 2022
9 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for room NOT facing main road"
Read full review
Iain N wrote a tip Dec 2014
West Lothian, United Kingdom51 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Executive rooms on the top floor offer a good level of comfort"
Read full review
bikeman_meop wrote a tip Aug 2014
Meopham, England, United Kingdom29 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms people stayed in were good but if you wanted a quieter one avoid the one's overlooking the courtyard"
Read full review
skg2503 wrote a tip Feb 2014
Mumbai, India26 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"They do offer smoking rooms but not on the first class category. Only in the lower category."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dortmund area.
PRICE RANGE
S$114 - S$198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
top hotel dortmund, dortmund top hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Akzent Hotel Esplanade
LOCATION
GermanyNorth Rhine-WestphaliaDortmund
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ESPLANADE: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 144 Photos (Dortmund, Germany) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Esplanade
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Esplanade?
Nearby attractions include Gamer (0.4 km), TeamCrack DORTMUND - Live Escape Game Room (0.3 km), and The Code Agency Dortmund (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Esplanade?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Esplanade?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Esplanade?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Esplanade?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Esplanade?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nhy Star, Brauhaus Wenkers, and FOOD BROTHER.
Is Hotel Esplanade located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Dortmund.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Esplanade?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Esplanade?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Esplanade offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Esplanade?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, and Serbian.
All Dortmund HotelsDortmund Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DortmundHotels near Hotel Esplanade
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire