We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Essen City Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Essen City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 86: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Essen City Centre
 Click to rate
Oslo
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were just looking for a place to stay, between Dortmund and Düsseldorf. Since I had an IHG card, this Hotel had a good location and a very reasonable price! The restaurant had ok food but extremely slow service. Nice rooms, easy parking in the GarageBand and very friendly staff at the front desk!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SureOslo
Amsterdam
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Slightly outdated in terms of the room decoration. Excellent location, in the center, very close to shopping mall and restaurants. Friendly staff. Price for the room, breakfast and parking - just too expensive. Constant noise from outside even in back-side rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiamiKeyWest
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear MiamiKeyWest, Thank you for your candid review and for staying with us. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive. It's lovely to hear you found our location excellent and our staff friendly. On the other hand, I regret the room decoration and the outside noise impacted your stay. Your feedback is extremely important and your review provided valuable...

Gdansk, Poland
Reviewed 6 March 2017

I`ve spent 17 nights in this hotel. I must say I`m very satisfied with staying in Holiday Inn. I would like to thank you staff for making it so nice! Breakfast were very rich. Sauna and fitness helped me move a bit after all day in office. Very central location to city center enable me to walk around in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
Ulrich S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, wow - thank you much for that kind feedback. We will be happy to share it with the entire team. We are very happy about your feedback, especially as you have been a guest for 17 nights. We hope to welcome you again very soon. With kind regards Ulrich Schreiber, Guest Review Team

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Always stay here when in Essen Nice helpful friendly folks and the location central and a walk to the shopping Centre Limbecker Platz which is great when the weather not so friendly Has nice clean rooms and Aircon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne W
Ulrich S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding our Holiday Inn Essen City Centre. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and we hope to welcome you again very soon. With kind regards Ulrich Schreiber, Guest Review Team

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for an event at essen messe. Great location. Right next to a shopping mall and loads of restaurants. Had a super service. Great you can park right at the hotel. Will be back next year again for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
Ulrich S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are very happy that you had a comfortable stay with us. We will be happy to share your feedback with the entire team and we are looking forward to welcome you again next year! With kind regards, Ulrich Schreiber - Guest Review Team

Greven
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

As a Spire member expected more attention, no welcome as Spire no welcome gift etc. Seems to be an older hotel not really comfortable and new. Breakfast was middle range Location middle in the city Centre close to the tube Price was ok

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JacDab
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Hi JacDab! Greetings from the Holiday Inn Essen - City Centre! Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and going out of your way to share your feedback. Thank you for the overall satisfactory rating you gave us and for finding value in our pricing. On the other hand, I'm sorry to learn that you found our property...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This must be the noisiest hotel in history - right by a main road junction surrounded by buildings that make the road into an echo chamber. Wonderful if you want to listen to the Traffic Light Grand Prix all night and delightful if you enjoy listening to truck drivers demonstrating their gear-crunching. Avoid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mausoptik
Ulrich S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review. To be honest we are a bit confused about your feedback as there are no traffic lights DIRECTLY at the hotel. Could it be that you have stayed at the other Holiday Inn hotel here in Essen, the Holiday Inn Express Essen City Centre? Depending on the location...

Reston, Virginia
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Stayed here on Business. Perfect location - 1.2 KM from Central Station (Hbf) across from the mall (Limbecker Platz) and Shopping thoroughfare. Rooms are good with wifi. Restaurant has decent dining experience and small bar. Overall good property to stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SKU1970
Ulrich S, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay with us and you have been satisfied with our complimentary wifi. We would be happy to welcome you again very soon. With kind regards, Ulrich Schreiber-Guest Review Team

Lelystad, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We recently stayed for an overnight here during the Christmas market. The hotel was clean and the staff at the front desk was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was on the first floor and on the side away from major traffic. There was still a bit of street noise as the street loops around the hotel. Also on this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whouwhoami
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Outdated hotel, with a very small outdated bathroom. We had a roadside room on the first floor, which was very noisy. Caused by the big road nearby and the smokers outside under your window. Our room was way to hot, even with all the heaters out it stayed hot and that wasn't caused by the gluhwein. The location is nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Essen City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Steven J, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and going out of your way to leave you thoughts. I am happy with your commendations for our cordial hotel staff members and I am glad our location is convenient for your itinerary. On the other hand, I am sorry to know that our hotel...

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Stadtkern
InterCityHotel Essen
InterCityHotel Essen
#13 of 68 in Essen
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#6 of 68 in Essen
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel Holiday Inn Essen City Centre is located in the city centre of Essen, only 200 m from the shopping zone and 300 m from the Colosseum theatre away. The hotel Holiday Inn Essen City Centre offers 168 comfortable, large rooms and appartments. All rooms of the hotel Holiday Inn Essen City Centre are equipped with sound-absorbing windows, direct dial telephone, radio, satellite-TV, 'Pay-TV' free of charge, minibar, hair dryer and a free coffee- and tea bar. WiFi is complimentary for all our guests without any device or time limit. 50% of the rooms are equipped with air condition. Five multifunctional banqueting rooms present the ideal conditions for conferences and banquets up to 99 persons. In the restaurant Amaroso you will be offered local specialities and international cooking-highlights before or after enjoying a cold drink in our lobby bar or our summer terrace. If you wish to relax, you are welcome to our sauna and mini gym - for our guests free of charge. The underground parking lot is equipped for up to 60 cars. We are looking forward to welcome you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Essen City Centre

Address: Frohnhauser Str. 6, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Price Range: $92 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Essen City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Essen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Essen City Centre Hotel Essen
Essen Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Essen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Essen City Centre staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Devon, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Lisburn, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Essen City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher than the first floor”
whouwhoami, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Certain rooms on the backside face a area that has commercial trash disposal areas including glass.”
Expat_American, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the back of the hotel”
isobelo2013, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want AC, must book non-standard room”
Rast67, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No real views here so try for a suite is best. Gives more room.”
  • Lounge / desk area
  • Bedroom
  • Small bathroom with step in shower. Adequate.
  • View out window. Forgettable.
peterperfect2, 31 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5