We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen

    Am Stadtgarten 1, 45879 Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    27/08/2017 28/08/2017
    US$93
    US$90
    SAVE US$3
    US$93
    US$90
    SAVE US$3
    US$93
    Traveller (84)
    Room & Suite (66)
    Dining (8)
    Overview
    • Excellent13%
    • Very good43%
    • Average34%
    • Poor7%
    • Terrible3%
    Travellers talk about
    “the pub” (7 reviews)
    “stayed here” (9 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast Buffet
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Multilingual Staff
    Pets Allowed
    Spa
    Accessible rooms
    Business Centre
    Dry Cleaning
    Self-Serve Laundry
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen
    Deals (9)
    27 Aug28 Aug
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Classic Double Room (Free WiFi)
      US$93US$90
      View Deal
    • Classic Double Room
      US$93US$90
      View Deal
    • Classic Double Room
      US$93
      View Deal
    View all 9 deals from US$90
    Ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof
    525 reviews
    #9 of 67 hotels in Essen
     
    Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
    512 reviews
    #1 of 67 hotels in Essen
     
    Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen
    419 reviews
    #2 of 14 hotels in Gelsenkirchen
     
    Courtyard Gelsenkirchen
    193 reviews
    #1 of 14 hotels in Gelsenkirchen
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (245)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    1 - 5 of 67 reviews

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    Receptionist was unkind and not helpful. We arrived with 3 kids, stroller etc. We had stairs to climb although it said it was accessible for disabled people! No indication how. The room was under the (poorly insulated ) roof and had no airco. It was...More

    Thank mattrips
    Response from Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel GelsenkirchenResponded 4 weeks ago

    Dear guest, Thank you for your honest words. We are very sorry that you did not feel comfortable with us at all. We agree that a renovation would do our house well. We do not have air conditioning, but this is mentioned in our hotel...More

    Reviewed 12 July 2017

    Stayed here for a concert at Veltins Arena. Bed was not comfortable but other amenities were reasonable. We ate at the restaurant in the lobby and we enjoyed the Schnitzel. The hotel bar was very busy late at night after the concert and was the...More

    Thank Steve J
    Response from Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel GelsenkirchenResponded 5 weeks ago

    Dear guest, thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to evaluate your stay. We are delighted for your praise and recognition for our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again here in Gelsenkirchen. With best regards Maritim...More

    Reviewed 2 July 2017

    Stayed here a few times now. I think the last time will be my last. If you don't have breakfast included they will charge you about €15. The hotel was built in the 1970's and seems like it hasn't been updated since... It is very...More

    Thank Billysouthwales
    Response from Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel GelsenkirchenResponded 4 July 2017

    Dear guest, Thank you for your honest words. We are very sorry that you did not feel comfortable with us at all. We agree that a renovation would do our house well. We do not have air conditioning, but this is mentioned in our hotel...More

    Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

    Stayed here on a business trip and enjoyed my stay. The rooms were big enough, clean and the breakfast selection was decent enough. The location is good since the centre as well as the train station can be reached by foot in a few minutes....More

    Thank drduduktreha
    Response from Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel GelsenkirchenResponded 23 June 2017

    Dear guest, we do not want to miss this opportunity to thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking your time to evaluate your stay. Our hotel is from the first generation of Maritim hotels and therefore cannot compete with a newly built...More

    Reviewed 18 June 2017

    I stayed here as a part of a tour group. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with plenty of walking tracks. The room was spacious but very dated , including the bathroom, but the bed was comfortable. Buffet breakfast was very nice with a...More

    Thank Pauline K
    Response from Direktion-SGE, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel GelsenkirchenResponded 19 June 2017

    Dear guest, Thank you very much for your positive post. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Kind regards from Gelsenkirchen

    Ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof
    525 reviews
    #9 of 67 hotels in Essen
     
    Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
    512 reviews
    #1 of 67 hotels in Essen
     
    Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen
    419 reviews
    #2 of 14 hotels in Gelsenkirchen
     
    Courtyard Gelsenkirchen
    193 reviews
    #1 of 14 hotels in Gelsenkirchen
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Spa
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Laundry Service
    • Banquet Room
    • Conference Facilities
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Room amenities
    • Minibar
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$96 - US$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites ,
    • Accessible rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Smoking rooms available
    • Number of rooms
    • 222
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maritim Hotel Gelsenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Germany >
    • North Rhine-Westphalia >
    • Gelsenkirchen >
    • Altstadt
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (84)
    Room & Suite (66)
    Dining (8)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (44)
    Bathroom (14)
    Nearby
    Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
    512 reviews
    9.18 km away
     
    Ibis Essen Hauptbahnhof
    525 reviews
    7.88 km away
     
    Courtyard Gelsenkirchen
    193 reviews
    5.52 km away
     
    Ibis Hotel Gelsenkirchen
    419 reviews
    .96 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Ristorante Trulli
    191 reviews
    .64 km away
    Pizzeria La Tombola
    46 reviews
    .63 km away
    Goldene Gans
    21 reviews
    .55 km away
    Pizzeria Regina
    18 reviews
    .57 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Zoom Erlebniswelt
    443 reviews
    3.93 km away
    Zollverein Coal Mine Industrial Complex in Essen
    971 reviews
    4.02 km away
    Veltins Arena
    373 reviews
    5.17 km away
    Nordsternpark
    45 reviews
    4.48 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    David R
    21 November 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Nicholas G | Reviewed this property |
    As far as I know there is not 24/7 access. In Germany this is rare to find, only in some sports chains. I only remember the pool. I have not used any sports equipment here. But there is a great park right outside for Jogging... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "View to the park...."
    Read review
    "High floor with park views."
    Read review
    "Try and get a room looking over the Park."
    Read review
    "Seventh floor, overlooking the park, perfect."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing