We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 188: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

nice hotel with nice spa and nice garden hotel was very clean. staff very friendly very good service. at very good location it's in the middle of estepona and marbella near lidl will be back thank you for great holidays

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa9519
BarceloEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa, responded to this review

Dear "lisa9519", We show you our gratitude to your comment and gentle words that I can assured, motivates us all, to keep on working in the constant improvement of our services and facilities with the only intention and final goal of offering our guests a wonderful experience when staying in Barcelo Estepona. Kind regards, Pablo Canca General Manager

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Just back from a 3 night stay at the hotel and it was great. The staff were all incredibly helpful and very friendly. Our superior double room was fantastic, clean, really comfy bed and nice balcony overlooking the pool. I've seen many reviews of people moaning about the location but we found it great as access to the main roads...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LBonafont
BarceloEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa, responded to this review

Dear "LBonafont", We are glad to read that you had a great time here with us, enjoying our treat, the facilities and the surroundings and specially I want to thank you for taking the time to share it with everybody, then we are just looking forward to receiving you back soon with our smiles and good will to offer you...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We were treated like royalty. The Spa is amazing. The room was very large with a great view of the pool area. Wi-Fi was strong service. The staff were very helpful all the time. Fresh water on arrival in reception is a nice touch

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mulcahyc
BarceloEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa, responded to this review

Dear "mulcahyc", On behalf of the entire team, I want to thank you for openly sharing your experience in Barcelo Estepona and we hope to welcome you back here, soon so that you can keep on enjoying all our services and facilities. Best regards, Pablo Canca General Manager

Gibraltar
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My partner and I had a wonderful time, the staff are very polite and helpful and the hotel offers so much that you always have something to do. It was a very comfortable and relaxing weekend away. We will definitely be returning!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roberts K
BarceloEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa, responded to this review

Dear "Roberts K", On behalf of the entire team, first of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comment and give us your feedback which we value very much as it is the source of any action that we may take in order to improve our services and/ or facilities which at the...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

we were misled by the Travel agent Thomas Cook who informed us the Spa was included and didn't include the dreadful location basically on top of the A7 motoway staff very good food ok poolfreezing cold was hardly used for this reason

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colet243
BarceloEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa, responded to this review

Dear "colet243", I am sorry we did not fully cover your expectations, however you can rest assured that I have already passed your comments and suggestions to the whole team, in order to make us all aware of your opinion. Nevertheless we are taking your words into serious consideration with the unique intention of improving our services, our facilities and...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Overall its a lovely hotel but in a poor location. For the pricing it was not good value. You have to pay extra for use of the Spa, Parking and basics such as Water with your Lunch and Dinner. The Tea & Coffee machine is working in the mornings but switched off at Lunch and Dinner, therefore you also have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dowlif
BarceloEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa, responded to this review

Dear "dowlif", On behalf of the entire team, first of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, which we value very much as it is the source of any action that we may take in order to improve our services and/ or facilities that at the end of the day help us...

Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Once you have paid for your room you don't expect to have to pay for car parking. The smell in the small room before the parking was dreadful and you had to hold your breath and run it was so bad. We thought we had booked a good hotel but it was past its best. Shame for the staff who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline P
BarceloEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa, responded to this review

Dear "Jacqueline P", We are honestly sorry to read your comment, this is evident that we could not cover your expectations in this occasion and we are sorry for that, however, I must say: we had an extraordinary situation, not usual at all, that affected the entrance of the parking with that smell. Again, we are sorrry for the inconvenience....

scotland
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This hotel was excellent. A bit of a drive from Malaga airport but worth it. Lovely beach across the road. There is a walk way over the road so don't worry about crossing. The beach is unspoiled and you can walk for miles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dolly20561
BarceloEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa, responded to this review

Dear "dolly20561", We are so glad to read you enjoyed your stay, not only in our hotel but also visiting the surroundings beaches and the nice weather. We really look forward to welcoming you soon here in Barcelo Estepona. Best Regards, Pablo Canca General Manager

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Everything was great apart from the food... Breakfast food is all cold, including all of the "hot" food left under the heat lamps. The buffet in the evening was exactly the same and over priced for what it was. I would recommend it as a place to stay but eat elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rfergus27
BarceloEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa, responded to this review

Dear "rfergus27", We are really sorry for the incident you describe, I can assured that is not usual at all and we have both, the Maintenance team and the Chef with his team, watching and fixing any possible equipment malfunction and/ or any deviation in our procedures and standards as we are really into offering a great service and overall...

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is definitely a good choice for both young and elderly. Even though the hotel is next to A-7 it is not noisy and has easy access to the beach or close by cities. For a taxi to Estepona we paid about 13-15 euro/way (8 km). There are taxis outside the hotel all day long. We had 1 week...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cristina A
BarceloEsteponaGM, Director General at Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa, responded to this review

Dear "Cristina A", We are glad you enjoyed your stay and for adding some tips for incoming potential guests who, for sure, will appreciate them very much. We take your comment and advices into account when improving our services and facilities. Looking forward to receiving you back again, Best Regards, Pablo Canca General Manager

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (85)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estepona hotels
13.8 km away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
0.7 km away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#3 of 36 in Estepona
423 reviews
14.6 km away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
12.4 km away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 36 in Estepona
1,192 reviews
2.0 km away
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
Senator Banus Spa Hotel
#6 of 36 in Estepona
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa

Address: Carretera Nacional 340 Km 165, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Estepona
Price Range: $132 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selenza Estepona Thalasso And Spa
Selenza Estepona Thalasso & Spa Hotel Estepona
Selenza Estepona Thalasso Hotel
Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa Costa Del Sol
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estepona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Estepona
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Estepona
#7 Spa Hotel in Estepona
#9 Family Hotel in Estepona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Occidental Estepona Thalasso & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most of the rooms have balconies with a reasonable view and the A C is really good”
 of 5 bubbles 332jackc, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I got the cheapest room and it was superb”
 of 5 bubbles BernadettegS5465YN, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not there long enough to say”
 of 5 bubbles 0775KIMB30, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“pool view if you can”
 of 5 bubbles soccermadmb, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face the road”
 of 5 bubbles njwoodhouse1, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay