We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Makuto Guesthouse Hostel

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Start your review of Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
 Click to rate
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

" Difficile de faire mieux." Only the breakfeast was simple but for all team and place are wonderfull... It s a friendly place for all generations and nice people to meet. The city tour it s a nice moment just pefect to start a nice night with the others

Thank monteurdours
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

amazing, best hostel ever!! I was a shy solo traveler but made friends and the best experience in Granada because of this hostel! The directions on the website on how to get there were very clear so i had no problem, but make sure you have them printed or written down before trying to get there. On arrival they brought...

Thank Julia L
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came with our group of ten teens. Makuto provides the greatest hostel experience. Quaint and fun, with the little courtyard to eat, relax play music and hang out! Only qualm: need sheets with elastics that will stay on the bed!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Playa del Ingles, Spain
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Hi, i am checking in on april 25 just want to let you know i can not wait to come here. Looking forward to the tour and just being on holiday. I know how one bad review can bring you down, i also know people are not always honest and sometimes spread lies but i don't care. I saw this...

Thank KimCanaria
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the four-people room with ensuite bathroom. The bathroom light was tricky, but the room had plenty of light and ventilation. The common areas are really cozy, even in the winter. Their walking tour, which ends at the caves in Sacromonte, was a really out-of-the-box experience for us. The neighborhood is picturesque, but the streets to...

Thank Monica J
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

The hostel is much worse than what the reviews are really are. I've been traveling for almost half a year in europe, this isn't gonna even make it to one of my top 50 hostels. Stayed there for few nights, wouldn't recommend staying there honestly. The hostel is considerably more expensive and overpriced compared to others in Granada, for no...

Thank Yoav L
Sonia S, Propietario at Makuto Guesthouse Hostel, responded to this review

You were super happy with the hostel extending nights every day until you slept last night in the house of a girl that you met at night, and tried not to pay your accommodation in the hostel claiming that you had not slept there. Deceiving us saying that you checked out but keeping the hostel key, your things in the...

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

The hostel is really lovely and the people working there is really kind and helpful. They make free tours that include the best views to Granada and the Alhambra. They also made an optional dinner that was really nice and cheap. They have a bar where you can drink beers and wine, and a chill out zone to watch movies...

Thank Lautaro A
Zaragoza, Spain
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Makuto doesn't prepare its guests for this, but you have to trudge up steep, cobblestone hills to get there, so having a suitcase is a very bad idea. I would've appreciated a warning so I could've booked elsewhere. They sent a long email with directions on the day of my reservation, which--since I had no data--I couldn't access, so I...

1Thank kahutch1214
Islamabad, Pakistan
Reviewed 16 December 2016

I had a great time at Makuto! Very helpful staff, a great walking tour of Mirador and Sacromonte, and a delicious dinner. The hostel is uphill in the Albaicin, which is an area worth exploring itself. However, if an uphill climb isn't your thing, this is not for you. The rooms were clean and the 4-bedroom dorm has its own...

1Thank Hassan M
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

I am to Makuto after staying at an Air BnB in town. When I had walked a friend to his hostel they were extremely welcoming to me as a non-guest to join (and pay appropriately) on some activities, meals, and spend time with my friend. After my paid nights at the Air BnB I quickly switched to be a part...

Thank Kodee317

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (64)
View from Room (8)
Family/Play Areas (8)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Bathroom (4)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (63)
Room/Suite (27)
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Family/Play Areas (4)
Bathroom (2)
Dining (2)
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#15 of 125 in Granada
929 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
901 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Granada Inn Backpackers
Granada Inn Backpackers
#6 of 139 in Granada
362 reviews
White Nest Hostel Granada
White Nest Hostel Granada
#10 of 139 in Granada
298 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
El Granado
El Granado
#2 of 97 in Granada
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tired of crappy accommodations and impersonal hotels? Come stay in our backpacker 's hostel and enjoy a new concept of lodging. Hammocks - Chill Out area - Tree House - Wifi and Internet - Kitchen - Bar - Patio - BBQ and Lots of fun! Makuto Guesthouse Hostel is a charming historic mansion located in the oldest and most attractive neighborhood of Granada, the Albaicin. Moroccan markets, sunny plazas, amazing viewpoints ... Come and discover the perfect mix of classic Moorish architecture with a unique touch of character; find yourself in a relaxing and informal atmosphere, perfect for independent travelers. Loved by travelers for its location, personality and the most friendly, relaxed and chilled out atmosphere. Our friendly and multi-lingual hostel staff will welcome you and provide best tips for you to experience the life of Granada outside of the typical 'tourist attractions'. Makuto Guesthouse Hostel Granada offers a home away from home and we'd love to have you join our backpacker's family. Come and stay with us. Turn your trip into an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Makuto Guesthouse Hostel

Address: Calle Tina 18 | Barrio Albaicin, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Price Range: $30 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Makuto Guesthouse Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Makuto Guesthouse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Makuto Guesthouse Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Makuto Guesthouse Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the vip room was perfect”
monteurdours, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for a low bed if you plan on drinking”
A3303QGjulial, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room by the toilets so you don't have to walk across the whole courtyard to pee at night.”
Alex33388, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Put fans on before going to bed so you don't wake people up suddenly”
Corinne_TSV, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“the all girls dorm is way bigger than the other rooms but it can be quite a hike to get to your bed.”
, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$36* /night
View Deal
View all 6 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates