We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ideal Youth Hostel

Booking.comUS$57*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Ideal Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Start your review of Ideal Youth Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location very close to the Ramblas. Nice staf, but very poor kitchen with no cutlery, only plastic dishes and only 2 microwaves, nothing to cook properly. No wi-fi in the rooms, only one electric plug in a room of 10 beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giulia B
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed there for two nights and had our own room which was a bit small but clean. The terrace on the roof is really really cool to chill and meet people. The situation of the hostel is perfect, right next to Las Ramblas. We had to do the check out at 11 but our flight was only at 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexdemonciale
Salvo G, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for giving us your positive feedback about our hostel! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona. We hope to see you again in our city. Kind regards from the staff.

UK
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

God what a dump one night was more than enough. Whole place including room looked like prison. Metal crap bed, shower cabin so small you could not move. Dirty noisy located in bad area by main road. Terrace neglected with very old furniture. Never again. Stay away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory1980
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

It's located in a very bad area where there aren't any locals, populated by drunks, a ghetto for tourists. The good and nice areas aren't close to Las Ramblas. Claustrophobic. Very dark, very little natural light. Tiny rooms. Stinking. The common areas don't have windows so nobody wants to spend time there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcos O
Reputation M, Angie Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear customer, we appreciate your taking the time to write a review of our hostel. We understand that each client has their own opinions. In this case we understand that it is your personal opinion that we do not share. Ideal Youth Hostel is an experienced hostel located in the heart of Barcelona. The industrial and functional decoration is in...

Reviewed 9 January 2017

Great location, bang smack on las ramblas,close to main attractions, pier and beach 15 minute walk. very little noise for recovering sore heads. Very clean and friendly staff. Could do with some extra cultlery and maybe a WiFi update! Price is good for a European city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emer C
ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for giving us your positive feedback about our hostel! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona. We hope to see you again in our city. Kind regards from the staff.

Wijchen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Looks rather shabby from the outside, and it gets only marginally better within. Does the trick. The beds were a bit noisy when turning around, as the bed is more or less a sheet of metal that clunks every time you turn. The room size was ok, we stayed in a 4-person room with private bathroom. Never seen such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tpjansen
Reputation M, Receptionist at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for having taken the time to share your observations about our hostel, your point of view is very important to us. We would like to inform you that the size of our bathrooms and their equipments, are in the standards of youth hostels. Remember that the reception is opened to resolve all the customer’s issues in order...

Reviewed 4 November 2016

The place is good to stay. I stayed there for 2 nights in a 10 bed room and I had a great time. The beds are good. It is cheap, the location is perfect and staff are nice. The best thing there I think it is the location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariana F
Reputation M, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for giving us your positive feedback about our hostel! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Barcelona. We hope to see you again in our city. Kind regards from the staff.

Reviewed 1 November 2016

It's one of the worst places I've stayed at. It's not clean, the facility is very old and dirty. The staff are not friendly either. Great location thought. I don't recommend this place. Everything is broken in this building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elsa A
ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for having taken the time to share your observations about our hostel. In this case we understand it is your personal opinion which we don’t share. Our cleaning staff do their rounds every day, but in case you find any trouble you can go to the reception and ask for a double check, we'll solve it! We...

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

IYH offers a fine bed to sleep on. However the hostel is very difficult to find and is not well marked-I walked right past it the first time! Inside, the common room isn't set up in a very social setting. The couches are cubed in a way that you can sit with your group, but doesn't leave a very inviting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittany J
ideal y, reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

ideal y, Reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review Dear guest, thank you for taking your time writing a comment to our hostel. We consider every customer has their own opinions. In this case we understand it is your personal opinion which we don’t share. Ideal Youth Hostel is located at the Heart of Barcelona City. Our...

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I am giving it three stars and not less because the staff is really friendly and helpful and the location is great next to the Ramblas. However, even though the hostel has great potential it needs some renovations. I know the price could be considered according to the installations but some things are, in my opinion, not accepted even if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mafalditus
ideal y, reception desk at Ideal Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for comment, your opinion is very important for us. We'd like to remind you there are some services (soap) we do not provide, staying in a hostel is a different experience! About the plugs, we'd like to remind you there are multi plug sockets at the reception which you can ask for! We assure you that...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Kabul Hostel
Kabul Hostel
#79 of 721 in Barcelona
933 reviews
El Raval
Center Rambles Youth Hostel
Center Rambles Youth Hostel
#558 of 721 in Barcelona
180 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#134 of 721 in Barcelona
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal MiMi Las Ramblas
Hostal MiMi Las Ramblas
#208 of 721 in Barcelona
51 reviews
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
El Raval
Be Sound Hostel
Be Sound Hostel
#353 of 721 in Barcelona
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in El Raval

Neighbourhood Profile
El Raval
Once a downtrodden corner of downtown Barcelona, this gritty area has seen a cultural resurgence boasting an excellent nightlife and one of the most multi ethnic spots in the entire city. A sense of humble authenticity protrudes from the many independent record stores, second hand shops, and student bars that seem to light up the streets day and night. The rocking epicenter, the MACBA Plaça, is a modern day forum for bohemian youth, abuzz with the sights and sounds of late-night gatherings and talented skateboarders showing off their latest tricks.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ideal Youth Hostel opened in the year 2000 in a typical Barcelona city-centre-style building. It's an experienced hostel located near the famous La Rambla and next to the Opera House.The traditional historical appearance of the façade has been maintained, while the interior is modern with a minimal industrial look, including silver concrete walls and coloured neon lights.We try to cater to both single backpackers as well as groups, offering all that you need to help you enjoy your stay in the city.Accommodation is offered in single rooms and private or shared rooms for two, four, six, eight or ten people. Most of the rooms have their own balcony, individual WC and free hot showers. Furthermore, the hostel provides individual lockers in each room, free of charge.We also offer a terrace, linen, vending machines, self-service laundrette, microwave and fridge and a lounge in which you can relax.Upon request, half- or full-board meals and lunch boxes are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ideal Youth Hostel

Address: Unio,10-12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Price Range: $37 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ideal Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideal Youth Hotel Barcelona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ideal Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Ideal Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to ask for a room at the front, i.e. on the mainroad. They have tiny balconies, and that helps! (Thus the rooms are small)”
EvaUH, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I liked my small room with private shower.”
77lesyat, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try to book a room on one of the lower floors as the wifi may reach these rooms - we were on level 2 & just managed to get connected.”
nicolaj135, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“take a room in lower floors, you might get wifi”
825kushg, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I was able to use WIFI on the first floor.”
MKer_12, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$57* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$63
Priceline
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates