We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sun & Moon Hostel

Official SiteUS$46*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$51*
US$46*
Great Deal
US$51*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sun & Moon Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of Sun & Moon Hostel
 Click to rate
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We reserved a triple private room for the weekend. The location of this hostel is good and the rooms are big even if the bathroom is really old, not confortable and not well cleaned. The private rooms are not part of the main structure and there was no wi-fi. The strange and annoying thing is that there was a storage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23emma83
Soroe, Denmark
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I have ny own room. Woke up at 2 in The middle of the night. Now 5.05. Noisy. Can hear everything. Other guests having sexual intercourse, vomiting, loud music and doors constantly slamming!!! Cannont wait till the night is over! I will stay in my room till the night is over.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mettestettin
infosun, Propietario at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sorry that you had to go through this experience however, the reception staff was willing to change you rooms and you didnt give us the opportunity to solve the matter. You booked a room in the centre of Barcelona - it is normal to have noise around. no doors were slamming as there are only 2 more rooms...

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Small and dirty room, super dirty blanket and cover, I even found some bugs on my bed (OMG). Dirty kitchen and smell fluorine everywhere that makes me feel like hospital. Have to rent blanket and cover. The most uncomfortable thing: I book a bed in a mix domitory room 8 beds and shared bathroom and toilets. The reception told me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nhu Quynh N
infosun, Propietario at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and very sorry that you had a bad experience in the hostel. Firstly, let us say that there are **No** bed bugs in the hostel, not in the rooms. The kitchen, rooms and all common areas are clean every day - if you saw that it was not clean enough - as we...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2016

The good: The staff were lovely and accomodating. The location is prime right near la rambla and nearby many good restuarants, nightlife and transport. We booked a private room with bathroom which was large and clean. The not so good: The whole hostel was full of children/teenagers which was a massive disappointment as being in our 20s we had no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephilyy
infosun, Owner at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed the stay in our hostel. We are glad that your exprgirnce in a hostel was successful. As regards having young guests, we also accommodate school, universities and colleges. Therefore, we need to be flexible and share the facilities with them. We hope you come back and...

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

It would take me a whole week to expain the horror of this place. "Disgusting" is what describes this hostel best. There is no hygiene. The blankets and beds were dirty. The ground was full of hair and the shower is worse than a public bathroom. I am ashamed really. I can't understand how this place can still be open.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Federica B
infosun, Owner at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Federica Thank you for your comment. We are very shocked at your review as none of guests have ever said such thing. If you experience this, please show us while you are here in the hostel so we can solve the problems. We don't want our guests to feel uncomfortable. Cleaning of the rooms and sheets/blankets are done every...

Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

The only one good side is location! You have less than 100 methers to La Rambla, and around 5-10 minutes to the almost every important point of the city. Rooms are awful, small, dirty, without soap and toilet paper. Beds are small, uncomfortable, and you must rent bed sheets with price of about 4 euros in total for one night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Димитрије К
infosun, Owner at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comment. We are sorry you didnt enjoy your stay here. The rooms are being renovated to bring the best possible atmosphere and comfort. Please note that the extra charges are already stated in each site for your information. Regards, Sun & Moon hostel

Reviewed 16 November 2016

Dirty room, clogged shower, no toilet paper nor soap the 1st night, blanket for additional cost, the room was not cleaned during the stay. The location is great, but not a good value despite being relatively cheap. Anybody can come in, no strict rules concerning the noise and drunk people in the lobby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dajana N
infosun, Owner at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Rooms are cleaned every day and toilet paper, soap is provided. As informed during check in time we have cleaning 24 hours service and we are concerned of our guests comfort every day. Additional costs such as blanket, are already stated in each website. Please do read them before for your own information. Regards, Sun & Moon hostel

Salou, Spain
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Group of friends spending the weekend in the big city. Great location right in the heart of Barcelona just off the famous Rambla. We all stayed in the same dorm with private bathroom. Beds were really comfortable and the room was spotless! Lovely shower, too. And breakfast included for a very good price. Staff were very friendly and willing to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajgarcia50
infosun, Owner at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the hostel. Please come back again :) Regards Sun & Moon hostel

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

This place is an overcrowded and bedbug infested "hotel". The cleaning here is not very good to say the least, it just sticks of chlorine and does not really get into the conors. The breakfast is so bad, don't even bother buying it, you are so much better of buying it of the street. There is a room located right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mads h
infosun, Owner at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all it's important to clear out that the statement you are making is totally false. The hostel is not infested. The rooms are clean every day and checked too. Breakfast consists of a variety of different things: yoghurt, jam, butter, cereals, milk, coffeee, juices, bread, and much more. Plus, it's free. So please stop making false accusations....

holland
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Barcelona in a amazing city!! I love it!! People in this place are great!! I always meat nice people and make a lot of friends of over the world. Is very centric and near by the beach and the discos... If you are a party person thats great!! Good done!! Thank you!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iru
infosun, Propietario at Sun & Moon Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comment. We hope to see you soon again :) Regards, Sun & Moon hostel

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Uranie Barcelona
Uranie Barcelona
#256 of 754 in Barcelona
37 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
No photo provided
Ginosi Centric Apartel
#438 of 754 in Barcelona
8 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Kabul Hostel
Kabul Hostel
#84 of 754 in Barcelona
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#34 of 754 in Barcelona
411 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#128 of 754 in Barcelona
287 reviews
El Raval
Ideal Youth Hostel
Ideal Youth Hostel
#246 of 754 in Barcelona
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)

Neighbourhood Profile
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
With its iconic, old-Europe streets and alleys, this picturesque neighbourhood is the very heart of Barcelona. It blends historic artifacts from its days under Roman dominion up through the Spanish Civil War with a vibrant modern-day culture of artisan shops and authentic culinary experiences. Avid explorers will be thrilled to discover quaint terraces and plazas brought to life by the many small bars and local musicians lasting late into the night. Fashionistas will be drawn to Portal de L’Angel, which is lined with well-known brand names and smaller boutique stands.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sun & Moon hostel offers the opportunity to stay in the heart of the Gothic Area in Barcelona. Its unsurpassed location will give you the opportunity to find the treasures of the most antique streets, the cathedral, museus, plaza Sant Jaime, Ferran… and much more! If you choose to take one our free walking tours, our colleague will explain you all the legends in an interactive, funny and cool way!Sun & Moon hostel accommodates around 170 people, which means, you can get to know many people daily from around the world with different cultures and styles!We encourage to get to know them in our lobby that is open 24 hours!Our recent renovated, common area, is open 24 hours and has 6 computers with free unlimited Internet connection and Wi-Fi, a kitchen (owen, microwave, fridge), a chill-out zone, TV, music to relax solo and with friends.Before the party starts, we offer Free dinner daily (except drinks). To continue the long night, we organize big parties whereby everyone gets to know each other and see the experiment the famous clubs in Barcelona. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sun & Moon Hostel

Address: 17, Ferran Street, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Price Range: $33 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sun & Moon Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun & Moon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Sun & Moon Hotel Barcelona
Hostel Sun And Moon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sun & Moon Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sun & Moon Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book before your arrival through internet”
874maz, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not book”
, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The upstars rooms are sur quiter !! because the ones down are close to the bar !!”
499fathiy, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Steps to upper beds should be accessible. Worn out mattresses should be replaced.”
dannlogue, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Take a room adjutants to hostel.”
287rajendrag, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Official Site
US$46* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$51
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates