We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chapter Roma Hotel

Via di Santa Maria De' Calderari 47, 186 Rome Italy
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (75)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 01/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Chapter Roma Hotel
Updated 01/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#491 of 1,366 hotels in Rome
Travellers' Choice
If Rome is your oyster, then Chapter Roma’s your bedrock. Find us behind an old door in a narrow side street of Regola. We’re not fancy, and we’re not not-fancy.Glamorous and gritty, the hotel’s public spaces are filled with a mix of classic and contemporary art and graffiti to parallel the creative spirit and energy of the famously vibrant neighborhood, with featuring art by Alice,Cyrcle & Warios
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
62Reviews6Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 9
  • 0
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sally D wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
We stayed here for two nights. I’ll start with the good - the servers and doormen/bellhops were extremely friendly and helpful and did make us feel welcome. 6/5 stars for them!!! The location is central. That’s it. My husband and I travel internationally regularly, and stay at a range of hotels mostly luxury and boutique. This hotel is neither. It’s up to the guest to advocate for themselves because all rooms are definitely not created equal. Two rooms on each floor are directly in front of the noisy stairwell or elevator, and are smaller than advertised for this particular class of room. We paid for the standard “baby double” and were surprised that the room had neither a bar area nor a seating area, as advertised. The front desk is disorganized and doesn’t seem to have any grasp of the concept of hospitality – we were given an objectively lousy room without any sort of consolation and, though they later admitted that the room was subpar and insisted that they “wanted to make it up to us” we never heard anything else about it. Typically, if you’re getting the short end of the stick you get a glass of wine or at the very least an offer to get a drink at the bar. We weren’t even told that there was a bar in the premises, though we did overhear the front desk associate encourage other guests to visit the rooftop bar. Apparently we were not deemed worthy. Breakfast service is wonderful. Breakfast offerings are an absolute joke. The hotel brags about its health food ‘market’ + juice bar yet its breakfast is worse than what I’ve seen at $100/night motels. In Rome/Italy of all places, this hotel serves croissants and pastries that clearly came straight out of a plastic wrapper. The common areas are cheesy and incredibly dated, at best. Filthy, at worst. The hallway carpet was gross. Toiletries were pretty standard but not at all what you would expect from a luxury hotel. Robes were cheap and no slippers (flimsy faux Turkish cotton - what tourists are tricked into buying at the Istanbul airport). On top of being tiny our room was very noisy with hallway traffic and the room next door. Turn down service was nonexistent and housekeeping literally tossed clothes onto different surfaces rather than hang up a hotel robe, for example. We waited to check out because the front desk was checking somebody in at 9 AM. After five minutes I piped up and explained that we had a flight to catch and she brushed us off and refused to help us. Thankfully the couple checking in offered to let us close out - this was just after she offered to show them a map of Rome and point out various sites, despite seeing us anxiously standing in the lobby with our bags. When WE checked in we were given recommendations to an utter tourist trap in Trastevere and, again, not told about the bar or restaurant on site. Rome is a big city. There are countless ‘hip’ hotels to choose from. Don’t choose this one, but if you must then please do tip the servers and doormen because they absolutely deserve it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Jacopo Arosio, Direttore generale at Chapter Roma Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Sally, Thank you for your review and thank you for the positive feedback about our servers and doormans. This is really important to us. Regarding the rest of your comments, I’m really sorry your stay was not to your liking and yes, there are 2 rooms facing the stairwell that can be a little noisier ( like in most hotels to be honest). For the record though, I would like to point out that we did offer you drinks on your first night but your response was that “you were too tired”. The second day ( of your 2 night stay) we offered you to change room but you declined claiming you were leaving the following day. Also I would like to respond to some of your claims that I consider personal opinions rather than factual: - the toiletries you refer to as cheap are actually LA Bruket. You can google the brand and see that they are anything but cheap. Our customers actually rave about the products. - common areas are cheesy and incredibly dated. That sounds strange as the hotel is brand new and opened in May 2019 ( and was also closed a total of 11 months due to covid). Also, the hotel’s design has been awarded numerous recognitions and has been featured in leading interior design publications such as AD, Elle Decor, Surface Magazine, Wallpaper Magazine, etc - Breakfast - our bread and pastries are delivered fresh each morning from Rome’s most famous ( and internationally renowned) baker, ROSCIOLI. - our robes once again are not cheap, they handmade in Turkey and guests like them so much they often buy them from us ( yes they are also on sale). - the slippers are standard hotel slippers and I really see nothing wrong with them. - you refer to us as snobby for not inviting you to the rooftop. I find that a bit excessive. It could have been an oversight from the receptionist checking you in but I don’t think this classifies our staff as snobby. Regarding the hallway carpet (designed by Tom Dixon), we are sorry for the inconvenience. We are aware of these minor stains on the floor 1 landing and of course have tried to take care of this straight away. Unfortunately some stains require deeper shampooing and cleansing that cannot be carried out when the hotel is full. We are going to get this resolved ASAP. Lastly - regarding your checkout, I can’t really comment as I wasn’t present but one would think that a 5 minute wait is not the end of the world and that you being late for a flight isn’t the receptionist’s or the other guest’s fault. Maybe the receptionist could have handled the situation differently ( and better) but please understand that it is also not easy for a receptionist to tell a checking in guest to step aside to favor another guest. Glad anyway you could get this sorted and catch your flight back. Sorry for the lengthy reply but I did want to clarify some points. All this said, we are sorry you weren’t happy with your stay and hope you give us another try if you return to Rome. If you do wish to return please reach out for me directly and I will take care of your reservation personally. Grazie Jacopo Arosio General Manager
Read more
Thomas C wrote a review Sep 2021
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Great corner room with double exposure...great views of Roman red tile rooftops..was on the Fourth floor...felt like we were in a real neighborhood...Staff very pleasent, friendly and professional...breakfast was terrific...good fish tacos and similar Mex food on very pretty rooftop...only slight issue was we had to ask for utensils and plates for our meal..those should come before the yummy food..Rooftop, Front Desk and breakfast staff very friendly...highly recommend...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Response from Jacopo Arosio, Direttore generale at Chapter Roma Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Thomas, thanks a lot for your visit at Chapter Roma and for the lovely review. Your room on the fourth floor is indeed one of my favorite, so cozy and private with the view over the Jewish quarter. I have also taken good note about the utensils to use while eating the tacos @ Hey Güey. I hope you will have the chance to visit us again soon and enjoy the news we have planning for the future. Arrivederci a presto Jacopo Arosio General Manager
Read more
Lily R wrote a review Aug 2021
Brooklyn, New York358 contributions86 helpful votes
I loved the industrial feel and quirky charms of this hotel. The bed was super comfortable and the ac was strong enough to combat the 100 degree heat wave. The lobby breakfast was great too and the location just adjacent to the Jewish ghetto was central to great restaurants and nightlife without being too close to the din.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Jacopo Arosio, Direttore generale at Chapter Roma Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Hello 705lilyr, I'm glad to read that you have enjoyed your experience at Chapter Roma and that it was worth sharing it with the Tripadvisor's community. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Rome Arrivederci a presto Jacopo Arosio General Manager
Read more
rabbi822 wrote a review Aug 2021
Serrastretta, Italy9 contributions6 helpful votes
Can't say enough about the venue and the caring and competent staff who organized details and logistics for the Bar Mitzvah ceremony I officiated. The Terrace was so accommodating and the view of Rome gorgeous. The hotel is located in Trastevere, the old Jewish Quarter where we enjoyed a celebration "pranzo/lunch" following the service. As a rabbi it is a joy to work with those who are so helpful and kind. I highly recommend the Chapter Roma Hotel for your event. Rabbi Barbara, Italy
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Response from Jacopo Arosio, Direttore generale at Chapter Roma Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Dear rabbi Barbara, these are the events that will remain in our mind for long time. It has been an honor to participate in arranging such a beautiful event on the roof terrace. Being helpful and kind is our duty but thanks for taking the time to share your experience and for mentioning the Hotel Staff. Should you decide to come to Rome, we'll all be happy to seeing you again. Best regards, Jacopo Arosio General Manager
Read more
BradBGBurg wrote a review Aug 2021
Rockville121 contributions32 helpful votes
An absolutely fantastic hotel in a terrific location. The rooms are great. But what sets this hotel apart is the staff. Everyone was super helpful. A special shout out to Eleonora Zamagni. She helped us set up a very special event on their roof top bar/terrace. Would highly recommend this hotel and can’t wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Jacopo Arosio, Direttore generale at Chapter Roma Hotel
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Dear BradBGBurg, it gives me so much pride to read that Eleonora and the Team have arranged the perfect event on our terrace. We have been all very happy to participate in such an important event for your son. Should you decide to come back, just ket us know. In the meantime we wish you and your family the best for this final part of the year Jacopo Arosio General Manager
Read more
US$182 - US$592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ItalyLazioRomeNavona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori / Centro / Regola
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chapter Roma Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Chapter Roma Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rimessa Roscioli (0.2 km), Escape Room Campo dei Fiori & Beershop (0.3 km), and Basilica di Sant'Andrea della Valle (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chapter Roma Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Chapter Roma Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chapter Roma Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chapter Roma Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include PanDivino - Focacceria Taperia, Pizza Florida, and Trattoria Casa Mia In Trastevere.
Does Chapter Roma Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Chapter Roma Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chapter Roma Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Chapter Roma Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Chapter Roma Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (2.0 km), St. Peter's Basilica (2.0 km), and Roman Forum (0.9 km).
Is Chapter Roma Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.