Hotel Nazionale

Hotel Nazionale

View from Room 601
Traveller (907)
Panorama of the Classic Room at the Hotel Nazionale
360
Panoramas (11)
Presidential suite, view
Room & Suite (461)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#87 of 1,230 hotels in Rome
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
In the heart of Rome's historic center, the hotel is in an 18th-century building on one of the most celebrated squares in Rome, where the Parliament House sits, Piazza Montecitorio. In a spectacular setting, only few steps away from some of the treasures of the Eternal City like the Pantheon, the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona, the Vittoriano, and Piazza del Popolo, the Hotel Nazionale is in a privileged position, enjoying the tranquillity and silence of the pedestrian island on which it stands.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
City View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Piazza Montecitorio 131, 00186 Rome Italy
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Ciampino Airport
14.8 km
See all flights
Fiumicino Airport
21.3 km
See all flights
Spagna
10 minRome Metro
2,432Reviews94Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,639
  • 648
  • 95
  • 26
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
James A wrote a review Jan 2020
162 contributions103 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I should have stayed here sooner and Hotel Nazionale will now be my go to hotel in Rome.

The location can not be beat and everything is only a hop, skip, and a jump away. The building itself may be a bit dated but it also drips of old school charm and class. We were in room 203, and we were quite pleased. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was huge where I didn’t feel cramped in the least, ceilings were quite high making the room feel big, and there was also a three person sofa which also is a hideaway bed. Hotel staff could not have been friendlier.

As for cons, there aren’t many. The included hotel breakfast was just ok, but honestly, if you’re banking on an included hotel breakfast in Rome, you’re missing out on tastier cheaper options nearby. As with all hotels, some of the books and crannies could have been cleaner but no big deal. Given the proximity to Parliament, getting to and from the hotel during the day was a tad more hectic than in the evening but this is all more than manageable.

All in all, I would not only stay here again, I would make sure of it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AlvaroCh. wrote a review Jan 2020
Managua, Nicaragua7 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A very nice hotel in the heart of Rome. It has very nice rooms with just whath you need when visiting a city as a tourist, very clean and nicely appointed rooms, very good beds and bathroom, delicious complementary breakfast to put you in the road fast and with lots of energy to discover the city and it's historical and most iconic places at a walking distance, the Pantheon, Fontana di Trevi, Piazza Navona, Piazza Venecia, Colloseum, Spanish Steps, etc. There are many restaurants to choose from at no more than 3 or 4 blocks away and maybe one of the best gelatos in Rome just around the corner. It is located at a very safe spot in Piazza di Monte Citorio just on the side of the Chamber of Deputies, part of the italian Parliament, so there is security 24/7. We would come back again to this Hotel when in Rome.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shaw67 wrote a review Feb 2020
Texas27 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here before and knew if we ever come back to Rome we would stay here again and we did. Only stayed here 1 night this time but still it hasn't change in service and comfort. The staff is great! Very helpful and friendly. Love the decor of the rooms. The bathroom is pretty and shower has great water pressure and plenty of hot water. Robes and slippers. We had a view this of the government building that the hotel is next to. Very quiet. Wifi is fast. The hotel is centrally located to walk to The Vatican, Trevi fountain, Colosseum, Spanish Steps and more.
Breakfast was very filling with breads, meats, cheeses, pastries and do it yourself boiled eggs.
If we do come back to Rome will stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John B wrote a review Sept 2021
New York City, New York308 contributions33 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First thing you notice in this hotel is the glamorous lobby and bar. You can tell it is a very old hotel that has been kept up well. Choosing a room was confusing as they offer a deluxe/superior category at quite a bit more than the 'classic' or standard room. We went with that hoping it would be larger. It wasn't and that was disappointing. I didn't see the classic room so I can't compare but our room was very well appointed. While the room was small, the bathroom was a good size and well done with plenty of towels and toiletries with a nice size shower. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The hotel is very well located with a short walk to major sights and restaurants. The elevator was efficient and quick. The breakfast was very good. The croissants were the best and there were some good cold cuts with bread and cheese. While a bit pricey for the room size, I would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fred01820 wrote a review Jun 2020
Andover, Massachusetts2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked three nights at the refundable rate 3 months before our arrival . Due to the Covid pandemic I was forced to cancel my stay. I wrote The hotel full month before the reservation stating that I needed to cancel and asking for a refund. I got confirmation of the cancellation immediately. However my money was not returned to me. I wrote again 3 weeks later and was asked to wait again for a refund. They wrote me right back stating they are overwhelmed but will make my refund a top priority. That was 10 days ago. Today I received an email from the hotel asking me how my stay was with them and asking for this review. Clearly the hotel did not cancel my reservation, Further they appear to have pocketed my money. I am so very upset. This was to be a trip of a lifetime. Something I waited years to do. We paid extra money for refundable rooms at Nazionale and its beyond disappointing that they are making a refund so difficult. We plan to go to Italy as soon as the pandemic allows us. We planned to stay at Nazionale when we go. However that’s not going to happen until we refunded our payment for the room we had to cancel. I’d advise you not to use this hotel. Caveat emptor.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from nazionale, Responsabile reception at Hotel Nazionale
Responded 22 Jun 2020
Dear fred01820 we're deeply sorry for such long wait times. We investigated with the Bank: the amount we charged by mistake, for which we apologize again, has been already cancelled for our bank account almost 2 weeks ago. As we told you at the beginning, the entire travel industry and the "world" involved around it, as Banks and Credit Card circuits, are understaffed and experiencing unavoidable delays due to a high volume of requests ! We've been told to be patient and are forced to kindly ask the same to you. We're confident the process of refund is near to be solved. In any case , we would like to thank you for sharing your experience because it gave us the opportunity to explain how frustrating is for us too, facing delays, totally independent from our willing. Best regards Roberta Liberati Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robbert S wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We've had two connecting rooms with a view on the doors to the Italian government as we were travelling with the four of us. Nevertheless the rooms were very quiet. Classical appearance which is well preserved and maintained. The staff will do anything to go the extra mile for you, love them all. Very friendly and accomodating and always chatty.
Since the hotel is located so central it is best to order a taxi via the hotel if you arrive and leave with a lot of luggage since most of the regular taxis will not be able to approach the place. The location is great as the Pantheon is on 5 min walking distance, just as many other nice sites. One of the main shopping streets is just across the piazza.
Breakfast itself is nice, pls ask or the real coffee to be made by the staff. Only minor comment that we would have is the variation is assortment at breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CanadianAtLarge1000 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom13 contributions36 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful 4-night stay here. Part of the reason it was wonderful is that we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was really spacious and comfortable. The room was a bit tatty and tired, but full of charm and we enjoyed it very much.

A young woman who worked on reception ("Kevin" on her name badge..) was super lovely and helpful. You can walk to many of Rome's main sites from here or otherwise easily catch a city bus or the metro.

It's a long'ish walk (15 or so mins., mostly uphill) to the nearest Hop on-Hop off stop, FYI.

The breakfast set-up is not great and needs to be redesigned, especially the coffee station. The food is forgettable but plentiful. The older man who works in the breakfast room is contemptuous toward anyone who is not a female under 30, but he can be easily ignored.

Overall, I would recommend this property, and would return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ola L wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really nice stay with friendly staff. The breakfast was fantastic and had a large selection. Room was very nice size with nice bathrooms. I would suggest they be a little more generous with the number of towels and the size of the toiletries. Not enough for two people to shower daily. Extremely close to everything and very safe. Would definitely stay there again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Request a room with a rainfall shower.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kawagamajoe wrote a review Sept 2022
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a stay with Hotel Nazionale
We arrived approximately 4am and we were dead tired after our flights. They were quick to ask for our passports and credit cards a great way to welcome new guests.
Then we were given the wrong key for our room took us five minutes Of frustration before going back down to the front desk to find a solution. Without a blink of an eye he activated our new key cards and sent us off without so much as a I m so sorry for the mistake.
Well what happened next was infathomable. We got a bit of sleep and by 10 am we were out the door to explore Rome the cleaning person had her cart by our door we said goodbye to her as we were leaving thinking she was going to clean our room. When we got back to our room ar 4pm we were surprised as nothing was done at all. This is when we met Chiara.I believe her name is.
She would not give us her full name for whatever
reasons ???.
She proceeded to.tell me I left the do not disturb sign outside the door. I told her we never touched the do not disturb sign. It lay inside on the wall.
She then proceeded to tell me I left the card key in the slot inside the room and that the light outside was red indicating that we were in the room I told her we had both key cards with us when we left the room.
She then told us that they only make up the room.once and because it was made up before we arrived at4am that it was not going to be made up again.
Now I was frustrated again how do you deal with the mind of such a person who thinks this way.
Miss Chiara as she calls herself came up with
4 different reasons why our room could not be made up . WOW !!!! What Incredible Customer Service
Is this Hotel Nazionale CUSTOMERS SERVICE. ??
Another employee by the name of Greg or Gregory I belive was also listening on he had one of the staff the bell boy i belive a nice guy go up and bring us new towels i could not belive thats all they would do!!! I voiced my complaint again and they had the bell boy bring us new coffee cups etc etc and he made the bed up he did what he could. He was nice and as thorough as he could be.
Chiara kept denying it was not their responsibility that the room was not made up How in the world was she in this position I will never know.
I did have to see Chiara once again as they only left one bathrobe in the room and I did not want to fight with my wife over it.
Chiara did send up another bathrobe so you see she does have certain customer service talents.
I'm 68 years old been to one or two hotels in my life never met someone like Chiara who ruined our stay and frustrated our days here at Hotel Nazionale Not something I would look.forward to again so I booked another hotel when we are returning to Rome in two weeks. Hopefully there will be no one like Chiara.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roberta Liberati, Servizi per gli ospiti/front office at Hotel Nazionale
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Dear Kawagamajoe, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at the Nazionale Hotel. I was deeply concerned to read your review and see that your stay was far less than satisfactory. As you can see from other traveller reviews, this certainly isn't the usual experience our guests enjoy when staying with us. Please rest assured that this has been raised with the team and will be dealt with internally to ensure this won't happen again. Should you wish to give the Nazionale Hotel another opportunity to make your stay a great one, I would very much like to hear from you and would take care of your booking personally. Warm regards, Roberta Liberati Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Discover84 wrote a review Sept 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom2 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This review is from a visit in June 2019, a little late!
We had booked two nights before a cruise and then one night after the cruise. For the 1st visit we had booked classic rooms and we were a little disappointed with the rooms, they were very small, no view bathrooms were a little cramped. Nothing they could do as it was the room category we had paid for, but they said they would see what they could do when we returned. When we did check in on our return they had upgraded us to these beautiful suites that were AMAZING!! The staff were helpful throughout the stay and also helped with the booking of the transport to airports, cruise ports and back. The location of the hotel is excellent everything is located walking distance and there are some lovely shops and restaurants close by. Breakfast was lovely good selection. If you can splurge I would recommend paying for the superior rooms rather than the classic.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Allie P asked a question Apr 2023
Phila, PA259 contributions45 helpful votes
Are there robes in the rooms?
Answer from Chinchuwan
Chattanooga, Tennessee78 contributions59 helpful votes
I don't remember robes. It's possible they were hanging in a closet as I don't believe we ever opened it.
NORMZZ - Globe Traveler asked a question Mar 2022
Chicago, Illinois202 contributions120 helpful votes
Do you offer airport pick-up?
Chicago, Illinois202 contributions120 helpful votes
I chatted with a virtual agent thru the website regarding my above question— fast and accurate reply. Yes they have a 65 euro airport pick-up service. This is highly recommended as the roads in Rome are confusing— more relaxed with a good driver and ride to welcome you upon arrival (w/your name on cardboard sign).
DFC72 asked a question Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada26 contributions22 helpful votes
I’ll be visiting in the summer.. Does the hotel have air conditioning?
Answer from Peter T
DeKalb, Illinois494 contributions371 helpful votes
Yes
DonInTexas wrote a tip Apr 2024
Plano, Texas76 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the Jr Suite to have plenty of space."
Read full review
Ray Donovan wrote a tip Mar 2024
England, United Kingdom437 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Taxi rank outside Zara on main street "
Read full review
Jan S wrote a tip Jan 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast was excellent."
Read full review
patricia R wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you need a taxi the staff will call for you and taxi always arrived in less than 5 minutes"
Read full review
sarah wrote a tip Nov 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t walk on wet drain covers!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rome area.
PRICE RANGE
S$350 - S$570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nazionale a montecitorio rome, hotel nazionale a montecitorio, rome hotel nazionale
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeCentro / Colonna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL NAZIONALE: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,311 Photos (Rome, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Nazionale
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Nazionale?
Nearby attractions include Pantheon (0.2 km), Piazza Navona (0.5 km), and Trevi Fountain (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Nazionale?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Nazionale?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a bidet, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Nazionale?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Nazionale?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Nazionale?
Conveniently located restaurants include Adesso Vineria-bistrot, Da Cicero, and Bono Bottega Nostrana - Piazza di Spagna.
Does Hotel Nazionale have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Nazionale offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Nazionale?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Nazionale?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Nazionale offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Nazionale?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
All Rome HotelsRome Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RomeHotels near Hotel Nazionale
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire