We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Vicenza 42, 00185 Rome Italy
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (83)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (168)

About

#71 of 2,134 Specialty lodging in Rome
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Karaoke
Taxi service
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Wifi
Happy hour
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Safe
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
858Reviews12Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 254
  • 313
  • 205
  • 47
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dylan B wrote a review Jun 2022
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Came here last weekend and was well worth the visit. Great location, clean, great atmosphere and a great rooftop bar. Did the Bhopal challenge where you drink all 10 of the cocktails. Worth trying when you go!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Accommodation Management, General Manager at Alessandro Palace & Bar
Responded 17 Jun 2022
Dear dylanb379, We are totally glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope you met new nice people and a great time at the bar on our rooftop terrace! Thank you for your visit this time and we look forward to seeing you next time! All the best, Alessandro Palace & Bar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heidinewnham wrote a review May 2022
Poole, United Kingdom27 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a fantastic stay at Alessandro Palace. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and well maintained, the staff are fantastic and they can help with anything. Patrick and Jackpo are worth a particular mention, they’re brilliant, there’s nothing they can’t do! If I come back to Rome, I’ll definitely stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Accommodation Management, General Manager at Alessandro Palace & Bar
Responded 19 May 2022
Dear Heidi, Thank you for posting your review. We are totally glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you also for your kind words for our boys :) We hope you had a great time in Rome and we look forward to your return!! All the best, Alessandro Palace & Bar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Florentina wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Spend 7 beautiful days and nights in the hostel, the stuff is very friendly and smilie. The rooms are comfortable and good. But the best part is the bar in the rooftop nice drinks and a really friendly bartenders! Met so many people there and made so many memories. And also the location is amazing, close to everything you need! Hopefully will see you in the future again.. Florentina.!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Accommodation Management, General Manager at Alessandro Palace & Bar
Responded 5 May 2022
Dear Florentina, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are totally glad that you had a good time staying with us! Hope you made new nice friends and had a great holiday in Rome. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your return one day! All the best, Alessandro Palace & Bar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sundaysunday2015 wrote a review Jul 2021
Warsaw, Poland25 contributions30 helpful votes
I loved it! Such a great vibe, great location, there is a gym, a lot of very clean bathrooms, spacious rooms and amazing rooftop terrace. Great kitchen, a lot of common spaces. It's clean and all of the staff is just so nice! That's a total gem!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessandro Palace, General Manager at Alessandro Palace & Bar
Responded 7 Jul 2021
Dear Marta, We are totally happy that you liked our place and appreciate your nice informative review. Thank you very much for posting it and we hope you fully enjoyed your stay and made a great holiday in Rome. Thanks again for your visit this time. We look forward to your return one day in the future! All the best, Alessandro Palace & Bar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Solidreviewz wrote a review Aug 2020
Crawley, United Kingdom35 contributions30 helpful votes
gym is good. Kitchen is air-conditioned and clean. Roof terrace is great but shuts at 12pm and the Philippino mafia decide whether you can bring your own drink up or not depending on there mood. The worst part is the beds are the tiny ones for 8 year olds and if your a normal sized adult you will have a bad back after 1 night. Over all its cheap so would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at Alessandro Palace & Bar
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Dear Bigdman1, Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed our facitilies. Currently we close the terrace at midnight, it is a house rule and we are sorry if you were feeling like staying there. It is not because our Philippino mafia decides :) All our bunk beds at standard size for average hight of adults. In case you are over 190cm. It can be a bit tight.. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We may suggest the private rooms which have larger single beds for next time. Thank you for your visit this time and we hope you had a nice holiday in Rome. Best regards, Alessandro Palace & Bar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelerAllTHEWAY wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
In 2019, we stayed for probably 7 or so nights here and it was absolutely horrible, which was a shock given all the great reviews. The one saving grace is that we were refunded for 3 or 4 nights when we requested a refund due to being eaten up by bedbugs. I'll just list the major problems first and then list the minor problems: 1) BEDBUGS - We were eaten up by bedbugs, but worse yet, the staff didn't bother to tell the other girls in our room that the room was infested. They just seemed to try and avoid the topic, but we let them know that they needed to protect themselves and their belongings. Their methods of supposedly "getting rid" of the bedbugs were also ineffective, as we consulted professional exterminators on the matter. The exterminator said that you cannot get rid of bedbugs unless you heat up the whole hostel to a certain temperature. The exterminator also said that the hostel's method of treating one single room (our room) was not going to work because they only steamed the mattresses, and that bedbugs can come from inside small crevices in the floor and from other infected rooms. The exterminator was 100% correct because even after treating our room, the bugs continued to bite us. This proved that the exterminator was correct and that the hostel was not properly handling the issue. My guess is that vacating the whole hostel to properly treat it may have been too expensive and inconvenient, so they just tried to steam the mattresses to get rid of the bugs. But I can tell you, that doesn't work since even after the treatment, we continued to get bitten. We had to cancel the last two days of our trip to deal with the bedbugs and de-contaminate ourselves before getting onto the airplane so as to not bring them home. Major Issues #2: It was extremely hot in the rooms. The air conditioner seemed to be broken and one of the girls in our room was rather rude in that she wouldn't let us open the window to let in fresh air. Minor Issues: 1) not very well maintained- which was in complete contrast to the VERY NICE hostel in Venice (Venice Generator). 2) Staff were slightly rude, seeming to question whether or not we were "really" guests there or not. 3) Lack of bed sheets / covers. But these three things weren't the biggest deal....the biggest deal were the bedbugs that ruined the second half of the trip and the hostel's attempts to hide the bedbug issue from our room-mates, and the extreme heat.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marketing Manager, Marketing at Alessandro Palace & Bar
Responded 20 Jul 2020
Dear TravelerALLTHEWAY, We read your review and wonder why you post it after a year from your stay.. After a year the situation is totally different, especially as we have recently renovated the entire rooms in the hostel and added new facilities. The bedbug problem is a common headache amongst accommodation business owners. We, for sure, recognize the bug problem must be prevented for a pleasant stay of our guests and it may harm our reputation catastrophically. Therefore we have been keen to avoid it seriously. We apply peridical pestcontrol remedies thorughout year. Also uur cleaning staff practice their task in daily basis and try not to happen it. It is really regretted we missed it that time.. Tthose little vampires travel around with the travellers. We are afraid we are not able to stop them 100% before enter our establishment, as the bugs are continuously carried in. However, we are doing our best to get rid of them and provide our guests with clean environment. It is an endless battle but we promise we continue to fight. You mention that we have reat reviews and it is the proof that we face the problem seriously and have continously resolved. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay but our sincerity with our guests are not as you described. Kind regards, Management. Alessandro Palace & Bar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DanielL13 wrote a review Sep 2019
13 contributions29 helpful votes
With a nice location close to tourist attractions and the train station, this hostel could have been the perfect location for travellers. However, the customer service was extremely poor and when we arrived the first night we were forced to pay another night because we were too early for check in time. They then sprung the city tax on us and had us run to the nearest ATM to pay it immediately and when we checked out they tried to tell us we hadn’t paid it. There was a power outage which saw all of our frozen foods defrost and they showed zero sympathy, probably because they had no kitchen/restaurant of their own. I had to reactivate my door card everyday because they didn’t know how many nights I was staying for and the toilets were quite filthy. There was an enormous amount of noise during the nights and at approximately 10am every morning you would be awoken by the unbearable crashing of glass. If you plan on staying here, bring a pair of ear plugs for the noisy nights, and I’d probably keep them in until you leave the hostel so you don’t have to deal with rude staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostels_Alessandro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alessandro Palace & Bar
Responded 5 Oct 2019
Dear DanielLewis13, We remember you who were with the other three gentleman. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay but we wonder if there is some information missing here. You technically arrived one day before the actual booked night, confusing the arrivate time after midnight. Theoretically you did not have a reservation that night and it happned to you to pay an extra night which harmed your feeling, we belive. (even if we applied a discounted price to help you in some way..) In side the hostel there is a kitchenette for guests and there is a fridge also but it is not freezer. We find ourselves in a difficulty to understand why you put frozen foods in it and complain those became defrost.. Also we have two restaurants under the same management. One is right next door and the other just in front of the hostel. It is pubblicated also inside the hostel. We hope, at least, you feel better now leaving this review here. Kind regards, Management, Alessandro Palace & Bar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
San Gayer wrote a review Jul 2019
Israel20 contributions35 helpful votes
We stayed in this hostel July 2018, booked a twin room. When we got there, the room that was supposed to be ours had not been cleaned yet, then we wen to another floor another room, same story. The young staff was nice and apologetic, we could see he was trying his best to get us a clean room. It happened eventually, the room was reasonable for the price. But it was not close to the main building, that meant we did not meet other guest in the common area, quite boring for a hostel for young people.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostels_Alessandro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alessandro Palace & Bar
Responded 3 Aug 2019
Dear ecoshabbychic, Thank you for posting your review but the room situation has changed a lot since you stayed at the room a year ago. We do not have those rooms by now and our major part of private rooms are inside the main building. The facilities such as the hostel bar, room terrace & bar and gym are available the same. We hope your visit of last year has been a nice memory. Kind regards, Alessandro Palace & Bar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JMC wrote a review Jul 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Only a short stay and we did not use some of the facilities, but what we did use was good standard. Clean room and beds - clean bathroom with good shower - friendly, helpful staff - comfortable bar - good rooftop area to bring breakfast to (and a good cafe accross the road to buy your breakfast coffee / pastry) - bag deposit to leave your luggage after check-out. Reasonably convenient location close to Termini, not the most upmarket, but safe and secure.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostels_Alessandro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alessandro Palace & Bar
Responded 3 Aug 2019
Dear Justin, Thank you for posting your review. We are glad we received your evaluation and see you enjoyed the facilities of our property. We hope our hostel helped you to have a nice holiday in Rome. Thank you very much for your visit this time and we look forward to your return one day. All the best, Alessandro Palace & Bar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony F wrote a review Jun 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I'm extremely laid back when it comes to needy-ness in hostels. I've been to several. This was by far the worst. 1. My girlfriend has many food allergies. When we select a hostel, the kitchen is important because she can not go out and eat at restaurants - she needs to prepare her own food. The kitchen depicted no longer exists. That, as the desk person told me, is now a storage room. All that is left is this extremely disgusting side kitchen where the trash was literally overflowing on to the floor, there were flies everywhere. It clearly had not been cleaned in a month. The pots, pans, plates, and utensils were all sticky and disgusting. It was completely unusable. My girlfriend ate out of a gas station for the entire trip. 2. We ordered a private room. From the pictures I wasn't expecting anything spectacular, but when we checked in, we were directed to a room OUTSIDE OF THE BUILDING DOWN THE STREET. It was a completely different building- some random apartment complex where the owner subleted a couple rooms. 3. The room was completely disgusting. The sheets were stained and clearly unchanged. We had to change the sheets ourselves because the cleaning guy came in only the very last day (we were there six days). The floor was covered in dust and dirt. All the sheets were stained in other people's sweat. The bathroom was clearly not washed in months. It's a hostel. I've been in hostels and used shared rooms with 11 other people before. This room was completely disgusting. 4. I will say the front of house staff were all extremely competent and helpful. I liked them a lot. Additionally, their events were nice and it had a good vibe. The only reason I didn't explode was because the front of house staff were very nice. It's a shame they look bad because their manager is completely incompetent, and provides completely false advertising and lies to it's costumers. 5. Location was okay, it was maybe a 8 minute walk to the termini. Manageable. 6. The bar was nice. Prices were a little higher than expected but not unreasonable. If I ever go back to Rome, I absolutely will not go back to this place. I actively recommend anyone who is looking to not support this place until management fixes the problems and issues I've listed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hostels_Alessandro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alessandro Palace & Bar
Responded 22 Jun 2019
Anthony F, It is regretted our place did not meet your preference. We see you focused on the negative phases of things and it seems like it was amplified in your composition but we see some of your points-out understandable and we have already improved them like kitchen situation. The kitchen was a headache for us. It has been left under expectations that our guests clean the utensils after they use them. However, it did not work. Unfortunately, we finally understood that some people do not have basic common sense. The situation you saw was the end of our testing period. Now we changed the way of managing it. One you may have not understood is that it is common in Rome that a property has rooms in a different building. One thing we do not absolutely accept is that you wrote "their manager is completely incompetent, and provides completely false advertising and lies to it's costumers." We do not provide false advertising or lies. Herewith we request to delete your offensive phrase immediately. Again it is regretted you did not like our place and we will not see you again but still hope, for the rest, you had a good holiday in Rome. Kind regards, Alessandro Palace & Bar
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$48 - US$156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alessandro palace hotel rome
LOCATION
ItalyLazioRomeCastro Pretorio / Termini / Centro / Esquilino
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alessandro Palace & Bar
Which popular attractions are close to Alessandro Palace & Bar?
Nearby attractions include National Roman Museum - The Baths of Diocletian (0.4 km), Decus Italia (0.1 km), and Basilica Del Sacro Cuore Di Gesù (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alessandro Palace & Bar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Alessandro Palace & Bar?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Alessandro Palace & Bar?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alessandro Palace & Bar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Mino, Ristorante Pizzeria Andrea, and Bar Fondi.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alessandro Palace & Bar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Alessandro Palace & Bar?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore (0.9 km), St. Peter's Basilica (4.1 km), and Colosseum (1.9 km).