We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Hotel Carlton

Save
Share
Via Montebello 8, 40121 Bologna Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$144
US$125
View deal
SAVE US$19
Free cancellation until 30/06/21
Booking.comUS$132
Priceline
ZenHotels.comUS$144
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (339)
360
Panoramas (63)
Room & Suite (265)

About

#31 of 111 hotels in Bologna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Bologna, Royal Hotel Carlton is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its charming environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Royal Hotel Carlton makes it easy to enjoy the best of Bologna.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Royal Hotel Carlton offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features room service and a concierge. Plus, Royal Hotel Carlton offers a fitness center and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day.

Nearby landmarks such as Quadrilatero (0.6 mi) and Academya Lingue (0.7 mi) make Royal Hotel Carlton a great place to stay when visiting Bologna.

While in Bologna, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Royal Hotel Carlton, including Trattoria Da Me (0.6 mi), Osteria dell'Orsa (0.5 mi), and Trattoria di Via Serra (0.5 mi).

If you are interested in exploring Bologna, check out one of the historic sites, such as Piazza Maggiore, Basilica di San Petronio, and Torre Prendiparte.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Royal Hotel Carlton is sure to make your visit to Bologna one worth remembering.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
1042Reviews16Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 421
  • 453
  • 117
  • 24
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MedicoChelsea wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom16 contributions12 helpful votes
To begin, this hotel is clearly COVID-secure, but without being overtly intrusive. All throughout the public areas of the hotel are appropriate signage, hand sanitisers, staff wearing face coverings, hand washing facilities, and Perspex glass at reception and the bar etc. It was uplifting to see the measures in place. The location of the hotel is superb. 5 minute stroll from Bologna Centrale train station, 15 minutes in a cab from the airport (around 18€) and a 15 minute stroll to Piazza Maggiore, with incredible views, history, architecture and experiences an the way. Don’t be put off by the slightly tired and dated external facade of the hotel! Look at the depth of quality inside! The hotel was impeccably clean and the rooms were very good; very fresh and comfortable. Plenty of wardrobe space. The style of the room door was such that it blocked out any noise from corridors, to allow for a restful night’s sleep. Some rooms had balconies, but mine sadly didn’t, but that didn’t detract from it being a well presented and comfortable room. The bar and restaurant were excellent. The restaurant perhaps a little over priced compared to other restaurants in Bologna, but the available menu was full. I was agog with the ‘nibbles’ that came with the drinks (see picture attached); they were such generous portions! The log seating cabines outside, overlooking the pool looked great, however, in these COVID times, they were closed off, but I can imagine how relaxing they would be in ordinary circumstances. The staff were magnificent. Reception couldn’t be any more helpful if they tried! Great recommendations for local things to do and places to eat, and these recommendations were genuinely based on what you wanted. In other words, the reception staff listened with courtesy and attentiveness to the individual, and tailored their response on that individual. Maps were always provided for directions if walking, and they would happily (and quickly) call a cab should you choose that route. Overall, a great location, a great hotel, great staff, and a great start to my Italian holiday. Well done team!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Support, Propriétaire at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 30 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted to receive this thoughtful and comprehensive review that is a credit to all our teams who work hard to ensure we deliver an excellent experience and continue maintaining our high standards. Our greatest reward id to know you had a memorable time. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Bologna. Kind regards, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
InezRoberta wrote a review Aug 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom24 contributions17 helpful votes
THIS WAS A TERRIBLE END TO OUR ITALY TRIP. WE WERE BOOKED TO STAY AT THE INTERNAZIONALE AND AT THE LAST MINUTE THEY SAID THEY WERE CLOSED AND SENT US INCONVENIENTLY TO THEIR SISTER HOTEL the Royal Hotel Carlton .... there is nothing “Royal “ about this. It was like arriving at a shut down hotel. 1 Lady on the desk who took forever with the person in front of us, waited 15 mins to check in with no apology, no offer to help with bags and when we got to the room, bath leaver not working and I have a skin issue so needed a bath, we tried for 15 mins to get it to work and had a dinner reservation plus only staying for one night so time was tight. Lady on reception told us no one could help but she was coming up to give us the key to another room, we did not have time to move so I had to walk down the corridor in a towel to access another room. Terrible service. Breakfast was even worse, beautiful outside settings but all closed and we were all pushed into a small gloomy room to eat a buffet that looked like aeroplane food with plastic utensils. There was no sanitiser by the lifts and it had run out on the entrance dispenser. This hotel is shocking and certainly not a 4 star. We did not book here and are annoyed we were moved ..NOT IMPRESSED, to cap it all after complaining about the bath and situation on our return home, no compensation or goodwill gesture was offered... appalling
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Support, Propriétaire at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 30 Oct 2020
Dear Inez, Thank you for taking the time to let us know your opinion about your recent stay. We regret to read that you had a disappointing stay. We treat our guests with the utmost respect and strive to provide each with an excellent standard; it appears, in this case, we fell short. We sincerely apologise and assure you that we will immediately be addressing our team members regarding your feedback. We have noted your comments concerning breakfast and regret that due to the new official health measures we have had to adapt our offer and are currently not allowed to open our outdoor common areas. However, we are always open to suggestions on how we might improve your breakfast experience. We take your welfare very seriously indeed and urge our guests to make us aware of any concerns they may have to that we might take remedial action. We hope to welcome you back for a return visit. Best regards, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
dandglife wrote a review Aug 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
An update on my previous review. Thankfully the manger has done as they said and we now have a voucher from the hotel to use within a year. This is very much appreciated. I will review the hotel when/if we finally get there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Support, Propriétaire at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 30 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for this feedback. We are delighted we were able to solve this issue and look forward to welcoming you very soon Kind regards, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
Travel831083 wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We were booked for 2 nights at this hotel this weekend as part of a trip to Croatia and Italy. Unfortunately our flight was cancelled and we had to cancel our trip as we couldn't get another flight organised due to the quarantine situation. Our booking did not allow for cancellation with a refund and under normal circumstances I would not expect anything more. However, as these are not normal circumstances i contacted the hotel to explain our situation and asked them to consider either a refund or a voucher to be used at a later date. They said came back with a definite no! They are the only hotel from all of those we had booked that have done this. I contacted them again but they didn't even respond to my email. I am very disappointed with their lack of understanding. I even contacted their head office but they have as yet failed to respond. I understand times are difficult but surely this is not asking too much given the current situation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Support, Propriétaire at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 30 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We understand the difficulties our guests have faced with the Covid-19 situation and are concerned by your comments in accordance with the provisions for this situation we are issuing a voucher, which you can be used within one year from the date of issue. If you would like to contact us directly with your booking details we will have this dealt with promptly. We look forward to welcoming you very soon. Best regards, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
Lily V wrote a review Mar 2020
Herzliya, Israel6 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel is at a very convenient spot, within walking distance to train station and some attractions. The rooms are spacious and spotless. The staff extremely pleasant, polite and helpful. Enjoyed every minute there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Support, Propriétaire at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 30 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is a great pleasure to receive your kind comments and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your mention of the excellent service provided and that our high standards met with your approval. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Kind regards, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$140 - US$775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal hotel bologna
LOCATION
ItalyEmilia-RomagnaProvince of BolognaBolognaPorto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
244
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Hotel Carlton
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Hotel Carlton?
Nearby attractions include Adventure Rooms Bologna (0.3 km), Via dell'Indipendenza (0.4 km), and MAMbo - Museo d'Arte Moderna di Bologna (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Hotel Carlton?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Arcimboldo, Ristorante Pizzeria La Verace, and Gustopiano.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Royal Hotel Carlton have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Royal Hotel Carlton offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Royal Hotel Carlton located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Bologna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.