We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Montebello 8, 40121, Bologna Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$127
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/23
Agoda.com
US$112
View deal
Booking.comUS$126
Hotels.comUS$127
StayForLong
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (374)
360
Panoramas (63)
Room & Suite (269)

About

#39 of 112 hotels in Bologna
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Bologna, Royal Hotel Carlton is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its charming environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Royal Hotel Carlton makes it easy to enjoy the best of Bologna.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning, and you can stay connected during your stay as Royal Hotel Carlton offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features room service and a concierge. Plus, Royal Hotel Carlton offers a fitness center and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day.

Nearby landmarks such as Quadrilatero (0.6 mi) and Academya Lingue (0.7 mi) make Royal Hotel Carlton a great place to stay when visiting Bologna.

While in Bologna, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Royal Hotel Carlton, including Trattoria Da Me (0.6 mi), Osteria dell'Orsa (0.5 mi), and Trattoria di Via Serra (0.5 mi).

If you are interested in exploring Bologna, check out one of the historic sites, such as Piazza Maggiore, Basilica di San Petronio, and Torre Prendiparte.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Royal Hotel Carlton is sure to make your visit to Bologna one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
1099Reviews16Q+A47Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 432
  • 475
  • 127
  • 30
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ian P wrote a review 21 Jan
Swadlincote, United Kingdom7 contributions11 helpful votes
Arrived late (midnight) and tired. Great welcome and staff served us a beer despite bar being closed. Room was big and clean, sky TV and plenty of storage space. No coffee facilities and a well stocked mini bar (not touched). Bed was comfy but air con/ heating was noisy. Breakfast was a good choice, not to my personal taste but that is no fault of the hotel. English tea available was a massive positive. Excellent location, a few minutes walk into the city centre. Staff were attentive, services including room service and laundry see available at cost. Room cleaned daily to high standards. My next trip to Bologna will be next year and this hotel will be my first choice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments about our team who work hard to ensure that we deliver the best service and always meet your expectations. Your positive feedback about your excellent night’s rest inspires us to continue with our efforts. However, we are sorry to hear that you experienced noise disturbance and regret that you had not made us aware of this while on-site; our maintenance team would have happily intervened and made your stay with us more comfortable. Nonetheless, thank you for highlighting our strategic location. We hope to welcome you back to Royal Hotel Carlton on your next visit to Bologna. Kind regards, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KestasKS wrote a review Nov 2022
Vilnius, Lithuania2767 contributions1476 helpful votes
A traditional hotel in the center of Bologna, walking distance to the piazza Maggiore. Good breakfast, bar in the evening, rooms are spacious and quiet. Unlike in many other Italian hotels- you do not hear your neighbors:). Enjoyed it. Friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 21 Nov 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're really pleased to know we hit the mark for you and glad we were able to help start your day off on the right foot with our tasty breakfast buffet. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and that you found our location to be ideal in close proximity to many of the tourist attractions. We would like to take this opportunity to express the thanks of the entire team for your kind words. We are delighted you were able to make the most of our bar. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Snedds wrote a review Oct 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom34 contributions59 helpful votes
Arrived on 15th October for a 6 day break. It was ideally located and just a short walk from the Bologna Centrale. At arrival the check in process was extremely cold and we were simply passed our key and pointed in the direction of the lift, that was it. We were not given details of breakfast times and where any of the facilities were for example. Not the best initial impression! The room was nice although as I have seen on other reviews the WiFi was rubbish and I instead relied on my mobile data. There is also no information in the room about what other services were available ans where which we found unusual. We had to use room service on a couple of occasions (breakfast and dinner) and the service was excellent! Our flight on the last day was cancelled due to Air Traffic Control strikes so we had to scrabble about for alternative flights which meant we had to check out a day early. Unfortunately the same gentleman processed us, didn't comment that we were leaving early and simply took the residual payment and that was it. The middle was really enjoyable but the start and end was very unwelcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: WiFi is rubbish. Close to Bologna Centrale and handy enough for the city centre
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 4 Nov 2022
Dear Guest, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. Whilst we are happy to know that our location was to your satisfaction, we regret that you felt the service provided by our receptionist did not entirely meet our high standards. Rest assured that we will be addressing our team regarding your comments. Furthermore, please accept our apologies for the issue with the wifi, our technician would have been happy to assist with this at the time had we been aware. Nevertheless, we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and room service took good care of your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Becky C wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights; it was a business trip for my husband, and vacation for me. The hotel is very nice; it’s clean, well staffed, and had what we needed. The staff were helpful, and answered our questions about local restaurant options, and getting around. There is a breakfast buffet that offers a good variety of foods. There is seating in the lobby area, as well as outdoors, to sit and visit. Our room was great; the bathroom is very large; we had a queen-size bed, as well as a desk and another chair. Our only issue was the sporadic air conditioning, which we addressed with the front desk. Thankfully, the evenings are cool there in October, so sleeping with our windows open was helpful. :). The hotel is located in an area that is close to the train, about a 5 minute walk. There is an Aldi and another grocery store also within a 5 minute walk. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and would definitely choose this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 4 Nov 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for this review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed so much of your stay with us; we greatly appreciate your mention of our team's professional service and prime location. However, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience, our team will always do their best to ensure that your stay with us is as comfortable as possible. It's a pleasure to hear that you were able to make the most of our tasty breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Best wishes, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kasey L wrote a review Oct 2022
East Patchogue, New York11 contributions8 helpful votes
We had made our reservation for a king size bed, and upon checking in, we received a room with two twin beds. We went back downstairs to voice our concern, and were told there were no more king rooms. We were then moved to a “family room”, which again had two twin beds and a pullout bed - additionally, with insects hopping around on the pullout bed. We called downstairs again and asked for our king room that we had booked. We finally got our king room, and the air conditioning was not working, and the carpet was dirty. We ended up leaving the hotel and staying down the street at a much nicer hotel. Save yourself the hassle and book elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Dirty, dated interiors, bugs on the beds. They will also not give you the requested rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
HKPiper wrote a review Aug 2022
Hong Kong, China131 contributions138 helpful votes
A big 60s looking building not far from the train station, maybe seven minutes walk and easy to locate. The lobby is beautiful as are most of the public areas but the garden area is bizarre.....looks completely out of place. The palm trees and cabanas are more Fiji, Samoa or the Philippine islands than Bologna! However each to their own taste. The staff are friendly and competent, no issues there. Some of the rooms have balconies, big empty spaces really without any balcony furniture. No chairs or tables and the ones in the room really are far too heavy and bulky to move outside. I thought this was really strange. There are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. No Nespresso, not even instant coffee with a kettle. And as for the internet, I don't think I have ever been in a hotel anywhere in the world where the wifi was so slow. It was appalling. I certainly wouldn't return to the hotel on a business trip whereby my internet access from the room was essential. Mealtimes....excellent selection and very tasty food. The breakfast buffet is nothing less than excellent. Maybe five choices of cereal, eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, numerous types of pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurt, lovely coffee etc. Top marks for that! It's a beautifully decorated hotel (unless you count the faux Pacific islands experience in the grounds). It's just a shame that the wifi is so dreadful and there are no coffee making facilities in the room. That nowadays is really not acceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for this review of your recent stay. We do our best to ensure that guests feel welcome and it is very rewarding to know that you appreciated our fine establishment and overall enjoyed your stay. However, we regret to hear of the issue with the wifi and will be having our technician investigate; please do not hesitate to let us know if there are any concerns so that we can resolve this for you promptly. Moreover, please let us know if you would like some furniture on your balcony on your next visit and we can arrange this for you immediately. Furthermore, we are currently considering the organisation of kettles for our rooms. Nonetheless, we appreciate your kind compliments on our team. We are also happy that your breakfast and dining experiences were so enjoyable. We value your feedback which assists us in reviewing and where necessary improving our services and your comments will be passed to the relevant departments for their attention. We hope to welcome you again in the future for an improved experience. Best wishes, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Billy wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions5 helpful votes
I visited this hotel on Saturday. Staff seemed pleasant enough and was happy to serve us even though we were not residents of the hotel . We normally stay at this hotel every year and I was always raving about it . However as I was saying was happy to serve us up until the entertainment started then suddenly we weren’t welcome as we weren’t residents. They seemed happy enough to keep serving a couple who could hardly stand and were annoying everyone but not us . The place was empty so thought they would be grateful of any custom they could get . Crazy ruling . The outside seating area was not what it was in years gone by the middle section hardly had any seating and what seating there was was either broken. Dirty or had no cushions to sit on . Sadly I won’t come back here either as a resident or off the street customer
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 24 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know your opinion about your recent visit. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your recent visit to our establishment. We are always happy to receive returning guests however on this occasion it seems we weren't as welcoming as you would have hoped. Unfortunately, we can't comment more as we have no record of this incident and what entertainment you are referring to. However, we have taken note of your feedback regarding the outside seating area and will be addressing it. We certainly hope that we can welcome you back again. Best regards, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucasito12345 wrote a review Aug 2022
Prague, Czech Republic448 contributions130 helpful votes
We did stay here for 4 nights. Hotel is a bit dated but everything was clean, just few minutes from Bologna Centrale station. City center around. Room was nice and clean, very tasty breakfest with amazing selection of food. We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Dear Lucas, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is rewarding to know that you found our location to be convenient and our rooms comfortable. We are delighted to hear that we were able to tempt your tastebuds with our tasty breakfast. Your insight is greatly appreciated and will be taken into account as we tirelessly work to improve our hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Bologna. Kind regards, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Doug S wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom187 contributions75 helpful votes
Our return flight home was cancelled so we had an extra day to our holiday. We spent that day in Bologna and stayed here. The station is close by so if you want to take the Marconi Express to the airpot it is convenient (mind you a taxi direct is about the same price). The old city centre is near - maybe 10 minutes walk away. The modern art gallery is close to the hotel and well worth visiting but there's not much else in the immediate vicinity. Check in was friendly - we got a big room up on the 6th floor. Very clean - looks quite dated in style but everything in good order. I could not get either the wifi or the tv to work - no big deal as we only stayed one night but if longer I'd want to get these things fixed. Breakfast bar is huuuuge - lovely surroundings. We had a very nice night - I might consider staying again but this hotel is more than I would usually spend - it was a treat on this occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is a pleasure to know that you found our location convenient and enjoyed the high standards which we strive to uphold. We are, however, sorry for the issues you mentioned; we encourage our guests to inform us while on-site of any concerns so we can take the necessary action and ensure you have an enjoyable stay. We value all feedback from our guests and rest assured, we have taken note of your comments for future improvements. Knowing that you intend to return to us is our greatest reward. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
costas wrote a review Apr 2022
Thessaloniki, Greece94 contributions132 helpful votes
The hotel is located about 5 mins walk from the Marconi express and 7 mins from the center. The room was very spacious, with a nice modern bathroom. Breakfast was served in a well light room with ample of choices from prosciutto and mozzarella to yogurts, croissants and a variety of beverages. Friendly staff. Would visit again if in town.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Customer Support, Owner at Royal Hotel Carlton
Responded 29 Apr 2022
Dear Costaspag, We are glad to receive such a positive review. Our team sincerely appreciates your compliments and are delighted to hear that our rooms, breakfast and service were to your liking. We are glad our location suited you. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip. Best wishes, Davide Bonaccorso, Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$133 - US$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
royal hotel bologna
LOCATION
ItalyEmilia-RomagnaProvince of BolognaBolognaPorto
NUMBER OF ROOMS
244
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL HOTEL CARLTON: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 728 Photos (Bologna, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Hotel Carlton
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Hotel Carlton?
Nearby attractions include Adventure Rooms Bologna (0.3 km), Via dell'Indipendenza (0.4 km), and MAMbo - Museo d'Arte Moderna di Bologna (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Hotel Carlton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bonelli Burgers, Mortadella Shop, and L'Arcimboldo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Royal Hotel Carlton have airport transportation?
Yes, Royal Hotel Carlton offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Royal Hotel Carlton located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Bologna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Royal Hotel Carlton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.