We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Helvetia

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Helvetia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Helvetia
 Click to rate
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Took about 20 minutes from the airport by taxi in rush hour, no trains were running due to rail strike. The welcome on arrival was great, two very nice women on reception with big smiles gave me a map and lots of advice on where to go in the City. The Hotel is right on the edge of the old...

Thank ESAV37
helvetiage, Proprietario at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear ESAV37, we thank you very much for the accurate and pleasant review. The strategic location of the Hotel Helvetia is no doubt where the "promises" are retained (the WI FI is even FIBER to 50 Mbps in downlod and 10 Mbps in upoload). Its pleased to note the excellent quality / price ratio satisfies our peculiar work (hereinafter also...

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

This place was nice on the inside. Scary from the outside. I hated the flights of stairs I had to climb to get to the room and the parking garage all the way around the corner! Overall the room was in a nice location it was great for all the sights but very congested with the locals. We stayed for...

Thank Simply T H
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 13 May 2016

I didn't choose this hotel, I went in a kind of business trip and they booked this hotel for all of us. And I am overall very satisfied with the service. I must say I was scared at the beginning after reading some reviews. But I arrived and the room was extremely clean. Mine was small, but some of my...

Thank gemgem3008
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear gemgem3008, we thank you very much for the accurate and pleasant review. The strategic location of the Hotel Helvetia is no doubt where the "promises" are retained (the WI FI is even FIBER to 50 Mbps in downlod and 10 Mbps in upoload). Its pleased to note the excellent quality / price ratio satisfies our peculiar work (hereinafter also...

Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with my family in a two room apartment which was a very good size compared to some places I've stayed in Italy, the room was clean but unfortunately very loud as it was on the first floor and faced the street. The bathroom was however very small and cramped, a larger person would struggle to get past the...

Thank Andy N
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 23 April 2015

If you like to find out after two nights in a hotel, when returning there for your night's rest in the evening, that they've given your room to someone else... If you like to hear that your underwear and other personal belongings are tossed in a garbage bag, because the receptionist couldn't open your suitcase although he'd tried... And if...

Thank szechenyi2015
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Szechenyi, I’m sorry for the words you wrote because there’s an easy explaination for what happened: you made a reservation for two nights and tried to ask for one night more even if we told you we were already fully booked, we told you maybe we could help you find another accomodation nearby, just to be kind to you,...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 2 March 2015

I've stayed at this hotel with my university students and I must say that I find it terribly convenient. The people at the reception desk are always very helpful and full of kind advice. The rooms are not modern but they are clean and well warmed up. Breakfast is nice and rich though they serve only cold food.

1Thank aldopata
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Prof.Aldopata, thank you so much for your nice words, you and your students are always welcome because of your kindness and reliability, and we all hope to meet you again very soon! Thank you and best regards Nedo Ottonello General Manager

Reviewed 24 February 2015 via mobile

After searching the streets of Genoa we stumbled upon this great Hotel. We did not have a reservation but this wasn't a problem. We were four people and were immediately given a room. The price was extremely cheap (85e/room + breakfast). The staff was very helpful and friendly. They gave us very good instructions on where to go in Genoa,...

Thank _Michelle_ML56
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

How to thank you for a so marvellous feed back ! We are really happy you appreciated so much your stay in Helvetia, we coudn't ask more as guests! Thank you again from the whole staff we hope to have you again in Hotel Helvetia Regards, Nedo Ottonello Manager

Birmingham, UK
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Less than ten minutes' walk from Principe railway station (where the airport bus drops you), and the same to the old town in the other direction - the location is ideal. There's a lift to all floors. Bedroom very spacious, and comfy bed. Bedding and towels changed every day. Loads of hot water. No noise from the street. Generous cold...

Thank PurpleHankyMan
Briisbane Australia
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Hotel is very convenient to all the main attractions on the water front and public transport goes past the door. Staff very helpful and breakfast was typical Italian selection. The room was an adequate size but the bathroom was very small and uncomfortable but very new and clean. However the hand basin was to big for the space and its...

Thank Denjudfi
Reviewed 7 February 2015

Spent 4 nights in this hotel during a work trip. Negative: * Rooms are dated * Not enough space around the toilet * Cannot close the curtains * Mattresses are old and "preshaped" by previous guests * Shower is either very hot or ice cold, no in between Positive: * Very friendly and helpful people. On the first night it...

Thank Gwen_BE
helvetiage, Direttore at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Dear Mrs.Gwen, first of all thank you for the nice words you wrote about the Staff, my collegues are helpful indeed as you underlined, so maybe if they had known that you were having those incidents they would have easily solved them (for example, there's a little rope that looses the curtains and they could have showed it to you...)...

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (85)
Room/Suite (24)
Hotel & Grounds (15)
View from Room (10)
Bathroom (9)
Dining (3)
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (62)
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Dining (10)
Room/Suite (17)
Bathroom (7)
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Hotel Cairoli
Hotel Cairoli
#28 of 89 in Genoa
345 reviews
Hotel Bologna
#32 of 89 in Genoa
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CIT Hotel Britannia
#23 of 89 in Genoa
528 reviews
Hotel Nuovo Nord
#15 of 89 in Genoa
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel, 3 star rating, is located in an ancient building dating back to 1585 in the heart of the city of Genoa, in the historic Piazza della Nunziata 1.Free wireless fast connection in all rooms and common areas. Free Internet Point ADSL at the Hotel's Hall. The 37 rooms on five floors accessible by elevator (completely renovated, with VIP and No Smoking floors), are completely soundproof, equipped with air-conditioning and heating individually adjustable by each room, satellite TV, mini-bar, hairdryer, recent replacement of all the doors of rooms and bathrooms according to the current regulations. The renowned area of Ancient Port (Aquarium, Museum of the Sea, Congress Centre Magazzini del Cotone and Shopping area) at just 200 meters, the Principe Railway station and the Cruises Terminal a few steps, the Carlo Felice Opera House and prestigious Palazzo Ducale at 5 minutes, FREE CCTV motorbikes parking and the garage service (€ 15.00 Per 24 hours) at just 100 meters, make the location of Hotel Helvetia unique in Genoa.Gluten-free breakfast available on request Dog and Cat Welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Address: Piazza della Nunziata 1 | Historical Downtown, 16124, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Price Range: $92 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Helvetia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Genoa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Helvetia staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Helvetia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would ask for a big room. I saw the 114 and the 115 and they were bigger than mine (226) with a great bathroom. Mine was ok.”
 of 5 bubbles gemgem3008, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“Back of the building”
 of 5 bubbles JaneRB, 9 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Book another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jennifercQ3668ES, 14 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Choose a room at the back or side no view but quieter”
 of 5 bubbles pensionerBoltonLancs, 2 Jul 2014 | Read review
“My fifth floor room at the rear of the premises was perfectly peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles 417liamn, 27 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5