We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Birillo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

533 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Birillo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 149: English reviews
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewed 3 November 2015

We chose the hotel for its price and decent reviews. As mentioned in other reviews the toilet was really small but manageable. There was a problem of bath water getting into the room, but we managed it for one night. The room decor was modern and the towels were clean. The breakfast was decent as well. The owners was really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mayank_agarwal
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you decent review :) Unfortunately it's true that barthrooms are small, and unfortunately we cannot do much about that, unless renovating and keeping thwm as clean as we can. For the rest, we keep trying doing our best as we really want to make your stay a erally good stay. Thank you for sharing ;)

Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights while walking and exploring Cinque Terre. The rooms are tidy and clean, yet small. The bathroom was ok, but the shower was extra small. Nice and welcoming staff. I had problems with the fan in my room and they changed it right away with a smile. They also printed my boarding pass for me without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aksel H
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Thank you Aksel for sharing your experience. You room had for sure a small bathroom and shower. And since it wasnt renovated yet, we appreciate your review since it means there's much more to be happy about ;)

Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel as its location was superb to stroll the Cinque Terre & Portofino region. The location was very good from the bus stop, the harbor and the train station. The room was too small so is the bathroom, basic and average clean. Needed some renovation. The walls were very thin as we could hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MayaMghabghab
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for sharing with us your experience. We're really glad that you felt good :) We really like our job so we're really happy to meet new people everyday and make them happy. There are some things that unfortunately we cannot improove, since we don't own the place. For example the walls. like in most of the hotels,...

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

We chose this hotel because if the location which is close to the harbor, the port and the downtown. The location was great. The staff is great. The breakfast is great. However... The walls are thin and we could hear the scooter traffic late at night. We also heard everything in the neighboring room which was more than we wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B G
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Hello, first of all we thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers and to share with us your point of view. Unfortunately, for some of the aspects you mentioned, we couldn't do much. About the beds, theyre new, they could be just a little hard nut people say theu're very comfortable. We can't do much about the noise...

Giaveno
Reviewed 10 July 2015

I spent 3 days in La Spezia because of a jazz workshop and I chose this little but central hotel. In maximum 10 minutes you reach the Station to get the trains to reach the 5 Terre and you are 2 few minutes far from the pedonal area. The rooms are little but clean and the personal really really friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoxyG1
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review! We loved your way to describe the situation, the fact that you loved the morning cakes and our staff being so kind and remember : A DAY WITHOUT A LAUGHTER IS A DAY WASTED see you next time

Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Staff are very sweet and helpful. The rooms are basic but very clean. Very convenient location to public transport. Parking on site is convenient. Building needs some work, no lift to top floors, but has great potential.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chillibean123
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Hello! Yes you're right, the building is not new, but we're trying to do all our best just to make everything ( what we can do ) better, and modern and fresh! But we're happy that you liked the situation,...maybe if you're coming again, wish to see you next time Bye bye

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 1 July 2015

I can't say enough nice things about Sara and Dominico. They are clearly so invested in making the guest experience the best it can be and go out of their way to be helpful. Sara is such a consummate host that staying at Birillo is almost like staying at her house, which is a good thing! They helped us out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Puppimus
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Oh thank you...well it's me who has to be thankful for the prosciutto al tartufo left that you gave us...Yum :) Very happy that you appreciated allour staff, the yummy breakfast in the morning, the position and everything Thank you for sharing your experience with other people, and with us, so we're sure that we succeded in making you happy...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 April 2015

The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the train station/downtown, which is convinient. The staff is friendly and the breakfast is very good for this price range. Wifi worked from the room. My room was big and comfortable. However, had the company invested a little more in sound proofing (I could hear the person in the next room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yacro
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Hello we're happy that your stay here was nice and comfortable Yes we're still under renovation, we trying our best but unfortunately we're not allowed to do everything we want I'm trying to make everybody understand :( Thank you anyway

Andreas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2015

I just checked out today. Breakfast was good, staff were very friendly and helpful, location is close to the centre of town, room was clean enough but the decor and fitting were obviously old. With a wee bit of updating this could be a very nice little hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bigbri272
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review I guess you're talking about the stairwell, is not exactly the best, but unfortunately it is not our property and we have to leave it as it is, not the same for the rooms :) we renovated almost all of them :) ciao

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 28 February 2015

My Wife and I (29 and and 32 years old at the time respectively) stayed here last summer. The new owners had just taken over and were in the process of renovating the place. We received one of the newly renovated (very clean) rooms and were told beforehand that the washroom was small. They had tried to alter the washrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bonsaiwillow
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review even after long time Well about the bathrooms the fact is that, not being owners, we don't have the authorization to change bathroom sizes...than you for mentioning the cake....it was a citrus and coconut cake made with the big Lemons of Monterosso...not only the taste is wonderful but it's totally natural, good for health...

308 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (133)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Balcony (23)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Single Room with Balcony (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Triple Room (26)
Viewed
Twin Room (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (102)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (82)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Spezia hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
1.0 km away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
890 reviews
0.3 km away
Crismar Hotel
Crismar Hotel
#1 of 22 in La Spezia
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
CDH Hotel La Spezia
CDH Hotel La Spezia
#4 of 22 in La Spezia
629 reviews
0.5 km away
Albergo delle Spezie
Albergo delle Spezie
#7 of 22 in La Spezia
204 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Mary
Hotel Mary
#11 of 22 in La Spezia
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Birillo

Address: Via Dei Mille 11-13, 19121 La Spezia, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > La Spezia
Price Range: $84 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Birillo 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Birillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Spezia
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Spezia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Birillo staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Birillo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you do not like stairs try first floor, no lift”
 of 5 bubbles KristjanandYr, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask about renovated room”
  • View
  • View
  • Bath
  • Room
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles VictoriaSPb, 6 Nov 2015 | Read review
“If traveling in the summer, ask for an AC room.”
 of 5 bubbles Puppimus, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
“2 of my friends had a room looking onto the street and found it very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Anitafromoz2010, 7 Feb 2015 | Read review
“During the time of the year when no A/C is required away from the street and higher floors will be preferable.”
 of 5 bubbles JosteinJ, 27 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay