We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Domus Mariae Benessere

1.9 km from Syracuse centre
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Wifi
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Via Vittorio Veneto 89, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely small hotel in a perfect location right across the plaza from the sea. It also has a fully equipped spa. The breakfasts offer plenty of choices. The hotel was/is a convent that has undergone a complete tasteful, quality renovation. There is an area of the building that still is home to a small group of older...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was once a convent and I believe an older sister or two is still living there. Beautiful setting and building, with some views on to the seafront. Good wi-fi, excellent breakfast buffet. An elevator from ground floor to upper areas. Extremely kind and helpful staff. Spa and massage facilities, too. One of the nicest places to stay in Sicily.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review

Dear Joan, thank you for your review. Yes, we are four sisters living here. I'm very happy to read about your terrific experience. Hope to welcome you soon. Regards Sister Rosamaria

Otley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really very kind and helpful people, they even managed to fill a hot water bottle (not something every Italian receptionist has been asked to do). Staff were very attentive and helpful. Slight jar was a E20 charge per person for half an hour use of the unseen indoor swimming pool. They maintain a multi page PDF of how to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bilboburgler
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for you review. We're happy to know that everything has been fine. Thank you also for reminding us that we have to update our information. We're going to to it in these days. Kind regards Sister Rosamaria

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Excellent accommodation, very good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Ideal location for the old town. Room was quiet. The only problem we had was finding it, despite the hotel's instructions! Parking was a bit tricky, but we managed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twourists
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoied your stay. Recently the Municipality of Siracusa changed few route ways, so now we're changing our PDF instructions. As concern parking, we have two reserved spots, because we are in the city center. Other free spots with white stripes could be found near the seaside. Regards Sister Rosamaria

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We stayed here and the breakfasts were amazing. They offered free bicycle use around the island and the room we had, had a view over the water. Lovely people and well located. The reception was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend as the best place in Ortigia

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowan3127
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment. We work hardly and it's a pleasure to read that about your stay. We wish to meet you again the next time. Best regards Sister Rosamaria

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 11 November 2016

We were very satisfied with the amenities and value for four nights at the end of October. The location is quite convenient; you can walk all over Ortigia and the property faces the sea, with a nice rooftop terrace. The breakfast was in a very attractive room of this historic building and included a good range of selections and nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PWMW
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment. We work hardly and it's a pleasure to read that about your stay. We wish to meet you again the next time. Best regards Sister Rosamaria

Yomitan-son, Japan
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We decided to stay here because of it's location by the water while only a couple minutes walk from the center of town. The rooftop balcony was nice to relax & take in the sea air. I was also intrigued that it used to be a convent and still had nuns on the premises working with the hotel. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment. We work hardly and it's a pleasure to read that about your stay. We wish to meet you again the next time. Best regards Sister Rosamaria

Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed next door at the Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, which booked massages for my husband and me at the Domus Mariae Benessere. We get massages often and both agreed that our massages were great, as well as, we thought, reasonably priced. A great way to unwind after a long couple of days of traveling. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matrlaw
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your comment about the massage in our SPA. Our SPA offers to the guests the possibility to book a lot of treatments, like wellness programs, massages, face and body treatments and also a nice massage on the sea view terrace... It' s a nice experience to try for the rest of your mind and your...

Salisbury, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Location: perfect, but for price, I expected more. My sea view was a small window with a sea view but you had to stand at the window to see out. Room was small, bed was small, a/c barely cooled the room. Breakfast was adequate, in fact better than usual for Italy. All in all though, I was disappointed. Would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucille S
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comment about your stay. Our rooms with sea view are with windows because the building is an old aristocratic Palace, so the windows are "bifore", mullioned windows that is not possible modify for the story of the Convent. The price is appropriate with the service that we offer and with the location where we...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We spent 3 nights at the Domus Mariae Benessere in January 2016 and had a very good experience, comfortable rooms, very good breakfast, good service (great at reception but a bit cranky crew at the breakfast lounge, but nothing to compromise). It is adjacent to a historic church (Do not miss it! we nearly did) and is the former site...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment. We work hardly and it's a pleasure to read that about your stay. We wish to meet you again the next time. Best regards Sister Rosamaria

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.0 km away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.0 km away
Domus Mariae
Domus Mariae
#19 of 72 in Syracuse
293 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#14 of 72 in Syracuse
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#6 of 72 in Syracuse
617 reviews
0.8 km away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.6 km away
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the magnificent Interlandi Palace built in 1300, a unique place to relax body and mind. 21 rooms, divided into single, double and triple rooms and junior suites, all with private bathroom, air conditioned and equipped with direct dial telephone, satellite TV, minibar, safe and hairdryer. In our spa you can have beauty and wellness treatments, with specific routes for every need. Emotional shower with aromatherapy and color therapy, meditation cave steam, Kneipp, pool, spa, beauty center, fully equipped gym. Our staff is on hand to answer any queries ... more   less 

Additional Information about Domus Mariae Benessere

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 89, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Price Range: $96 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Mariae Benessere 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Domus Mariae Benessere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Mariae Benessere Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#23 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Domus Mariae Benessere staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
San Luis Obispo
over a year ago
Sacramento, California
Faringdon, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Domus Mariae Benessere staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check if the wifi actually works in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 702SueG702, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea views”
 of 5 bubbles Rowan3127, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Parking is a challenge. Avoid room 107, as the window opens right to the smokers area and privacy is limited.”
 of 5 bubbles phils373, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“It is a small hotel, so if you want a sea view it is best to ask when booking.”
  • Single room.
  • Single room.
  • The bathroom with shower.
 of 5 bubbles martinw769, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“sea view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Taladys, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5