We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Cavour

Save
Share
Via del Proconsolo 3, 50122, Florence Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$185
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/09/21
Hotels.com
US$185
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/09/21
ZenHotels.com
US$185
US$126
View deal
SAVE US$59
Booking.comUS$185
PricelineUS$154
eDreamsUS$185
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1243)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (377)

About

#87 of 419 hotels in Florence
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Grand Hotel Cavour is set in a historic building dating back to 1300. It has a majestic hall with colonnades and stucco. On the same floor are our Restaurant American bar where you can admire the frescoes by Galileo Chini. Our rooms, recently renovated, have hardwood floors and are equipped with a tea kettle, minibar, LCD TV, free WiFi, safe and hairdryer. Our suites, perfect for a romantic stay, can also easily accommodate a family of four. On the sixth floor, from our Divina Terrazza you will enjoy cocktails and treat yourself to the most beautiful city views (its opening time and availability are subject to change). We also have a small fitness center with turkish bath. Our location between Dome and Piazza della Signoria is unbeatable: we are right in the middle of the most famous city monuments. Just outside our door you will find dozens of dining options and the best Florence boutiques. Florence main station and the Congress and Fair Citadelle can be reached on foot in 15 min.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Rooftop bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
2,603Reviews43Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,239
  • 890
  • 275
  • 112
  • 87
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Franckcostante wrote a review Mar 2021
Los Angeles, California40 contributions3 helpful votes
The staff members were all so wonderful from the bellboy, the food staff and everyone else. The reception staff could not have been nicer and looked after all our needs. In my opinion they make your hotel stand out from others, but not everything was perfect. The hotel driver who took us smoked in the car was rude.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hotel Cavour Fi, General Manager at Grand Hotel Cavour
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your comments, and your wonderful words about the Hotel Staff and service. Anyway, I have to say that I am not really sure you are talking about the Grand Hotel Cavour, firstly because I cannot find your name between the list of the Guests who stayed, secondly cause we are closed at present and since November 12th 2020, and it is strange that you are posting a review after at least more than four months. Lastly, if you really stayed at the Cavour, I presume the driver was organized by a tour operator or third part. We collaborate with just two drivers and I assure that they are both non-smokers. That said, thank you once more, but in case you will realize that we are not the right Hotel, I kindly ask you to cancel the review. Kind regards. Carlo Soldani Rooms Division Manager
Read more
K Gabel wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
I had made a reservation at the Grand Hotel Cavour as part of my much-anticipated honeymoon to Italy planned for March 2020. As my honeymoon quickly approached so did the news on COVID-19’s rapid rise in Italy. During the first week of March, CDC rose its travel advisory level for Italy to warning level 3: Avoid all non-essential travel. Brokenheartedly, I started calling all merchants I had booked reservations with to see what options I had. Ultimately, I wanted to receive credits to re-book for a later date once COVID-19 died down. All other merchants allowed me a refund, credit or re-book for a later date but not the Grand Hotel Cavour. On March 9, 2020, Italy announced its nationwide lockdown; just 2 days after I cancelled my reservation. Now that the whole country was on lockdown, I once again tried to compromise with the hotel. I called multiple times and spoke to different representatives and managers with no luck on flexibility. I was also told that the situation in Italy was perfectly safe. I received a response from the hotel stating “the situation in Florence area is absolutely claim” furthermore, “it cannot be canceled or amended”. I also called Agoda for a resolution and was told they would not issue a refund because it was the hotel’s decision and out of their control. Long story short... We lost over $900 because Grand Hotel Cavour was unwilling to refund or offer us a credit for a later date. All other Italy hotels, airfare and tour companies that we had booked were kind enough to offer us some resolution given the worldwide pandemic and that Italy was on lockdown. VERY DISAPPOINTING AND UNRESONABLE
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Grand Hotel Cavour Fi, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Cavour
Responded 8 Feb 2021
Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for your message. I should inform that, as per the Italian decree, we are keeping all payments made for not-refundable reservation. I have no idea why Agoda told you that the Cavour declined the possibily of the credit. It is also difficult to believe that you contacted us directly, because from March 18th 2020 we informed every Client about the issue of vouchers. I kindly ask you to contact me directly at the e-mail address rdm@hotelcavour.com and I will be delighted to check your situation. I inform you that I was in the position to ask Tripadvisor to cancel your review, cause you didn't stay at the Hotel, but, having not the possibility to recognize your reservation from your nickname, I do really prefer to be at your disposal, if you like. This is, on my opinion, the way to demostrate our good faith. I look forward to hearing from you. Regards. Carlo Soldani RDM
Read more
kdm1967 wrote a review Oct 2020
Cowbridge, United Kingdom218 contributions138 helpful votes
This lovely hotel is ideally located to see all the sights of Florence. The rooftop bar gives you some wonderful views of this historic city. Our room was spacious and airy, and the bathroom was lovely. Toiletries were very nice also. Breakfast was your typical European selection, but very good. The staff were friendly and professional. There are however lots and lots of beautiful hotels to choose from in Florence, but we found this hotel to be prefect for us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Carl wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Location of hotel was perfect to see florence. Beautiful hotel and staff all very professional and helpful. Rooftop bar gave an amazing view of florence. Stefano checked us in and was extremely helpful and informative. His knowledge of florence helped us to have a great stay in the city. Would definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
FelixOne wrote a review Oct 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom41 contributions44 helpful votes
We chose the Grand Hotel Cavour because of its perfect position and that turned out to be a good choice as it was the perfect base to walk around Florence. The disadvantage of the location is that it is in a restricted area for cars. If you arrive by car there is very limited temporary space outside to unload. Your car must then be taken to a parking garage (cost 75 Euro for 3 days) and cannot be left anywhere on the street. Because you have entered the control zone the garage have to inform the parking authorities or you can be fined. Best avoid arriving by car if you can! Reception at the hotel and all subsequent interactions with the staff were excellent. They are friendly, well-informed and very keen to help. The room was very good on a corner facing the streets in front of and at the side of the hotel. On the plus side the room was bright and it was great to see out onto the local area rather than the internal part of the hotel. On the negative side it was quite noisy as the there was no double glazing. At night it was possible to close shutters and the heavy drapes but that is not ideal if you like sleeping with an open window. On balance we enjoyed the room (212). The hotel offered a 'free mini-bar' if booking made directly. We did but the fridge was empty. On being reminded the hotel sent up stock but only water and soft drinks! The hotel breakfast was fairly typical for a hotel of this standard and served in accordance with Covid restrictions.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel florence
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceFlorenceDuomo / Florence Historic Centre / San Giovanni
NUMBER OF ROOMS
97
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Cavour
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Cavour?
Nearby attractions include Piazza del Duomo (0.2 km), Piazza della Signoria (0.2 km), and Gallerie Degli Uffizi (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Cavour?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Cavour?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Cavour?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Cavour?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Cavour?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gustarium, Degusteria Italiana agli Uffizi, and I' Girone De' Ghiotti.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Cavour?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Grand Hotel Cavour located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Florence.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Cavour?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Grand Hotel Cavour?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Grand Hotel Cavour offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.