We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence Italy
E-mail hotel
8 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (761)
360
Panoramas (45)
Room & Suite (456)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#24 of 431 hotels in Florence
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Since opening in 1989, Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel has been constantly evolving but it is only now, after several improvements made in the last 10 years, that we can say that it has a brand new face. After the last renovation rooms are all with parquet. The bedrooms, large and luminous, have all been decorated with antique furniture, artisan draperies and important pieces of contemporary art. Many of these are also present in the common areas. Attention to detail is given to each bedroom whether a single or a De Luxe - the differentiation in category (Executive, Superior, De Luxe or Junior Suite) is based purely on size. The range of accommodation types available allows us to satisfy the multiple needs of our guests, many of whom have contributed with their suggestions over the years, to the final décor of the bedrooms. Our motto is and has always been to improve in such a way to often pleasantly surprise our regular guests; we dont expect to be ‘the first nor ‘the best but we certainly consider our hotel easily distinguishable. All of the improvements have been made with the intent to maintain the original welcoming atmosphere intact; the evolutions have allowed us to upgrade from a friendly nest to a comfortable and warm cradle. a lovely bistro restaurant "IL DESCO" is available from 1200 til 3pm and again from 6,30 to 10,30 pm with seasonal menu with many organic products. Sundays close for dinner. (the restaurant at the moment is closed)
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Patio
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kid-friendly buffet
Wine / champagne
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Safe
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
398Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
192Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2754Reviews75Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,037
  • 596
  • 96
  • 20
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Steatosi wrote a review Nov 2022
Eindhoven, The Netherlands70 contributions31 helpful votes
Il Guelfo Bianco, on a price/quality ratio point of view, is one of te best 3 star hotels I have been in a long time. It is conveniently located less than 10 minutes walking from the Duomo, 2 minutes from the David. The courtesy of the staff, the attention to details in the rooms and common areas, the breakfast, the tidiness and cleanliness... Way over what I was expecting. At our arrival we got a small gift: a little bottle of the olive oil they produce (actually: very good oil!) and the staff has been extremely friendly and available in recommending a few places to go avoiding the touristic areas. We had a room with a balcony. The room was clean, the bathroom big and clean as well. I know I am picky, but if I have to find a less positive thing; the bed was soft. But this is a minor detail and has only to do with personal preference. The hotel itself is a small art gallery and it is wonderful to "get lost" in its corridors. The breakfast is good, with some nice touches like the bruschetta with fresh tomatoes and the mini-mozzarelle. The coffee/thee is not self service but you are served quickly by an extremely friendly lady (sorry, I don't remember her name!). To conclude: is it recommended if you want to spend a long weekend in Firenze? YES it is! Would I go back in case I would return to Firenze? At the price I paid (about100 EUR/nigh for a double room), certainly YES. Thank you for the splendid service offered!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonella Rocchini, Direttore generale at Il Guelfo Bianco
Responded 5 days ago
Are we happy for this review? YES, we are. Thanks very much. Off season is easier to find special rates. As the hotel's owner has also a farm in the country side, where they also produce organic extra virgin olive oil which is very good, for long stay (at least 4 night stay) a bottle is free as gift. Happy you have appreciated it. Hope to welcome you heer again , a big hug Antonella and all the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RDGROULX wrote a review Aug 2022
Guarulhos, SP90 contributions61 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Very nice hotel with large room and large bathroom. Everything was clean and the location is VERY close to the cathedral. We had exceptional service, super kind staff and special thanks to Francesco there for great reception and service. Breakfast was simple but fresh and there's a quaint, cost inner courtyard. Overall we could not have been more pleased.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonella Rocchini, Direttore generale at Il Guelfo Bianco
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Thanks very much Rdgoulx. We are so pleased you had a lovely stay here with us. As you wrote, you can easily walk anywhere from here: 7 minutes to the Cathedral, 5 minutes to the Accademia museum (David by Michelangelo) less than 20 to Ponte Vecchio. Close to everything but away from the crowds. Francesco send you a big hug to you. Take care, ciao Antonella and all the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin D wrote a review Nov 2022
The room was really tiny. There was a ledge where I could place my suitcase, so I was able to live out of the suitcase for the four days we were there. It was a little hard to walk around, there was so little space. there was no air conditioning, but we subsequently learned that very few hotels in Italy have air conditioning available in October. They did give us a fan, which was a help. We couldn’t leave the window open because street noise was really loud. Fortunately, they had a lot of shutters so we were able to block out the street noise with the shutters. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. While we were there, the toilet broke and it took two days to get it fixed. Also, Internet went out for some reason that was not clear to us. The one night we tried to eat in the hotel restaurant, it was too crowded and the way it was too long. The location was very good, close to the Duomo and close to a convenient supermarket. But we probably would not stay there again, just because of how difficult it was to maneuver in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonella Rocchini, Direttore generale at Il Guelfo Bianco
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Robin D, We do offer 4 kind of rooms : Executive room are the cheapest ones and they have a standard size, the Junior suites are the largest ones and of course are more confortable. So please, when you book a room, make sure you choose the one that best suits your needs. However we totally disagree with your description of the standard room : it seems you stayed for four days in a prison cell and if you were not happy why you didn’t ask to change room? During the high season we cannot make free upgrade but maybe we could show you another executive room. Air condition : the air condition is on in the summer time (usually from middle or end of May till September) . To be honest you really think that with temperatures from 10 to 25 degrees we have to keep the air conditioning on? I'm sorry but we really want to contribute to a more ethical existence and not destroy our planet. You are free to think differently but we are not on the same wavelength. Regarding the wc: the first day you advice us it didn’t work and we immediately checked it and it was working. the second day you said again that you couldn't get it to work so we called the plumber to change the button (the plumber arrived after 3 hours) Good luck for your next stay in Florence, in case you wish to come back here, write us directly so we can answer to all your doubs before you make a booking. Regards Antonella Rocchini
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Craig B wrote a review Oct 2022
Arvada, Colorado28 contributions4 helpful votes
We had the privilege of staying at Il Guelfo Bianco, and hope that we will be able to visit again. The location is great for taking in the important attractions in Florence. The staff is exceptionally warm and helpful. The rooms are unique and the public art in the hotel is very enjoyable. The breakfast is great and the service is friendly and accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonella Rocchini, Direttore generale at Il Guelfo Bianco
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Craig, we thank you for your review (unluckily we couldn't get the top ranking by you but it's ok - as we use to say in italian " we do not fall asleep on our laurels" ). Happy to read you enjoyed the contemporary art collection in the hotel: when the hotel has been opened in 1989 the owners used family paintings to decorate the drawing rooms but then, thanks to the advice of the Il Ponte Gallery in Florence, an important art collection has been created year after year to share with guests. We really hope to welcoem you here again in the future, a warm hug Antonella and all the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul D wrote a review Oct 2022
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania192 contributions208 helpful votes
Unassuming on the outside and from the lobby and lift. UGH up eight more steps to get to the room with 6 bags!! Open the door---WHOA!. Awesome, huge room that opens to an enclosed courtyard. Large sitting room with windows that open. Close to everything, I mean close to everything and with a great wine bar with tasty treats just down the street. Staff got us a taxi early in the am.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonella Rocchini, Direttore generale at Il Guelfo Bianco
Responded 27 Oct 2022
Dear Kiddogo, as you could see with your own eyes ... we like to amaze our customers! As we usually say our hotel is a small labyrinth: sometimes you have to take the elevator then climb a couple of steps (not always!) turn right then left and finally you find the room :-) and if you open the door and you say "WHOA!" you become our favourite guest :-) A big hug by all of us Antonella and the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nytraveller2014 wrote a review Oct 2022
New York City, New York7 contributions13 helpful votes
This was as close to the perfect Florentine hotel experience as I could have hoped for! The hotel is so convenient to everything whilst being just outside the pandemonium of the Duomo and the grittiness of the Train Station. The lobby is underwhelming but the warmth of the welcome makes up for it. Nothing was too much trouble for these Hoteliers; from late night cups of tea to reconfiguring our beds at the last minute or extending our stay when it appeared that there was no possibility of finding a way to do so. The rooms were as clean as a whistle, The breakfast was wonderful and plentiful. Every single person I encountered working in this hotel made it apparent that their priority was my comfort and an enjoyable stay. The supermarket across the street was also very handy!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Several excellent restaurants around the corner on via Guelfo
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonella Rocchini, Direttore generale at Il Guelfo Bianco
Responded 25 Oct 2022
What to say Nytraveller2014! We loved your review as you really understood what does hospitality means for us. Thank you thank you thank you. A big hug by all of us Antonella and all the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martha L wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Outstanding from the moment you walk in! Antonella and team welcome you as if you’re family! The hotel is ensconced with beautiful old world charm and all the services were top notch! Fabulous breakfast daily included (oh the cappuccino!) and the rooms are delightful! Someone is there at the desk 24/7 if you need anything! Everyone there goes above and beyond to make your visit wonderfully memorable! The location is great too - walking distance to everything and they will assist you booking any tours if you so desire. Now, when visiting Florence this will be our “go to” hotel!! Grazie to Antonella and team!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonella Rocchini, Direttore generale at Il Guelfo Bianco
Responded 24 Oct 2022
Dear Martha, we really thank you for your marvellous review. We have been so glad to have met you: your courtesy and cheerfulness was truly contagious. You spent several days with us and we can say....you arrive as a client you left as a friend! Grazie mille per tutto! Hope to welcome you here again. Ciao Antonella and the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wayne F wrote a review Oct 2022
Winnipeg, Canada3 contributions
Room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were excellent. Location was close to the things we wanted to see. We were on the 4th floor and “stumbled” on to the tiny outside terrace/patio they had. We would encourage the hotel to “make it known” as we enjoyed it every day we were there with a nice bottle of wine to,relax with after a busy day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonella Rocchini, Direttore generale at Il Guelfo Bianco
Responded 12 Oct 2022
Hello l9330Pkwaynef, thanks very much for your review. Good to read you enjoyed our small terrace/patio on the fourth floor. it is not that we keep it secret, but it is really small and without a real view, so to avoid misunderstandings, we do not advertise it as much. Of course if the guests, like you did, would like to sit there to relax or have a drink, they can do it. We cannot compete with the marvellous terraces of some hotels overlooking the city, but it is a small corner of peace and tranquility that guests can enjoy during the day. I take this opportunity to point out that we have two small internal courtyards here on the ground floor, which are also available to guests. The largest (as long as the weather permits) is also used for outdoor morning breakfasts. Hoping for welcoming you here again, a big hug Antonella and all the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine B wrote a review Oct 2022
Winnipeg, Canada4 contributions4 helpful votes
Our second time staying in this hotel. When we were planning a return trip to Florence we knew there was no need to look any further. Rooms were comfortable, breakfast was great. Location was wonderful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonella Rocchini, Direttore generale at Il Guelfo Bianco
Responded 10 Oct 2022
Thank you Guide591134. Sometimes when you leave a good memory for the first visit, the expectations are very high and ... if the maximum score is confirmed: we sing "Alè alè alè oo" "Alè alè alè oo" A big hug by all of us Antonella and all the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vikkandwill wrote a review Sep 2022
Mobile, Alabama94 contributions39 helpful votes
This is a real deal Italian hotel in the best sense. We wound up staying at Il Guelfo Bianco while in Florence for a wedding after a reservation mishap with an apartment rental, and what a lucky turn of events that was for us. We loved it. This is the sort of Italian hotel I remember from travels with my Mom when I was a very little girl. Cool tile terrazzo floors, large shuttered windows looking out over Florence, a front desk where you drop your keys when you go out, antique armoires and dressing tables in the rooms, Italian fabrics and art everywhere. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff so willing to help you in any way. In fact the front desk folks couldn’t have been nicer. We are in debt to the front desk clerk who nicely steered us to a little Chinese (yep!) café around the corner that was not crowded with tourists, full of locals (and where we bumped into our art historian guide taking a break) that was so good and a nice bit of a change. The front desk folks cheerfully called cabs, advised us on travel things and were always gracious and smiling. The hotel itself is clean and comfy and filled with original art. The morning breakfast is a delight served in a cheery room with a friendly wait staff. The rooms are air conditioned, and the hotel has a lift. The cleaning staff is super efficient and must have spies, because they daily nipped in and perfectly restored our suite the very minute we left the building apparently. The hotel is connected to a wonderful restaurant IL Desco Bistrot that deserves a glowing review unto itself. We would definitely stay here again. Il Guelfo Bianco is what you want when you are in Florence - to FEEL like you are in Florence.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonella Rocchini, Direttore generale at Il Guelfo Bianco
Responded 26 Sep 2022
Dear Vikkandwill, we are so glad we reopened your memory box; as I already wrote several times the hotel is located in two adjacent buildings from the late 15th century which have been completely refurbished but with the idea of ​​retaining many original details. Breathing the air of Renaissance Florence, naturally with modern comforts is what we aim to continue to do. Fortunately, we have a staff, especially at the front desk, who have been working together for many years and are therefore well-matched. "To FEEL like you are in Florence" is a very meaningful phrase for us. Thank you very much. A big hug Antonella and all the team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$99 - US$152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
il guelfo bianco florence, il guelfo bianco hotel florence
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceFlorenceFlorence Historic Center / San Lorenzo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IL GUELFO BIANCO: UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,013 Photos (Florence, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Il Guelfo Bianco
Which popular attractions are close to Il Guelfo Bianco?
Nearby attractions include Piazza del Duomo (0.5 km), Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore (0.4 km), and Galleria dell'Accademia (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Il Guelfo Bianco?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Il Guelfo Bianco?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Il Guelfo Bianco?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Il Guelfo Bianco?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Il Guelfo Bianco?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Palace, Royal India, and Ristorante La Cupola.
Are any cleaning services offered at Il Guelfo Bianco?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Il Guelfo Bianco?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Il Guelfo Bianco?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore (0.4 km), Basilica San Miniato al Monte (1.9 km), and Basilica of Santa Croce (1.0 km).
Does Il Guelfo Bianco have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.