We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Donatello

View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Donatello
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 202: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Donatello
 Click to rate
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Being a 15 minute walk from the center of Florence is a huge plus. Staff at desk was friendly and cooperate. Included breakfast was filling. Florence itself is an amazing attraction that can't be described, only experienced. Being within walking distance of the heart of this amazing city was an important part of experiencing Florence.

1Thank d0ls0n3
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We stayed at Hotel Donatello from the 1st of October to the 5th of October. The booking was done through booking.com and we felt the rate was competitive. It is located near the Piazza della Independenza about 4.0 km from the D'uomo and 1.5 km from the train terminus. Pulling suitcases on the cobbled footpaths ,however, is a noisy, difficult...

Thank Goparoamer
HotelDonatello, Responsabile reception at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry for you that you couldn't sleep well from the Moscquitoes machine in your room. The mosquitoes machine goes off every 20 minutes, but if the machine is not working you have mosquitoes in your room. The computer in the lobby in free charge.

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here after a 'secret hotel' type deal. It's fine at best. There are definitely much better hotels around. The man on reception at check in was very rude (I'm quite sure he's the owner as there is a painting of him in the hallway). He acted as if we were an inconvenience for checking in....

Thank Charlie L
HotelDonatello, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

Dear client. Thank you for your review. The pianting in the hallway is the owner but he is not working in the Donatello hotel, so i don't know who did your check-in but i will check it and i will tell him that you were not satisfied with the check-in

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I will summarize my experience as a traveler with family with seniors. Positives: 1. Breakfast - good variety 2. Very good location, not very far from station. Has a big park in front 3. You would get options for lunch/dinner nearby (3-5 mins walk) Negatives: 1. Do not try to walk from S. M. NOVELLA station if you have luggage...

1Thank MainakBandyopadhyay
HotelDonatello, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

Dear client. Thank you for your review. It was nice to have you as our guest. The building is an old characteristic Florentine building in the city-centre. I'm so sorry that you have had some problems to find your room. Unfortunatly their are mosquitoes in Florence and in all our rooms their are small posters near the windows ( keep...

Te Kauwhata, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Nice hotel, very close walking distance to a lot of beautiful churches etc...good room, clean and relatively quiet a no hassle hotel with great outside tables in courtyard for breakfast..reception people were fantastic except for one lady who could improve her PR skills, however thank goodness she was only on once during our three day stay...don't let this deter you...

Thank Peter H
HotelDonatello, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

Dear client. Thank you for your review. i hope to see you back in our hotel .

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Older hotel with some charm small rooms with not much place for luggage (we were 4) husband & I slept in single beds (trundle-like) not very comfortable even though we told them we were husband & wife with 2 kids! Staff were not as friendly (did ask for extra pillows & lady at desk had a bit of an attitude)...

Thank peter a
HotelDonatello, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

Dear client. Thank you for your review. I don't understand your complaint about the wifi because we have hi-speed fiber and we are one of the few hotels in the city with this kind of WIFI installation. If your travelagency made the reservation for 4 single beds and you checked in later then 4 am then we don't have any...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Lovely hotel, well preserved & maintained. Good rooms, good breakfast and the best of all is the location. Situated in a posh area and nearby all the major tourist spots in firenze with lot of restaurants around. 10 mins walk from the train station. Staff on the front desk is unfriendly and the hotel...

Thank Madhukar D
HotelDonatello, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

Dear client. thank you for your review. For WIFI we charge a fee but in the lobby their is a free internetpoint. We will talk to the staff at the reception

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We enjoyed our stay and will return. The staff were attentive and full of information. The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. There is a lovely inner courtyard to have breakfast or relax throughout the day. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

Thank melliz6
HotelDonatello, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

Dear client. Thank you for review. It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel

New Delhi
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The rooms very smelly and dirty. And the guy at the reception was very rude. Although in the heart of the city and close to all sightseeing points (within walking distance). The good part was that there is a huge park right in front of the hotel which is very pleasing.

Thank Pankaj264
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Hotel was very clean and nice. Beds were comfortable. Hotel staff was very courteous. Would stay here again when in Florence. We only ate breakfast here and each morning it was very good. There hotel was also very close to many places inside the city.

Thank Nathan G
HotelDonatello, Front Office Manager at Hotel Donatello, responded to this review

Dear client. Thank you for your review. And we hope to see you again

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (136)
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Bathroom (11)
Dining (3)
View from Room (5)
Room/Suite (31)
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (4)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Room/Suite (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Malaspina
Hotel Malaspina
#274 of 421 in Florence
428 reviews
San Lorenzo
Martelli Hotel
Martelli Hotel
#303 of 421 in Florence
558 reviews
Hotel Meridiana
#276 of 421 in Florence
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#192 of 421 in Florence
538 reviews
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#238 of 421 in Florence
401 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#321 of 421 in Florence
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Lorenzo

Neighbourhood Profile
San Lorenzo
San Lorenzo’s lively merchants shout out from behind stalls with an array of products in one of the most traditional neighborhoods in Florence. Different ethnic groups join together in the large outdoor market of San Lorenzo and in the Central Market, a vast multi-floored building. Visitors are bound to fall in love with this area and in particular, with its variety of food, especially those focusing on Florentine dishes as well as international selections. Nobody leaves San Lorenzo without a shopping bag in hand or with an empty stomach.
Explore this neighbourhood


  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Donatello

Address: Piazza Dell'Indipendenza 23, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Price Range: $119 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donatello 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Donatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donatello Hotel Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Donatello staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Donatello staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the single bedroom with the cot under the stairs , it is the worst in Florence”
Goparoamer, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to stay in the room closer to reception”
MainakBandyopadhyay, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“was happy with the situation of our room, not certain about others so can't comment”
U7788SQpeterh, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I liked our room facing the courtyard.”
  • inner courtyard
melliz6, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 109 was stunning.”
Sleek525, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$110* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates