We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Balade

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Balade
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Balade
See the most recent reviews
Showing 45: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I was for a football game whit friends on 2014,verry good place,nice room and modern,was a triple room but very large!! GOOD position in the city,verry cheap. Good staff to the reception and verry helpful!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariosoebay
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear guest, we thank you so much for the time you have taken to rate us. It is absolutely great to hear that you could benefit from our services. We look forward to welcome you again! Best regards, your Hotel Balade Team.

Milano
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Very nice hotel close to Reno and the center of Basel .. I stayed just two days but they were enough for me to understand how "balade's crew" is : so polite, so kind (specially the blonde girl that I met during my breakfast ) the room and the bathroom were very cleaned up .. Thanks so much, see u...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Federico F
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear guest, we thank you so much for the time you have taken to rate us. It is absolutely great that you had such a wonderful stay here at Basel. We will surely forward your compliments! It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again! Best regards, your Hotel Balade Team.

Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

In the heart of the Basel city and only a couple of minutes from the tram station is Balade hotel. A little difficult to find it in the first place as it was not on a Main Street. Upon reaching the hotel had a smooth check in. The staff at the hotel I have to say are very very good....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FoodiePhili
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your honest feedback. Unfortunately we cannot change our location, but luckily the red light district begins behind the hotel. During the day it is quite and usually you don’t realize it. Besides, the majority of our guests appreciates our central location close to shopping facilities, bars and restaurants. However, we do hope you...

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

First I would like to send my appreciation to the Balade staff. They are really nice, welcoming and doing great effort to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel itself is modern and clean and have everything (but precondition) to make the stay comfortable. The breakfast has nice variety and is fresh and tastey buffet. The hotel is 3min...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amir C
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear guest, we'd like to thank you so much for the time you have taken to rate us. It is so great to read that you were satisfied with your stay. We will forward your compliments to our whole team. Thank you very much for your honest feedback. Unfortunately we cannot change our location, but luckily the red light district...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Nice hotel with great breakfast and clean, functional, newly furnished rooms. But the hotel is located in a poor district--there are prostitutes around in the early evening before it gets dark and there are striptease clubs just around the corner from the hotel. For that reason I wouldn't recommend it to families. Although I will point out that the police...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear Gerry, thank you very much for your honest feedback. Unfortunately we cannot change our location, but luckily the red light district begins behind the hotel. During the day it is quite and usually you don’t realize it. Besides, the majority of our guests appreciates our central location close to shopping facilities, bars and restaurants. Anyway, we hope to welcome...

Nutley, Nj
Reviewed 13 May 2015

Very cute hotel in a great location. Easy walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The room was nice, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Very friendly staff and we were able to check in early. I would recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne, we'd like to thank you so much for you nice feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and benefit from our location. It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again in Basel! Kind regards, your Hotel Balade Team.

Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewed 30 November 2014

Modern hotel and minimalistic! The staff where friendly and helpful. The hotel is located VERY near to the center of town (Marketplatz). It's unbelievable how well normal life and prostitution coexist in the roads around the hotel!!! It's safe don't you worry!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarinosH_CY
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear Marinos, Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad you've enjoyed our modern hotel and the location close to the centre of Basel. Please note that if you would want to visitit us again book directly on our website and you'll receive a special "thank you" for your Booking. We'd be pleased to welcoming you...

St Martin
Reviewed 20 October 2014

I wanted a fairly central hotel without paying excessive Swiss prices. At 175 euros I thought the hotel was adequate, but nothing to rave about, and the location ok. But facilities were very limited with a bar/restaurant only open for breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YodaGuy
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback and we'd like to thank you for your stay at the Hotel Balade. We are glad you've enjoyed the reasonable and fair prices. We apologize if you think we don't offer enough facilities. Next time please let the front desk know and I'm sure they will be pleased to help you discover new facilities....

Oldham, England
Reviewed 16 October 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a triple room and we were moved to the block across the road from the main hotel. The apartment was huge and gave us everything we needed for a one night stay. The guy on reception was very friendly and helpful. He also arranged for somewhere for us to leave the key as we needed a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oldham_mark
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. It's nice to read that you've enjoyed your huge apartment at the Hotel Balade. We will forward your compliment regarding the receptionist who was very friendly and helpful, I'm sure this will motivate him. We noticed your review regarding the red light district and we are aware of this "problem",...

Stäfa
Reviewed 1 October 2014

First of all, the hotel is excellent. Our check-in was very efficient, the rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is basic but more than sufficient for what is a business hotel and not exactly a spa. In my opinion, business and leisure travelers will find what's needed. The only drawback is that it is very close to the red light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Patrick
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Balade, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken to rate the Hotel Balade and write a feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad you've enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise for the fact you felt being too close to the red light district, we are aware of this problem. There are also advantages about the location because the Hotel Balade...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Altstadt
Hotel Merian am Rhein
Hotel Merian am Rhein
#34 of 51 in Basel
279 reviews
Altstadt
East-West Hotel Basel
East-West Hotel Basel
#36 of 51 in Basel
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Basilisk Hotel
#42 of 51 in Basel
59 reviews
Hotel du Commerce
#40 of 51 in Basel
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only a 3 minute walk from the center of Basel, this hotel offers rooms with private bathrooms with safes, cable TV, free Wi-Fi internet and hairdryers. Free Baby crib. The conference Centre is a 10-minute walk from Hotel Balade.Basel's Train Station and the EuroAirport are easily accessible via public transportation. The reservation confirmation is valid for the use of public transport (2nd class) from EuroAirport or from the Basel rail stations (zones 10 and 13/EuroAirport) to the hotel on the day of arrival (2.)(V)(Spez). The riverbank of the Rhine and the tram station Rheingasse are a 2-minute walk away. Numerous stores, restaurants as well as many nightclubs and lively bars are located in the Kleinbasel historic quarter.Balade Hotel's bar is an inviting place to relax and sip your favorite drink in the evening. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Balade

Address: Klingental 8, Basel 4058, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Price Range: $158 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balade 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Balade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Balade staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Nottingham

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Balade staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that overlooks the square. This is away from the business district between the hotel and river and is a bit quieter.”
  • view from our room. All the water fountains in Basel are safe for drinking!
 of 5 bubbles stevegN1324MQ, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upper floor -- a little quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles tkelly7, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Choose one of the higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles Travelling_Patrick, 30 Sep 2014 | Read review
“if you have to stay here, get a room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles rcm49, 24 Jan 2014 | Read review
“I was travelling with my two sisters on a budget and booked the family room with three beds. Although this room was large and roomy I was able to swap the booking to two adjoining double rooms for not very much extra, which gave us ladies two bathrooms which was a godsend.”
 of 5 bubbles RuthY559, 5 Dec 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay