We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Show Prices
#6 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
See the most recent reviews
Showing 236: English reviews
Tadley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This place is a 10 minute train ride from the main station in Bern but it has some features that make the journey worthwhile. It is on the site of a shopping mall which means there are eating options easily available. However the key feature for the kids was the adjacent swimming pool which was included in the room rate....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew N
New York
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed for 2 nights. The front desk staff was friendly, but gave us the wrong floor and room number. We discovered that after trekking all the way up to find our key didn't work. Finding our way to the next floor down, the room was clean, rather dark, and the bathroom was very small with a nearly see-through door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyandCo
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review

Dear AndyandCo, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay. Please be assured that necessary steps will be taken to correct the points that you have raised...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This hotel is about 25 mins out of Bern Centre. The reception staff are friendly and polite. They told me I could use the nearby swimming facilities as part of the room rate - but I didn't get a chance. The room was clean an in good state of decoration. I might have been given a disabled room as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Hotel is good for business trips. Service is ok, staff friendly, rooms are good size. Typical Holiday Inn, nothing extraordinary. Convenient direct access to the mall with variety of restaurant choices plus a grocery store.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zarrin R
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The hotel part of the Westside Holiday Inn is exactly as you would expect from the chain - I have stayed in several recently and this is a good example. Bear in mind if travelling from overseas that Swiss prices for food and drink can be higher than you might expect - we were a little taken aback by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I got a decent room due to my IHG status but quite frankly I wouldn't pay a premium for the "better" rooms. I ate in the restaurant one evening but it was bland and extremely overpriced. Other nights I ate in the restaurants in the shopping centre. This still suffers from being a destination hotel for holiday groups and coupled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review

Dear Keith C, Thank you for choosing us and for being our IHG Rewards Club member. It is indeed regrettable that your stay was not 100% satisfactory due to the food quality and the level of service you received. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I have forwarded your feedback to our hotel management...

Alcudia
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Hotel is well located by both tram and train connections, about 20 minutes from the city centre. Fine verandah /bar area outside , obviously popular too with locals. There is a major shop complex just outside with many restaurants etc. Room was fine and wifi sound.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David George A
Mississauga
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Pros: The rooms were amazing. Not very spacious but very modern. Hotel was very clean. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is attached to a shopping mall, so you have easy access to shops and restaurants. The train station is literally across the hotel and it will take you 8 mins on the train to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rollerball999
Kriftel, Germany
Reviewed 11 September 2016

This is a modern hotel with spacious, clean rooms and generally good service. I stayed for three nights and slept well. A train and a tram station is just opposite the hotel and makes it easy to get into the city. We were offered free tickets by the hotel. A shopping center is in the same building and offers at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank filfil67
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

If you are looking for a bed for the night in a clean and modern hotel this ticks all the boxes. It doesn't offer much more beyond this. Service was efficient and very close to the station for getting around. The hotel is also build into the shopping mall which has some alternative options for drinks/food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review

Dear Tom C, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and for choosing our hotel for your travel needs. Our goal is to ensure you feel valued and appreciated and I am happy our hotel exceeded your expectations. We are glad to read you liked our clean room accommodations, staff service and convenient hotel location. We are...

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
7.0 km away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
752 reviews
5.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
5.8 km away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
705 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
475 reviews
6.1 km away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#10 of 30 in Bern
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Price Range: $186 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bern
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Bern-Westside staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Bern-Westside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I found that the rooms at the end of the hallway, with a view to the south, was very quiet and offered great views of the Swiss Alps.”
  • Winter sunrise, such great views.
 of 5 bubbles 98DanM, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“hard to say. Far from elevators if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles GHCMontreal, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go for a higher room away from the lifts to avoid noise of tourists dragging large cases along the floors”
 of 5 bubbles 496keithc, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I recommend a room facing the front of the hotel, it gives you a great country view with the snow capped mountains in the distance.”
  • Winter sunrise, such great views.
 of 5 bubbles 98DanM, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“floor 7 or 8 is more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Susie1988, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5