We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hotel Ambassador

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Ambassador
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 122: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed with my family in this hotel for 4 nights. The location is very good, just 10 mins walk from Lucerne main train station. old Town, Chappel Bridge, The lion monument are all in walking distances. Breakfast had decent spread. Staffs were polite. But the wifi was very poor and unreliable. The hotel had one tiny lift, but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Subhash_rit
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank you for your Review. We are pleased to hear that you have had a good an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you on another Occasion. Have a good time. With best Regards Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Stayed here with my family in the beginning of October for 4 nights. The location is good, close to train station, shopping complex, and all tourist places. For us, the plus was an Indian restaurant (Kanchi) right across the street. The rooms are reasonable in size, clean and hotel has a friendly, English speaking staff. The breakfast was decent with... More 

Helpful?
Thank shiprasg
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi Shiprasg Thank your that you have taken the time to Review our Hotel. We understand that you had a good time in our Hotel. Please let us know when you come back in order we can make Arrangements once you plan to bring your entire Family. Not all of our rooms are suitable for families. We know it sometimes... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Pros-Recently stayed at Ambassador for 2 nights, close to train station, decent breakfast. Rooms are clean. We arrived early and could check in right away. Friendly English speaking staff. Cons- No AC, and in the Summer it is actually very hot.

Helpful?
Thank maya3132016
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi thank you for your Review and good Points. We are happy you had a good stay. We are sorry about no air condition. We provide Fans in all of our rooms which should help a Little. Best Regards Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

I stayed in this hotel because of business reasons. Excellent location, new and clean, nice staff. The only things to complain about & were missing for perfection: - No air conditionned in the rooms... believe me, in Summer it would have been necessary - TV quality was bad. The signal didn't arrived properly, so the TV shows were often interrupted... More 

Helpful?
Thank iboumans
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi thank you for your Review and good comments. Sorry about no Air Condition. Usually it is only needed during a couple of weeks during the summer. We provide Fans in all of our rooms. Thank you for mentioning the TV Signal. Unfortunaltely we only realize now and will check asap. Hope to be able to welcome you back sometimes.... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2016

The Hotel serviced us well. Location is good. Breakfast is also not bad. Rooms not that spacious but reasonable. Bath tub needs to be more protected from water falling out rather the a small glass shield.

Helpful?
Thank kzainuddin
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Hello thank you for your Review and thank you also for the good Points. We are so happy you had a lovely stay in our Hotel and in our City of Lucerne. Hopefully you can make it back sometimes. With best Regards Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team More 

Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Room was well laid out and spotless. Good location, 2 minute walk to the lake and 1 min walk from the Lucerne Lion. Small shopping mall with a CO OP grocery store. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast well stocked and plentiful.

Helpful?
Thank pablo602
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Hello from Lucerne Thank you very much for your good and nice comment. We are so pleased to read your lines. Hope you can make it back sometimes With best Regards Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team More 

East midlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Checked in two lovely girls couldn't do enough for us. Free iced tea very welcome in the hot weather. Room on the 6th floor was very quiet and very clean. No tea and coffee..no air conditioning. That's why I say very good and not excellent. Right in centre of town lots of shops. Subway next door in a small shop... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nursetutor
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank you very much for taking your time and writing such nice comment. We are so pleased you had a good time. Our staff is doing such a good job - they will love it to read your comment. It is like balsam. We hope to be able to welcome you again here and wish you a good summer.... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I, along with my wife stayed at this hotel in June 2016 for four nights. We found this hotel more than satisfying and equipped with all amenities & all as claimed. Location of this hotel is great. It is at 15 min. walking distance from main train station. There are two ways, one by lake side, slightly longer but more... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kunal_J_Rane
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi thank you for your full review. You did really described all well. From the location, the room and our staff. Thank you very much for doing this. We do try to satisfy all customers and to make them happy. Recently we invested and will invest again in the wifi system. We are so glad you could use it at... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We booked a triple room in the second week of July 2016. There were some goods and some not-so-goods for us during our stay at this hotel. Goods – amazing friendly staff, clean hotel and rooms, central location, unlimited coffee around reception Not so goods – No air conditioning (average temperature was 30 Celsius and hence, AC would have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kanika c
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank youf for your review. thank you for taking the time and writing your comments. We are sorry for not AC in all of the hotel. Our hotelbuilding ist over 100 years old. This makes it difficult to install aircondition. We need it only during the hottest day in Lucerne. We are really sorry about our WIFI System. Recently... More 

Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Almost a full year ago a previous reviewer said that the wi-fi here is "terrible" and that it "kept dropping out, disconnecting." The hotel staff responded by saying, "Thank you for the comment about the WIFI - we are working on that. We hope to present you a very fast WIFI upon your next visit." I can assure you that... More 

Helpful?
Thank StefanZweig
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank you for taking the time and sending us your review. We are so sorry that you had not been able to connect to our Wifi. We did in Fact replace the WIFI System with a fast fibre access and new connection (pending on Room Nr., Name and Departure Date) All free of charge. However we admit and still... More 

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#27 of 68 in Lucerne
287 reviews
0.1 km away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#34 of 68 in Lucerne
688 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#28 of 68 in Lucerne
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#23 of 68 in Lucerne
383 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
418 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador is an attractive and welcoming city hotel in the heart of Lucerne, and at the heart of the action. Sights such as the world famous Lion Monument or the fascinating Bourbaki Panorama are right on the doorstep. The vibrant historical city centre is only a few steps away. Also close-by is the lakeshore promenade along Lake Lucerne, a delightful place to stroll along and take in the atmosphere.Rest and relax in our friendly rooms with four-star comfort. And enjoy the market-fresh cuisine at Restaurant Lapin.A multi-storey car park offering special discounted rates is available right next to the Hotel Ambassador. We look forward to seeing you ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Zuerichstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Price Range: $186 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Lucerne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ambassador staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had rooms facing the courtyard, so there was no street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles shiprasg, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 606.. I had a balcony!!”
  • view of the room at my arrival
 of 5 bubbles iboumans, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with Balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 892kanikac, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I always choose room 504!!”
 of 5 bubbles Baswold, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room not on street front. The noise may bother some but didn't annoy us.”
 of 5 bubbles Tolly4, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay