We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Walhalla

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Walhalla
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 61: English reviews
Hua Hin, Thailand
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Nice hotell nerbar the railway station. the room was a family room on the top floor. We realy appriciate the coffee maskin in the room with Nestlee different coffee tastes to choose between. Oterher wise was the room clean fresh and nice. The people at reception was very polite and understanding. More than perfect breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 990magnus
MBMueller, Manager at Hotel Walhalla, responded to this review

Dear 990magnus Many thanks for taking the time to leave a positive comment on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to see that we could convince you of our quality of services. I will pass your comment to the reception staff, who will be very happy about your positive comment. We are looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards from...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Ideal location next to the station and within a short walking distance to the heart of the old town. Check-in was fast, staff was courteous but nothing special. The room on the 3rd floor was facing a courtyard. It had no view but was quiet. Accommodation itself was a mixture of old and new. Some light switches and the wardrobe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliviauk
Paris, France
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Horrible service, Dominique from the reception was very unfriendly and rude. Angelica and Silvio very friendly. Staff from the Restaurant was drunk. Room was ok, breakfast was ok too.I will never come back again. No air condition or minibar in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank inverso01
MBMueller, Manager at Hotel Walhalla, responded to this review

Dear inverso01, We are very sorry to hear that our quality of service was not up to your expected level. I will investigate the issues you mentioned in your comment and you can be certain that I will take immediate action. It is important for us to provide to our guests top service in an environment of greatest comfort. Therefore...

Deventer, The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The location is very good in the center of the city Very close the train station and the shops, taxi standing around the station Only it's very noisily because of the train and a lot of people Room is small butt nice but very clean Bed is small Bathroom is complete

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willem S
St. George, Utah
Reviewed 16 September 2016

A good place to stay especially if you are using the train system...just across the street from the station. Hotel is fine, clean and with a good breakfast. Street side can be a little noisy with trams and roadworks but in general...if you get a good deal...no problem staying there. Center city is minutes walk away

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UtahBikers
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We arrived here after a long journey by air from Singapore & then 4/5 hours by car in heavy rain from Frankfurt to find St Gallen mostly under repair. We eventually found our hotel & it was quite pleasant. Checked in & then went out for a walk in the continuing rain around the town. As it was a Sunday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carringtonfs
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Hotel was chosen because it was close to the train station. It was an easy walk from the station to the very unappealing building across the road. Very basic bedroom but it was clean and fairly comfortable. I chose a room overlooking the courtyard which sounded nice but it was looking into opposite office windows. Breakfast was also a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dadisnest
MBMueller, Manager at Hotel Walhalla, responded to this review

Dear dadisnest, We are very sorry to hear that our quality of our hotel was not up to your expected level. The view of our courtyard rooms might not be a view overlooking the city, but they are on the quiet side of the Hotel. It is important for us to provide to our guests top service in an environment...

Reviewed 27 May 2016

Although I was a bit grumpy after a long trip to St. Gallen, the staff immediately made me feel absolutely at home and at ease. In short (for detailed review, keep reading): I can wholeheartedly recommend the hotel Walhalla, due to its location, comfort, amenities and, last but definitely not least, its exquisite staff. The layout of the rooms is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ValerieGoesGlobal
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We are in general pleased with our stay. All run according to what we would expect in Switzerland with very efficient and friendly staff. The room was not big but was functional maybe a little less than you would expect in a 4 star hotel. The only downside was the breakfast. It has very little variety and on the second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taliesin_ap_Elffin
MBMueller, Manager at Hotel Walhalla, responded to this review

Dear Taliesin_ap_Elffin, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a positive comment on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to see that we could convince you of our quality of Services. We depend on comments like yours about our breakfast, because our goal is to improve our service every day and I will take this as an opportunity to fullfil...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 April 2016

If you are planning on spending lots of time in St Gallen, here is where you want to be. It is nearly impossible to get lost finding your way to the hotel as it is at the corner adjacent to the train/bus station which means you can travel anywhere with relative ease. If you wish to walk, it takes five...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasplaystennis

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Gallen hotels
0.4 km away
Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, St. Gallen
0.3 km away
Hotel Dom
Hotel Dom
#3 of 18 in St. Gallen
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sorell Hotel City Weissenstein
0.4 km away
Hotel Vadian
Hotel Vadian
#5 of 18 in St. Gallen
69 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#13 of 18 in St. Gallen
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Hotel Walhalla

Address: Poststrasse 27, St. Gallen 9001, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walhalla)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Price Range: $133 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Walhalla 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Walhalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Gallen
St. Gallen Best Western
Best Western Walhalla
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Gallen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Walhalla staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Walhalla staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back site of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles willems484, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“See above on noise”
 of 5 bubbles UtahBikers, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Our room overlooked the road & the railway station & was fine on the 5th floor”
 of 5 bubbles Carringtonfs, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are nearly the same”
 of 5 bubbles YTCHENG, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
“As high as possible because of the street noise below.”
 of 5 bubbles PetriP_12, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay