We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chalet Hotel Steinbock

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chalet Hotel Steinbock
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chalet Hotel Steinbock
See the most recent reviews
Showing 30: English reviews
Canmore, Canada
Reviewed 30 May 2013

On my recent travel to Switzerland I stayed at the Hotel Steinbock and had a fabulous time.The staff,the room,the drinks and for the amount I paid for my room it was superb.I was only supposed to stay for 3 nights and I extend and stayed for 8 as I enjoyed so much. I would like to thank the staff for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank airporter32
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Steinbock guest from Canada thank you so much for having chosen to stay at the Steinbock. And thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really glad that you wrote to Tripadvisor. Unhappy people almost always write, happy ones not so often. We, the Ponzio Family (Jackie and Salvi and all their relatives working at the Steinbock)...

Brentwood
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We are frequent visitors to Grindelwald and although we have never stayed in the hotel the restaurant is fantastic. In the peak season (we always travel Feb half term or over Christmas) booking is best as it gets busy. On our last trip for a week visited this restaurant 3 times. In our opinion their pizzas are better than Onkle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dinn20
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear guests of our restaurant. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to read, that you are regular guests of ours and that you are already planning to come back soon. Your advice, to make a reservation to be sure to get a table, is certainly very helpful for all those who so far have...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We were on holiday in December 2012 and what a lovely hotel to stay in. The owners and staff are friendly and were always willing to help. We can recommend this hotel at any time and would personally like to thank the owners especially Jackie for making our stay so memorable. The best lasagne eaten at the hotels restuarant.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nats413
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Steinbock guests from South Africa, you are absolutely right, Grindelwald is a paradise in the snow and this in an unique mountain scenery. And our small chalet style hotel is for sure a very cosy place, right at the bottom station of the First gondola. We, the Ponzio family, would like to thank you so much for having chosen...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Nicely appointed hotel with friendly staff made for a great stay. They spit roast a pig fairly regularly and that is an Interesting meal (just the once, it's a bit on the high side like all food in Swiss holliday villages.). Being a bit beyond the commercial district made for a quieter stay. Bus stop right outside and after you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pdunchob
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Steinbock guests from Australia, thank you for having spent a few days with us. As I (Jackie) am Australian too, it is always a special pleasure to welcome guests from back home, especially taking in consideration, how far apart the two countries are. Hoping that you will visit us again one day, we remain with best regards. Jackie and...

Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Our stay at the Chalet Hotel Steinbock was equisite. The location could not have been more perfect and the staff and the food superb. It is most beautiful village you will ever visit and the local shops and restaurants remind me of the old days. It is truly a "must stay" when considering a trip to Switzerland.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeffrey v
Ypcbeam, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Steinbock guests from California. Many thanks for your wonderful review and for having chosen the Steinbock for your stay in Grindelwald. Grindelwald is a naturally grown village. It was a farmer village before the first tourists started to come about 150 years ago. It has almost no modern buildings, most houses are in the very traditional chalet style. The...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel this month and were gobsmacked by the terrible customer service, bad attitude of staff and the amount of flies in this hotel. On our arrival, which was late afternoon, there was no-one at reception, which we soon realised was a regular occurrence. The only staff around were restaurant staff who just ignored us and when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ingrams57
Ypcbeam, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Steinbock guests. We are really very sorry for what happened to you in our small budget hotel Steinbock. This summer is pretty wet and therefore flies are entering the bulding whereever a door or a window is open. By the way, we are not the only hotel/restaurant with that problem. We had several experts taking a look at the...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Hotel Steinbock in the centre of Grindelwald, Switzerland. We were camping and the heavens opened in biblical style so we needed a posh camping place,ie a hotel. Not cheap at 90 Swiss francs per person per night plus tax and B'fast. Room was fine, good view of the Eiger through the rain and at the front. Room good size but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brianandnikki
Ypcbeam, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Steinbock guest. thank you for your stay in our hotel. We are sorry to hear, that you would not return. CHF 90.- might be expensive for you now. Our rate in Swiss Francs,was even higher 10 years ago, but at that time the Swiss Franc was not so strong. Your currency, only 3 years ago was 2.25 to the...

An EasyToBook.com traveler
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
Ypcbeam, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

rainb0wtraveler
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The rooms were clean and comfortable, restaurant food was decent, and the breakfast buffet in the morning was a bit on the sparse side. The wifi signal was weak and inconsistent. They provide a vat of water to boil your eggs in the morning - great for being able to make soft or hard boiled eggs! Cheese served in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rainb0wtraveler
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear guest of the Chalet Hotel Steinbock Grindelwald. Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. Before the winter season starts, the resort is very quiet, our hotel one of the few open. There were not many guests when you stayed with us and it is therefore very difficult to offer a bigger breakfast buffet. A...

Oregon
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Hotel Steinbock is in a perfect central location in Grindelwald. A 5 minute walk takes you to the main shopping area, to the First Gondola and the train station. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern. The restaurant was the best food we had in all of our Switzerland journey's. Ponzia and the entire wait staff provided excellent service and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Riverhaven
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review

Dear Steinbock guest. Thank you very much for having chosen the Steinbock for yoru stay in Grindelwald. Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are very happy, that you wrote a review, as happy guests hardly ever do, unhappy ones however almost always. We wish you all the best and hope, that you will return soon again. with best regards....

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 42 in Grindelwald
486 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 42 in Grindelwald
738 reviews
0.7 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 42 in Grindelwald
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 42 in Grindelwald
266 reviews
0.6 km away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#18 of 42 in Grindelwald
220 reviews
0.1 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 42 in Grindelwald
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Chalet Hotel Steinbock is a beautiful wooden chalet, right in the centre of Grindelwald, just next to the first gondola (skiing area in winter, hiking paradise in the summer). The Steinbock was mentioned in books in 1700, but was completely rebuilt in 1991. It is famous for its restaurant - the most popular restaurant in town - with Italian and Swiss cuisine. The restaurant is famous for the huge steaks, the great pizzas, the excellent liver, to just name a few dishes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Steinbock

Address: Dorfstrasse 189, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Price Range: $245 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel Steinbock 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Hotel Steinbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Steinbock Grindelwald, Switzerland - Jungfrau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chalet Hotel Steinbock staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you ask for a room with a view facing the Eiger mountain. You will not want to leave this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffreyv154, 11 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Ask for a front facing room, view of the Eiger.”
 of 5 bubbles Brianandnikki, 11 Jul 2012 | Read review
2 of 2