We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carlton-Europe Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Carlton-Europe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carlton-Europe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 229: English reviews
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

With in walking distance of interlaken train station.nice warm welcome from staff. Provided with maps and other information about the city.for people looking for halal meal the restaurant is just next to it.nice buffet breakfast.views from room were not ideal

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sherpao
Auckland
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The location of this hotel - an easy walk from the Interlaken Ost train station is great. Its a nice old building, but the renovations are kind of odd and feel a bit cheap. But, for the area, its not expensive, and more than adequate. I was upgraded to a front room with a balcony overlooking the river, so that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mignonandchic
Beaudesert, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Made to feel very welcome on arrival with offer of iced tea. We were supplied with lots of maps and information and with this local advice ended up saving us time and money, reference Schilthorn excursion as opposed to Jungfrau particularly with inclement weather. In the end we didn't either as both peaks were whited out. Room was pleasant with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights as our base for a guided train holiday. We received a very friendly welcome from Lin and Nicole which included a refreshing glass of iced tea and a short history and description of the hotel. Having already read some reviews we were delighted to be allocated a room in the Europe side...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jennie J
New Delhi, India
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The room was we bad and not fresh. The staff was extremely rude there were 2 female staff and one male manager. They insulted two ladies as they wanted to check out before their time and also asked them to pay for the night they stayed + two more nights as they had to pay the company the booking was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 4NN2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just a short walk away from Interlaken Ost station this hotel has large spacious rooms and wide balconies overlooking the street with a view of the mountains. Carlton Europe has a a mix of vintage and modern with wooden floors and tea makers . The best part is the ever helpful staff who provides a 10 min session as soon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dineshnambiar2000
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The room was spacious with two balconies and a modern bathroom. The breakfasts and dinners were great, and on the free nights there were plenty of restaurants of all kinds nearby if you wanted them, but we preferred to eat well in the hotel, 3 courses with an amuse bouche for 29 swiss francs. The bits and pieces that seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonard P
Carlton-Europe, Manager at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leonard Thank you for having stayed with us and your kind feedback. You are right that I, as the manager, haven't showed up enough during your stay. I was out ot the hotel almost all the time. Please accept my apologies. I hope, that my staff was able to replace me and to give you all the requested services...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great location and very close to Interlaken Ost train station. Thats why we chose it for a rest point before going to Jungfraujoch. Room is clean but old fashioned with simple settings. Appreciated our room provide a tiny balcony(with coffee table and chairs) facing to the city with panorama view, we enjoyed a pre-breakfast here with some biscuits and tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
Carlton-Europe, Manager at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris - thank you for having come from Hongkong and staying with us. Our Team is happy that you liked us and our Services. Knowing that the buildings have been constructed around 1900 we will continue to renovate and to save the traditional rooms in the future. Your kind feedback encourages us to continue. Have a healthy and good...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very nice location. Walking distance from the train station. 200m The receptionist was friendly. Breakfast was nice. Bathroom was very small, that was a disappointing factor. The floor was wooden and it used to squeake a lot when you walk on it at night. The room was not sound proof. At night we could hear people walking on the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haneef R
Carlton-Europe, Manager at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Haneef Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We are sorry for not having matched to all of your expectations. Indeed the buildings are almost 120 years old and very traditional and not at all constructed like the art of building of present. Like this the wooden floors may be noisy. We have some special rules of the...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 9 June 2014

First the good points: 1. Location is great; Walking distance to Interlaken Ost Train Station 2. Check-in staff (Sandra) was great, took time to explain surrounding areas and activities 3. Beds were comfortable Cons: 1. Internet (wifi) is horrible in our room (2nd floor). Absolutely no signal and when it worked (rarely) it was horrible. In the lobby it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jb_ta
Carlton-Europe, Manager at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jb_ta Thank you very much for your constructive feedback and your value towards our Sandra, who loves welcoming our guests. We are sorry about your WLAN-experiences and are seeking the reasons, why you have had bad connections in some wings of the Hotel. Normally you should have a good access to our WLAN at almost every edge of this...

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
637 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
2,203 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
1.0 km away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
345 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Art Nouveau hotel "Carlton-Europe" has a very long tradition. Led by a young team which will tailor to your needs and reflect the charm of the house. After a visit to this idyllic setting, you will take a feeling of security back home. Centrally located just 200 meters from the Interlaken Ost train station on the famous Höheweg. Starting point for excursions in the Jungfrau region as well as the recreation area around Lake Thun and Brienz. Parking lots for cars (chargeable). On foot you reach the center of Interlaken within 5 minutes. The Hotel Carlton-Europe can offer the following: -Team building, motivation -Adult education -Full Catering -Conference rooms with plenty of ambience. The hotel rooms are individually renovated with own equipment. Restaurants: Ruedihus (traditional Swiss cuisine), Johnny's Gärtli (Steakhouse), Shalimar (Indian cuisine and pizzas) and Johnny's Bar Dancing. Leisure: Billiards, Table Tennis, Chess. Large hotel garden with a natural swimming pond. Central, quiet location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carlton-Europe Hotel

Address: Hoeheweg 94, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Price Range: $190 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton-Europe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carlton-Europe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Europe Hotel Interlaken
Carlton Europe Interlaken
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Interlaken
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carlton-Europe Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Carlton-Europe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“take a mountain view as the snow mountains look amazing from the room.”
  • view from room
 of 5 bubbles ketkif, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher rooms have better views, but all have a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles 926mary, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view to the alps”
 of 5 bubbles Travelooneyblog, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you think the train would be too noisy then choose a room at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles travellingtaff4, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the third floor and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles wasthere1967, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5