We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Brühlbergstrasse 7A, Winterthur 8400 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
ibis Budget
US$97
View deal
Expedia.com
US$96
View deal
Priceline
US$90
View deal
Booking.comUS$97
Travelocity
travelup.comUS$102
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 27/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from ibis budget Winterthur
Updated 27/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 15 hotels in Winterthur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The ibis budget Winterthur (former Etap Hotel) is an affordable non-smoking hotel in the business district, just 5 minutes' drive from the train station. It is close to the museums and city center which is home to one of Europe's largest pedestrianized areas. The hotel has 84 comfortable rooms with air conditioning, free WIFI, paid parking and a nearby restaurant. Whether visiting as a couple, with your family or as a group, enjoy an affordable midweek or weekend break in Winterthur.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Baggage storage
Gift shop
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Vending machine
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German
342Reviews4Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 130
  • 106
  • 38
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Philippe G wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Receptionist was really nice and the rooms were very good also. We slept well and the breakfast was delicious. For the price, i can tell you, it's really worth it If you want to visit the city or even just for one night. Highly recommend !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
tinapiper wrote a review Dec 2019
Hoersholm, Denmark1 contribution
Really good room for the price given. Comfortable beds for kids also with a bed above the parents bed. All things used in a hotel room all up to standard. So all in all really good value for the price given for the hotel room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam S, Reception at ibis budget Winterthur
Responded 20 Dec 2019
Dear Tinapiper Thank you for sharing your experience here I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Yours sincerely Shohrat
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AKKAUB wrote a review Apr 2019
Timbuktu, Mali135 contributions93 helpful votes
Wow i am surprised by how small the rooms are, never the less, it is good only to sleep and thats it. Breakfast is poor but the management assistance is great. This is a good cheap hotel, 2 stars and don’t expect much.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam S, Reception at ibis budget Winterthur
Responded 19 Apr 2019
Dear Mr. AKKAUB Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your concerns. We really appreciate it, as the opinion of our guest is very important to us, in order to keep on improving our quality and service I am sorry to hear that you were a bit disappointed with the size of our rooms. Unfortunately we cannot change this. We hope to see you and welcoming you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Shohrat Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amethyst wrote a review Oct 2018
Trieste, Italy98 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
We stop over here from Zürich,Switzerland. Because me and my hubby made a wedding anniversary tour. I been also in another ibis budget hotels. The hotel is not bad and our room seems new.the toilet has automatic light.the shower is big and bright. Bed is usual like in other ibis budget. The building is connected in ibis hotel (red). You need to pay the parking lot. There is also a mcdo beside. There is a vendo macchine for coffee (2.50 franc) and other stuff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam S, Reception at ibis budget Winterthur
Responded 30 Dec 2018
Dear RainRain D Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your opinion ,we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us As your opinion is very valuable and help us to improve our service and quality. We hope to welcome you back very soon! Best regards Shohrat Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
477NANS477 wrote a review Oct 2018
Prangins, Switzerland2 contributions
Quality was exactly as expected for an Ibis Budget. Rooms are small, but clean. Wintherthur is a nice location, and the hotel is well connected by bus to the station and the city center. There is a shopping mall in front of the hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2018
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam S, Reception at ibis budget Winterthur
Responded 30 Dec 2018
Dear Guest Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your opinion ,we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us As your opinion is very valuable and help us to improve our service and quality. We hope to welcome you back very soon! Best regards Shohrat Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leon B wrote a review Jul 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel overall is verry bad and too expensive. The workers sucked and didn't listen at all. The food in the morning was 12Frank for every morning and there weren't even simple eggs.... Only dry and 4days old nasty bread. I went to a lot off hotels in my live and this one was by far the WORST. Don't go to this insanly bad hotel!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam S, General Manager at ibis budget Winterthur
Responded 11 Sep 2018
Dear guest, We thank you for sharing your dissatisfaction. Your comments, positive or negative, are for us very important and allow us to continually improve the quality of our services. We pay special attention to the price-quality ratio, and we adjust our prices compared to comparable hotels in Winterthur. We apologize if we have not met your expectations in this regard. We regret the lack of supply during your stay at breakfast. Boiled eggs and fresh bread are part of our selection. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and regain your trust. Best regards, Myriam Schmid - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ad D wrote a review Jul 2018
13 contributions4 helpful votes
Very bad, they didn't listen to the gasts. Booked one week, every day must go to the reception. The card for the room didn't work. The cleaner let the door open after she cleaned the room. Everybody can walk in the hole day. We go to the reception, only laughing. The airco didn't work good. When i came in the room after work at 4, it was 25°, put it on, after 3 hours, still 25°... I complained at the reception, say that they send a mechanic. 3 days later, nobody came. Pfff never coming back here again. Think twice before you rent a room here.....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam S, General Manager at ibis budget Winterthur
Responded 11 Sep 2018
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate our ibis budget Winterthur City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I sincerely apologize for the fact that that the door was not closed properly. I informed our Facility Manager about this, to make sure this does not happen in the future. Please note that there is NO air con only climate control. This means that the air pumped into your room via the fan has been filtered and heated or cooled to bring its temperature up or down to an unalterable preset level for the whole building as compared with the ambient temperature outside. I do appreciate your feedback, which is most valuable to us. I hope you haven't lost the trust you've shown in our organization and you will give us an opportunity to serve you better in the future. Best regards, Myriam Schmid – General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Per G wrote a review Jun 2018
Skövde12 contributions10 helpful votes
Good hotel with pretty low price i Switzerland. Nice neigborhood, close to some restaurangs and shops, pretty close to city. Just one bad thing, had to pay 8 CHF for parkering outside hotel and it is not in the city.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: June 2018
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam S, Manager at ibis budget Winterthur
Responded 30 Jun 2018
Dear Per G, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your stay with us and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize for any inconveniences concerning the the parking costs, but it's the lowest in the whole city. We try our best to keep it as low as possible for our guests. I would like to thank you again and looking forward to welcoming you again with us. kindest regards H. Ghazali
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fakhrur R wrote a review Apr 2018
Ljubljana, Slovenia101 contributions44 helpful votes
I stayed in different ibis budget at least 2-3 times a month for work and mostly satisfied with the price-wise quality of the chain. While the room was fine and as good as you get for Ibis budget, but it's clear from the minute you stepped inside the hotel that they're understaffed. The worst experience was the breakfast. I told the only staff (he manned the pantry and reception at the same time) that the espresso machine didn't work, he basically just turned it off and offered no solution. After 10 minutes running around the pantry, opening and closing whatever kitchen cabinet he could find, clueless on what to do, I urged him to use the coffee filter machine behind him. I left after another 15 minutes of no progress.. After all, the bread basket was also empty. So I just got myself an orange juice.. That means that it was the most expensive small cup of orange juice I ever paid for (12 chf 'buffet' breakfast)! I would ask him to cancel my breakfast and asked my money back, but the poor guy was still running cluelessly around the pantry.. So I just left and hoped that I could survive the day without my regular caffeine intake..
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam S, General Manager at ibis budget Winterthur
Responded 24 May 2018
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Winterthur. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At ibis budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma A wrote a review Nov 2017
Wath upon Dearne, England, United Kingdom2 contributions
The hotel location and room were fine and suited our needs perfectly however the service we received at the hotel was way beyond usual Accor standards. Card machine was not working when we arrived and receptionist was unhelpful and rude
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: November 2017
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Myriam S, General Manager at ibis budget Winterthur
Responded 16 Nov 2017
Dear Mrs Abel, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis budget Winterthur. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We encountered some issues with our credit card terminal. Our standard rooms are equipped wit 1 double bed (normal blanket) and 1 bunk bed (polar blanket). This is the standard. We already made some improvement as we have now 2 floors equipped with a normal blanket for the bunk bed. We also apologize for the missing towel, don't hesitate to contact our reception, they can provide you with extra towels. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Myriam Schmid - Direktorin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichWinterthur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about ibis budget Winterthur
Which popular attractions are close to ibis budget Winterthur?
Nearby attractions include Geheimgang 188 (0.5 km), Skills Park (0.3 km), and Lagerplatz (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ibis budget Winterthur?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and laundry service.
Is parking available at ibis budget Winterthur?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ibis budget Winterthur?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Caruso, Pasta E Piu, and Ristorante - Pizzeria Cardinal.
Are pets allowed at ibis budget Winterthur?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ibis budget Winterthur?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to ibis budget Winterthur?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Schloss Hegi (4.6 km) and Stadtspielwerk (1.2 km).
Is ibis budget Winterthur accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.