We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich

Save
Share
Buckhauserstrasse 36, Zurich 8048 Switzerland
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$171
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Expedia.com
US$148
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Trip.com
US$145
View deal
TravelocityUS$148
PricelineUS$148
Lol.travelUS$187
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (317)
Room & Suite (223)
Dining (60)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
Updated 20/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#33 of 145 hotels in Zurich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich: perfect for cosmopolites, business travellers and leisure seekers. A hub for countless threads that converge and separate again. Urban lifestyle, modern design, authentic encounters. Though deeply rooted in the Altstetten quarter, it is still open to the world.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Strollers
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
68Somewhat walkable
Grade: 68 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
2Attractionswithin 0.5 km
330Reviews5Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 173
  • 102
  • 37
  • 10
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Natalie B wrote a review 21 Sep
Schenkon, Switzerland325 contributions202 helpful votes
We stayed for only one night before an Ed Sheeran concert and we re so glad we did. Finding the hotel, parking, check-in and breakfast were all perfect. Walking 10 minutes to Letzigrund Stadion- super! Will definitely come again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Placid Hotel, Gästeservice/Empfang at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
Responded 2 days ago
Dear natalieb382 Thank you for your superb review! Great to know that you enjyoed all aspects of the hotel and its close proximity to the concert. We are looking forward to your next stay and real soon! Best regards Your Placid Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Husbaby wrote a review Aug 2022
Sweden68 contributions68 helpful votes
We chose Placid due to its location. Despite not being in central, it is easily accessible via tram or bus. The reception went above and beyond to cater to our family’s needs and we appreciate it very much. The modern room may not be for everyone’s liking but if you need anything, check with reception if they can support... usually they can. Our room also has a magnificent view of the sunset! Only small issue of the drinking glasses not replaced or properly washed for the next day. But definitely staying here again next time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Check the tablet for the amenities, offers and services that the hotel can provide. Or call them...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Placid Hotel, Gästeservice/Empfang at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Dear Husbaby Thank you for your fantastic review!! It warms our hearts to know that every aspect of your stay was a positive one except for the glasses. We try our very best to make the stay of all our guests a memorable one. And with such a lovely feedback, makes us ven want to work harder to do better. The Placid Hotel Zurich is looking forward to your next stay and with plesaure!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MBL wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We traveled with another couple and booked two rooms at the Placid. A few months before travelling we talked with the Placid about delaying our arrival date by one night. We called the hotel and the person we talked to confirmed the date change with us. We have confirmation of the Placid's receipt of the date change in writing and confirmation of staying at the hotel for three nights. We have sent the Placid copies of all the documentation in writing multiple times, but they continue to charge us a "no-show" for the original first night that we changed and that they confirmed. We have disputed this with American Express and repeatedly shown documentation that the Placid confirmed we would delay our arrival by one night and they had changed our reservation - but, yet, they won't remove our "no-show" charge. Poor accounting, plus a hotel with no air conditioning and windows that don't stay open = no repeat business from us. Buyer beware.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Placid Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Dear 527mbjohnson The fact that you forgot to cancel your reservation is not the hotel's fault. You may well know that hotels are not allowed to cancel reservations in Expedia directly. Upon your departure on the earlier stay, you were informed to cancel your Expedia reservation. Since you failed to do so, this is not our fault. Have a great day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bk2019june wrote a review Jul 2022
Fresno, California26 contributions23 helpful votes
No AC in rooms, it was 37 and hard to sleep at night No Fans either Bathroom is open to the beds, so if we go with kids or friends, they have to leave the room for others to shower Breakfast is good and Staff is very friendly and helpful, spoke English Close to tram
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Placid Hotel, Gästeservice/Empfang at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Dear Bk2019june Thank you for your review. The Placid Hotel Zurich is an eco-feindly building thus with no ac. We are doing our part for the climate. Fans can be provided upon request. We would installed a shower curtain for privacy if it was requested. Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to the breakfast and the friendly staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carol t wrote a review Jul 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana14 contributions28 helpful votes
Although the hotel was quirky my low review has to do with a disputed charge that has been placed on our charge card. The hotel charged us for a night that was canceled this was confirmed through email and phone call on the cancelled reservation , ( we stayed at the hotel just on a different night than was originally planned. PLEASE BE WARNED
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Placid Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Dear W4541CBcarolt Your review is uncalled for and is unfair. You made your a reservation in Expedia and never cancelled it. We are not allowed to cancel your reservation. And thus we charged the first night, as per your reservation, for your no-show.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate I wrote a review Jul 2022
Reigate, United Kingdom40 contributions32 helpful votes
Aesthetically pleasing, quirky hotel - good service, tasty breakfast in good surroundings and nice touches. Would definitely stay again. Short tram ride to city. Lovely comfortable beds with fantastic views - big picture windows. Showers don’t all have curtains so share with someone you’re not shy with!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Placid Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Dear Kathrina I Thank you for your great review! The sleek modern architecture is quirky in its own unique way. It heartwarming to know that you had a very memorable stay whilst enjoying the facilities and views. It would give us great pleasure in having you again as a guest and hopefully real soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael wrote a review Jul 2022
9 contributions2 helpful votes
We spent 6 days at the hotel. At first when we got there, we thought it was quite far off but little did we realize that we were 2 mins from the tram stop. The location was truly Placid!We used the tram throughout our stay. Super stuff! One this is that it was t The rooms were quite nice although lacking in air conditioning ( suppose it’s more suited to winter), lovely views of the city as were on the 11th floor. As for for service , the staff exceeded our expectations. Super friendly and extremely helpful. A special mention to Mr Kishor Singh, a true hotelier with excellent PR skills. Thanks for all the tips. If we ever return we will stay at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Placid Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Dear mothas1 Thank you for your fantastic review! Warms our hearts to know that you had a memorable stay with us. The Placid Hotel Zurich is an eco-friendly building and thus the lack of air-conditioning. But we are equpped with an air-coolling system that derives cool and warm air. A great big thank you for your positive feedback on the staff! You made their day and especially Kish Singh. It would give us great pleasure in welcoming you again and real soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johnyt1999 wrote a review Jul 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything clean and perfect! The staff member Vivienne was very helpful and energetic and also gave me lots of advice on travelling around Zurich! Will stay here again. The room was clean and well presented, breakfast was nice and all staff very polite. All round great hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay here!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Placid Hotel, Gästeservice/Empfang at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Dear Johny Thank you for your fantastic review. We are thrilled to know that you had a memorable stay with us. Not only that, you made Vivienne's day too with such a great compliment. We strive only to make the stays of all our guests special. All of us at Placid Hotel are looking forward to your next stay and hopefully real soon! Best regards Your Placid Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steffi L wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
When we arrived we were very unhappy - as we were travelling with our 7-month-old daughter, we had agreed with the travel agency that we absolutely needed a bathtub in the hotel. After a lot of back and forth, they suggested the PLACID Design & Lifestyle Hotel. Well, it turned out that there is no bathtub in the whole hotel. But the reaction of the hotel was hilarious - we were allowed to buy a baby bath tub from their money! However, it was a very pleasant stay and we had a lot of fun. Especially my husband got along great with the hotel staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Placid Hotel, Gästeservice/Empfang at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Dear SteffiL211 Thank you for your wonderful review. Its warms our hearts to know that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. Our aim is to make the stay a home-away-from -home feeling. And we do try our best to help whenever possible. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoing you again real soon! Best regards from sunny Zurich Your Placid Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gianfrancobianchi wrote a review May 2022
Province of Pistoia, Italy130 contributions133 helpful votes
I have chosen the Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich because of the design and that was ok. Then the car park is expensive and you can't park anywhere nearby. People at the reception are not helpful and have no good attitude. They don't help with the luggage as well. The room was cold and even if it supposes to be a business hotel, you can't share the room with a colleague, the shower is with glass in front of the bed. My booking was prepaid including tax, but we checked in they asked me to pay the city tax. In the morning I showed my booking and asked for a refund of the tax, but they didn't do it and said to my wife that they will send me an email and refund on the credit card. Anything happens so far! I'LL NOT STOP HERE AGAIN!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The car park is expensive and no park available nearby!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Placid Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
Responded 28 May 2022
Dear Mr Bianchi Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich. We are pleased that you chose our hotel with its fancy design. Nevertheless, we are very sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations and would like to comment on this. Since you made your booking through your travel agent, you have already prepaid for the room. The city tax is excluded to the room price and the charge for the parking is CHF 25.00 per night (which is a comparable price referring to other parking places located nearby) , these informations will always be provided through the agent you have booked through. A shower curtain may be ordered at any time at the reception or in advance when booking. Furthermore, we have other categories available with twin beds. We kindly ask you to contact us directly in such matters so that we are able to assist immediately. We wish you all the best and send best regards from Zurich. Your Placid-Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$137 - US$224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
115
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich
Which popular attractions are close to Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich?
Nearby attractions include VRilliant Arenas (0.2 km) and Utogrund (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich?
Conveniently located restaurants include restaurant und bar turbinenhalle, Samurai VII, and Pizza Zueri.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich have airport transportation?
Yes, Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Placid Hotel Design & Lifestyle Zurich offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.