We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Josefstrasse 13, Zurich 8005 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$172
Hotels.comUS$171
PricelineUS$172
TravelocityUS$171
Vio.comUS$172
eDreamsUS$172
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (11)
Dining (2)
Bathroom (1)

About

#16 of 151 Specialty lodging in Zurich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Das Boutique Hotel Josef begrüßt Sie mit 32 modernen und stilvoll eingerichteten Zimmern in Zürich nur 300 m vom Hauptbahnhof entfernt. Freuen Sie sich auf eine Bar mit einer Terrasse, kostenfreies WLAN im gesamten Gebäude, sowie einen Meetingraum mit Tageslicht. Buchen Sie eine unvergessliche «Yoga roof top» Stunde auf unserer wundervollen Dachterrasse. Der Flughafen Zürich ist 10km, der Lindenhof 1.6km, das Kunsthaus Zürich 2.6 km und die Bahnhofstrasse sind 2,1km entfernt. Das Boutique Hotel Josef bietet ein À-la-carte-Frühstück an. Oder geniessen sie unser Frühstücksbuffet in unserem Schwesternhotel Montana an. Dieses befindet sich in weniger als 2 Gehminuten entfernt. Unsere einzigartigen Wispy Rooms mit dem 160cm grossen Boxspring-Bett garantieren einen entspannten Aufenthalt - und das mitten im Zentrum von Zürich. Diese Zimmer sind mit Holzparkett, einem 32 Zoll Flachbildfernseher, kostenfreiem W-Lan, einer Nespresso - Kaffeemaschine, einem Safe und eigenem Bad mit Dusche und kostenfreien Pflegeprodukten von Molton Brown ausgestattet. Die lichtdurchfluteten Midi Rooms bieten Ihnen ein 160cm grosses Boxspringbett für einen entspannten Schlaf, sowie einen Schreibtisch. Diese Zimmer sind mit Holzparkett, einem 43 Zoll Flachbildfernseher, kostenfreiem W-Lan, einer Nespresso - Kaffeemaschine, einem Safe und eigenem Bad mit Dusche und kostenfreien Pflegeprodukten von Molton Brown ausgestattet. Unsere grosszügigen Grand Rooms sind ideal für den längeren Aufenthalt. Nebst der extravaganten Einrichtung bieten diese Zimmer eine voll ausgestattete Küche mit Kühlschrank und zwei Herdplatten. Der Essbereich bietet genügend Platz zum Speisen und Arbeiten. Diese Zimmer sind mit Holzparkett, einem 49 Zoll Flachbildfernseher, kostenfreiem W-Lan, einer Nespresso - Kaffeemaschine, einem Safe und eigenem Bad mit Dusche und kostenfreien Pflegeprodukten von Molton Brown ausgestattet. Einige Zimmer verfügen über einen kleinen Balkon
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Wifi
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Iron
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
149Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
33Attractionswithin 0.5 km
27Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 12
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nomad13205725427 wrote a review Nov 2022
Really terrifying experience!! My husband and I stayed for two nights, the room is dirty, there is some stains on the pillow and also the bed sheet. We understand this is a three-star hotel so we didnt complain to the staff. HOWEVER, there are bed buds!!!! My husband and I felt itchy since the first night, but we didnt aware. But later on, we found that there are few red spots on our arms. We went to the hospitals and they said these are bites from bed begs. We were fine before we stayed in this horrible hotel. So this is definitely this hotel's problem! NOT RECOMMEND!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Wanderingdiva14 wrote a review Sep 2022
Bengaluru, India113 contributions32 helpful votes
Hotel is very close to the main train station. Room and bathroom was good and clean with all facilities. Comfortable bed. Room may be too small for 2 people in the Standard double room. Breakfast is in the nearby Hotel Montana and was the standard fare. It is a self check-in place but there was a staff present who was managing both the cafe and the check-in. He was also kind enough to let me check-in before time as my room was ready even though I reached couple of hours before check-in time. Greatly appreciated. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sysa86 wrote a review May 2022
Doha, Qatar35 contributions58 helpful votes
The hotel is in a very convenient location, close to the train station. There is a self check in that could be challenging and there is no clear indication of how and where to get help if needed. For us was fine, but I guess for elderly people could be a challenge. There is absolutely no human interaction, but, having said so, we definitely would stay again. The room (we booked a larger one), was really good, clean, and quiet. Nice amenities, especially the bathroom ones and the coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you book a bigger room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
B1714D wrote a review Apr 2022
Belgrade, Serbia15388 contributions4379 helpful votes
We didn't choose this hotel, but it was assigned to us, as we had a paid reservation in their sister hotel (currently under renovation) 2 years ago which was altered due to Covid travel restrictions. Of positive things I'd point out nicely decorated rooms and a good location in almost Zurich center close to the main railway station. However, location is not that prevalent in Zurich with such an amazing public transport network, so you can stay further and be downtown within 15 min. Now, the bad things: - Check-in is with a machine at the next door cafe. Actually, there's no reception, so if you need anything you must ask the lady working at the cafe, - Be prepared for waiting, as she's the only one there falling apart from work, - Breakfast is also served in a cafe by the same lady - some 10-15 min waiting to be served and when it comes, you cannot believe it - 1 (ONE) piece of ham and 1 (ONE) piece of the cheapest cheese accompanied with two miniature jams and croissants (see the pic). That for 150 CHF/night ?? Come on, I had far better in Ibis Budget Lucern next day for half the price. - Speaking of sqm, room is a joke. Despite being nicely decorated as I said, you can hardly bypass your room mate in 7-8 sqm, - Don't even think about unpacking your luggage (and we had only cabin luggage), let alone working something. The only smaller room in my 52 y and 80+ countries, I remember when I was in Japan, - Josef was the ONLY hotel out of 6 on our 8 day Swiss tour which did NOT provide us the free public transport card. When we asked for it, they calmly (almost rudely) declined saying they do not give it. To conclude, considering the above I certainly do not recommend staying here, neither would we, but as I said we had it prepaid from 2020.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ute Sauter, General Manager at Hotel Josef
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Dear B1714D, thank yo very much for your feedback and for taking your time to share your opinion online. I regrett that your experience in our Boutique Hotel Josef was not up to your expectation and our standards. Usually our staff is praised for their friendliness and for being helpful, hence I am a bit surprised this was not the case when you arrived. Certainly I will look into this with her. Also the breakfast I would like to assure you, that all products we use are of highest swiss standard and quality. The croissants are made in our own bakery as well as the bread rolls and the Birchermüsli which is served together with the croissants. As the city Tax in Zurich is comparetavly low, the public transport is not included in it, as it is in other Swiss cities such as St. Gallen, Zermatt, Grindelwald and others. Again, I am very sorry this was not explained to you friendly during your stay with us, this is definately not the standard we want to bring across neither what any guest should expect. On a site note: the sister Hotel Montana has opened its doors again now. I hope you have nevertheless enjoyed your time in Switzerland, and maybe the Hotel Montana will be able to exceed your expectations during your next stay with us. Ute Sauter
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Villa Valentina wrote a review Nov 2021
Levanto, Italy8 contributions1 helpful vote
Very nice hotel, very close to the train station and the Christmas markets (we stayed 24-28 Nov 2021). Staff was nice, no reception on site but the people at Il Baretto were very helpful. If you are thinking of staying in Zurich when traveling by train I really recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Daniel K wrote a review Sep 2021
United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
The staff were professional and accommodating, rooms lovely and quaint. Espressos machine did not work, which was the only minuscule downside of my trip. Reasonably priced and a very central and accessible location, 3 minute walk from the train station and about 25 to the old town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Make sure to have a Swiss adaptor or a standard usb cable. I only had usb-c and was unable to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MoscouT wrote a review Sep 2021
Zurich, Switzerland167 contributions102 helpful votes
I stayed here almost every week for six months and found the hotel to be a great home away from home. The design and furnishing of the rooms are great and the roof garden offers a great place to relax. The coffee shop & wine bar on the ground floor provide you with all you need (in addition you have a Nespresso machine & tea in the room). I preferred the larger superior rooms, especially the four rooms with balconies are just great.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ortwin wrote a review Aug 2021
Breda, The Netherlands935 contributions372 helpful votes
Though this hotel is virtually next to the railway tracks behind the main station, you hear no trains or other noise. Very quiet hotel. But also modern and stylish decorated interior. Negative is that you have to check yourself in at a machine which was a bit cumbersome. Also as no breakfast is served the service is rather clean and personnel virtually non-existent. But the room we had is large and has sufficient space for storing clothes and seat yourself and relax. Good shower (hot) and lots of amenities such a real coffee machine, air-conditioning and good lights everywhere. With the hotel 5 minutes from the station and some 15 minutes away from the city center, this is a good place to start off in Zurich though it goes with a price for which you get breakfast or staff included in other hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ute Sauter, General Manager at Hotel Josef
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Dear Ortwin, thank you very much for your overall positive feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the location, the design and the amenities we are providing. The il baretto will be open again from 01st of September on and we hope to see you soon again. Best regards, Rafaela Cluster Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arya_07 wrote a review Apr 2020
Los Angeles, California292 contributions108 helpful votes
The hotel is very clean, room was nice, and bed was comfortable. There is a Nespresso machine in the room. It was confusing upon arrival. No one was there, had to go to a neighboring hotel, around the corner (address and number is on the front door) and check in over there. The hotel location is a bit of a walk from the center.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stefan P, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Josef
Responded 29 Apr 2020
Dear guest Many thanks for taking your time and writing such positive review. It is a pleasure to read, that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the room, the confy bed and the Nespresso Coffee machine. We are not in the heart of Zurich, that is correct - but just 2 minutes away from the maintrain station. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again. Kind regards, Client Relation Manager Stefan Popp
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BeMa75004 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Arrived there at 11PM for a prepaid room just to learn that no room was not available because I had allegedely cancelled the (non refundable) room booking - which did not occur. Obviously the hotel was never able to show me any evidence of such cancellation. Had to book another more expensive hotel room on the spot (fortunately I came by car) and on top they never provided a refund of the room. Total scam.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Wiebke K, General Manager at Hotel Josef
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking time and posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. Ï am really sorry for the unpleasant situation you had during your check in. It looks like it was a misunderstanding and the cancellation was for someone else. At the time of check in our the night auditor explained the situation and was trying to rebook the room with us and was trying to help you but unfortunately you left outside and did not come back. We have contacted the agencies you have booked through to charge you the money back. I am really sorry for the inconvenience this caused and please be assured that it does not reflect the service we would like to provide our guests. We would still be more than happy to get a second chance and welcome you again at our hotel. Kind regards, Rafaela Saft Cluster Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$148 - US$212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurichGewerbeschule
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL JOSEF: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 12 Photos (Zurich, Switzerland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Josef
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Josef?
Nearby attractions include Fly & Race Simulations GmbH (0.2 km), Platzspitz (0.4 km), and Europuddle (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Josef?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and meeting rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Josef?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Josef?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Josef?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thach Restaurant, Yamas, and Samses.
Is Hotel Josef located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Zurich.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Josef?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Josef?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Russian, and Ukrainian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Josef?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Platzspitz (0.4 km), Liebfrauenkirche (0.8 km), and Zunfthaus zur Meisen (1.3 km).
Does Hotel Josef have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.