We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
In Gassen 10, Zurich 8001 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
US$336
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
US$336
View deal
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
TravelocityUS$336
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sorell Hotel St. Peter
Updated 06/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#101 of 145 hotels in Zurich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to the Sorell Hotel St. Peter, your retreat in the center of the action. Between Sihl, Limmat, the main train station and the lake promenade, just a few minutes' walk away, we welcome you to the heart of the city – of which you nonetheless will notice nothing if you don't want to. Our rooms maintain a high standard and, over an area of up to 98 m2, leave sufficient room for individuality and personality. Functional furnishings merge with design; boutique character with cosiness. A rain shower and high-quality RITUALS care products put your mind and body in a holiday mood. You can go deeper into your inner balance on the yoga mat that is ready – a typical extra from Sorell. You can greet the morning with a fresh Nespresso, round off the evening at your room's own minibar before you go on a dream journey in a comfortable box-spring bed. Some room categories even come with an own kitchenette. The air condition to adjust the room temperature ensures that you feel completely at home. And thanks to Chromecast TV and the free, high-speed WLAN, you are always kept up to date and can stream your own movies, music and more directly from your mobile phone to the TV. In addition to the rooms, an inner courtyard with a garden, as well as a cosy lobby, also provide room for relaxation. And anyone with boundless energy can work it off in the fitness area. Whatever brings you to Zurich, couples, families, business travellers and long-term guests all find their four walls to settle down, feel good and spread out at the Boutique Hotel St. Peter. We know your needs and are here for you 24 hours a day.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
280Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
124Attractionswithin 0.5 km
41Reviews3Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 9
  • 4
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Flit_Wing wrote a review 11 Sep
Illinois62 contributions58 helpful votes
I would give a higher rating but given Zurich has so many options a one star may help people avoid an inhospitable experience and or help management focus on hospitality training. Despite the printed materials assuring each guest they were valued, the front desk experience made it clear that was merely marketing nonsense. We had a problem with a room type in a revised booking. it was not anyones fault. The front desk worker, however, wanted to ensure it was ours by repeatedly insisting she print out her copy of the booking - a moot issue when we had a document from a travel agent that made it obvious we also had “proof” we had no way of knowing about the error. It was a mistake - full stop. What we needed was help finding a room the next days and she wasn’t going to take a minute to help with that. She actually suggested after explaining (to make us panic?) that “everywhere was booked” in Zurich “go to your room and relax for a few minutes and then find a place on line”. We inquired if she could call her sister hotels (many sorrels in Zurich). She insisted they were all booked and when we mentioned one in Seefeld she actually told us to try a different hotel chain closer to the Dolder. Seefeld Sorrell wasn’t very good she assured us. Then dismissing us to our homeless fate she flounced behind a closed door. We did go to our room and on Booking.com found people quite liked Sorrell Seefeld. We went ahead and arranged it. We then returned as we left for dinner and asked her if we could have a late check out the next day. Instead of even inquiring as to what time we hoped to check out - she reacted - absolutely not! The cleaners had to get busy with her full hotel. Seriously she seemed more a crazy person. We were surprised but by this time we had zero expectations from this nasty behavior. One of us has had the travel agent through their company booked this place many times and during cOvid it was less full so we didn’t know how it was at a busier time I would say it’s disinterested at best and almost vindictive at worst. I recall a time when hotels routinely helped guests and many still do this. Luckily we had a lovely experience at the sister hotel - which is quick to reach on a tram and in a quiet area of downtown. The room was slightly less expensive and larger with a private balcony. The staff couldn’t have been kinder about letting us come early etc etc.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthias Ramer, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel St. Peter
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback. We like to apologize, that you were unhappy with your stay and our service. At your arrival at the Hotel your request for a double room did not match with the reservation we had. It was a single room reserved and not a double room. Unfortunately, we were fully booked at this day but at the end we could solve the problem for the first night and changed the reservation in a double room for one night. We informed you that we would be happy to reserve you a room in our sister Hotel Seefeld for the rest of your stay, which has the same standard, located region Dolder, near the lake. We suggested you, that in the meantime could go to your room to fresh you up. And here it must have been a misunderstanding between you and my employee. When you went back at the reception, you told us, that you had booked a room yourself at the Hotel Seefeld. So, we cancelled our reservation again. In the evening you came back to the reception and asked for a late check out for the departure next day. The lady on the late shift tried to explain to you in a friendly manner, that it was unfortunately not possible, because the hotel was fully booked the next day again with several early arrivals. We assure you that our entire hotel team always does everything possible to find a solution for all guests wherever possible. I understand that you are upset that we could not help in this case. We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be. It would be nice if we could prove ourselves during your next visit and to show that we can be better than the last time. In the meantime, we wish you all the best and thank you again for taking time to write us your detailed review Sincerely Yours Matthias Ramer Cluster General Manager Hotel St.Peter & Seidenhof
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stuntntumble wrote a review Aug 2022
San Francisco, California111 contributions56 helpful votes
The hotel is well maintained; tucked away in the cute corner of old town. The staff is friendly, courteous and extremely accommodating. The staff really made our stay here impeccable. The delicious and expansive all-you-can-eat breakfast certainly helped also. My husband and I had a great time in Zurich and much of it had to do with our stay at Hotel Sorrell St. Peter.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 009 is amazing!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthias Ramer, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel St. Peter
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We are very proud to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and had such an amazing time in Zurich. We would be very happy to welcome you back again soon at the Sorell Hotel St. Peter. Yours sincerely Matthias Ramer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chaznron wrote a review Aug 2022
New York31 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed here from Aug 12-Aug 15. There were pros and cons. Our room was nice, very modern, however, the air conditioning was bare to minimum. The average temp was about 88 degrees outside. We were told that due to the law, the air conditioning can only run 3 degrees lower than the outside temperature. There is a very large glass door that you can open (but not all the way as the bed is in the way) however, there is only a hanging screen covering most but not all of the opening. We didn't feel safe leaving it open at night. We had a fan that kept breaking, which they replaced, but it really didn't help the heat and mugginess of the room. There was a delicious breakfast included every morning that was available until 12. You could get coffee at any time. I can not say enough good things about all of the young ladies working at the front desk. Each and every one of them were a joy to chat with. They were so helpful and nice. I wish I had taken everyone's names down so that I could personally mention each one here. Housekeeping was a slight issue. The room was nice and fully stocked when we got there. However, all they did when they came in each day was to pull of the cover on the bed. They did not restock anything other than the towels. I actually had to go to the front desk to ask for more toilet paper! Overall, we had a nice stay, thank you to the front desk personnel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthias Ramer, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel St. Peter
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overal stay with us in Zurich. We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be. Unfortumately due to enviromental resrictions in Zurich we are only allowed to cool the rooms 5°C underneath the outside temperature if the temperature outside is above 20°C, to a maximum low of 22°C. We hope that you will continue to recommend us and would be very happy to welcome you again at the Sorell Hotel St. Peter. Yours sincerely Matthias Ramer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carlos B wrote a review Jul 2022
Madrid, Spain77 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
The hotel has no air conditioning. We wake up at 2 AM sweating every night. Then We learn from a local that all Zurich Hotels does not have AC because of a local law. They are able to maintain 5 degrees below outside temp. This is no good for sumner periods. We spend four nights with fans but still no good. This disqualify the hotel as 4 stars. Simply, don’t stay here in the summer. On the positives: very well located, excellent breakfast and super personnel. Bath amenities below average but we can live with it. Bed very comfortable and room size ok. No room service nor restaurants in house, but there are plenty of rest walking distance. They should work with local politicians to resolve the AC law, if true, at least for summer periods. Otherwise I will never visit Zurich in the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid staying here in the summer unless you can sleep with and air fan. If you can live with it…,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthias Ramer, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel St. Peter
Responded 1 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a feedback. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your overall stay. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to have a good night sleep during your stay with us. Unfortunately, due to enviromental guidelines in Switzerland we are only allowed to cool the rooms 5°C underneath the outside temperature and only if the temperature outside is above 20°C. Due to restrictions we are also not allowed to cool below 22°C. Unfortunately, with the heatwave, temperatures were unusally high in Zurich which our cooling systems struggle to support. We hope we will be able to welcome you again in a cooler month and prove to you that we ca be better the last time. Yours sincerely Matthias Ramer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Supersonick1177 wrote a review Jul 2022
Lightwater, United Kingdom155 contributions106 helpful votes
I stayed at the hotel four weeks ago and the air conditioning did not work even though it wasn’t a heat wave. Interestingly, numerous people seem to have complained about the air con and nothing seems to have been done to address the problem. I’ve stayed in numerous hotels when the outside temperature around midnight is 25 degrees C and sometimes more, however, the air con always works. Interestingly, the taxi driver taking me to the airport from the hotel said the air con system installed in this hotel is rubbish irrespective of what the management write back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthias Ramer, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel St. Peter
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and the time you have taken for it. We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be. We regret that the air conditioning did not work properly during your stay and would like to apologize for this inconvenience. We assure you that we will take the necessary measures to improve our Airconditioning System. It would be nice if we could prove ourselves during your next visit and show you, that we can be better than the last time. Yours sincerely Matthias Ramer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian F wrote a review Jun 2022
Salzburg, Austria1 contribution
This is a wonderful hotel with nice rooms and fantastic location. Unfortunately, they have totally ruined it because there is no A/C. Yes, we understand that we are in Europe during a heat wave. And that it is especially unusual in Zurich. But when I booked this hotel, one of the reasons for booking was that it had A/C in case of a heat wave during our visit. Otherwise, I could have booked another nice hotel without A/C. I might have been understanding if there had been a ceiling fan - but rooms do not have that. And front desk could not provide a room fan. It is quite warm for sleeping. Our understanding is that owner limits the range that A/C can be set - and it definitely does not allow the room to be cool. DON'T ADVERTISE A/C IF YOU AREN'T GOING TO PROVIDE IT.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthias Ramer, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel St. Peter
Responded 22 Jun 2022
Dear Guest Thank your very much for your review. We apologize for all the inconveniences you have received during your stay. We also regret that the air conditioning is not working properly. We are in the process of optimizing these, but due to the difficulty of supply chains worldewide for specific replacement material,we are not able to fix the AC at the moment. We will do our utmost to improve our service in your interest and It would be nice if we could prove ourselves during your next visit, to show you, that we can be better than the last time. Sincerely Matthias Ramer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael Potter wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Stay away from this place in the summer!!!!! Although the hotel staff was friendly and courteous the hotel was like a sauna. We got different stories as to why the AC did not run. First was they can only regulate the temperature 5 deg lower than the outside air temp. Second was the building is historical and they were not able to install a “good” AC unit. Third was the LEED system overrides the ability to make the hotel cool. Not sure what story I should believe but all I can tell you is that this was one of the worst stays I have ever had in 30 years of travel. Worst thing is the room was rented out after us to some other poor bigger that’s going to boil his brains out. The only thing they did was offer us a few drinks and the hotel kept apologizing for the hot conditions. Beware of this place during hot weather.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthias Ramer, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel St. Peter
Responded 22 Jun 2022
Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback. I really like to apologize for all the inconvenience you received during your stay wit us. You are rigth. the airconditioning was not working properly and I am extremly sorry for that. We assure you that we will take the necessary measures., I realy would apreciate if you could contact me directly at the Hotel to find find a solution to your dissatisfaction. sincerely yours Matthias Ramer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
krinvan wrote a review Jun 2022
Vancouver, Canada42 contributions58 helpful votes
Newish hotel in a great location near everything for a quick stay in Zurich. Nice room, though the AC hardly worked and oddly there is no ventilation in the washroom? This will definitely pose a mould problem in the future. Staff were all very friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthias Ramer, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel St. Peter
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your nice comments about your stay. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these. We have taken your concern into consideration and will do our utmost to improve our service in your interest. Therefore, we would be very happy to welcome you again at the Sorell Hotel Yours sincerely Matthias Ramer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
matt_train wrote a review Jun 2022
Benicia, CA47 contributions34 helpful votes
The hotel is in a very good location in Zurich. The hotel has a very modern and tasteful look. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was very delicious. The only complaint is that the room would not cool down very well and asked if there was a problem with the air conditioning. We asked about this and they said that the air conditioner was eco friendly meaning that it doesn’t cool like a real air conditioner. We were lucky that is was May and it was warm but not that hot yet. I think it would be hard to recommend this place in the really hot summer months. When you are in Zurich you are walking around and will get back to your room tired and sweaty, so good air conditioning is an important feature in our opinion .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthias Ramer, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel St. Peter
Responded 5 Jun 2022
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your nice comments about your stay. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these. We have taken your concern into consideration and will do our utmost to improve our service in your interest. Therefore, we would be very happy to welcome you again at the Sorell Hotel Yours sincerely Matthias Ramer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N.K. wrote a review May 2022
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India393 contributions153 helpful votes
The hotel is right in the heart of the city, a minute's walk away from the both Banhoffstrasse on one side and the river on the other. Super friendly and helpful staff. A decent breakfast buffet spread. The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable, a bit small, but standard for European hotels. Would definitely stay here again next time we're in Zurich.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthias Ramer, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel St. Peter
Responded 12 May 2022
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your great comments. We are very proud to hear, that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will continue to recommend us and would be very happy to welcome you again at the Sorell Hotel St. Peter. Yours sincerely Matthias Ramer General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$336 - US$463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sorell Hotel St. Peter
Which popular attractions are close to Sorell Hotel St. Peter?
Nearby attractions include Lindenhofplatz (0.2 km), Limmat (0.2 km), and Niederdorf (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sorell Hotel St. Peter?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sorell Hotel St. Peter?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sorell Hotel St. Peter?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sorell Hotel St. Peter?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haus zum Rüden, Restaurant Pavillon, and Zunfthaus zur Waag.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sorell Hotel St. Peter?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sorell Hotel St. Peter have airport transportation?
Yes, Sorell Hotel St. Peter offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sorell Hotel St. Peter located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Zurich.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sorell Hotel St. Peter?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sorell Hotel St. Peter?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sorell Hotel St. Peter?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.