We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Krone Unterstrass

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (223)
360
Panoramas (42)
Room & Suite (467)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#30 of 142 hotels in Zurich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The 4-star Hotel Krone in Zurich Unterstrass is a modern city and business hotel with tradition. Top quality, sustainability, outstanding service and hospitality are our core values. Our city hotel was founded in 1720 and has been one of Zurich's most renowned places to stay ever since. Fully renovated and equipped with the very latest services, the hotel offers all the amenities that the discerning guest who wants only the best would require. Ideally located in a fashionable part of the city, our hotel is just a few minutes away from Zurich's main railway station, the conference centre, the Hallenstadion multi-purpose facility, the Zurich exhibition grounds, the university and the ETH Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. The 'Kronenstrasse' tram stop is just in front of our door. The journey to and from Zurich Airport takes just 20 minutes. Zurich's sights, such as the historic town centre, the Grossmünster (Great Minister), the Bahnhofstrasse main street and Lake Zurich, are just a comfortable five or ten minutes away. Our rooms range from the cosy and comfortable through to the top-quality and luxurious. The excellent restaurant, meeting facilities and banquet rooms make the Hotel Krone the ideal place for your next visit to the city. It is the perfect place for an overnight stay after a visit to the Zurich trade fair or for your business event.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more
1,034Review18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 489
  • 407
  • 90
  • 28
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Vicki W wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
We had a wonderful stay! The rooms were beautiful and the location was located right next to the tram line which made it easy to explore the city. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. I hope to make it back one day in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Also we hope, that you will come back one day! Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dallen3310 wrote a review Jul 2023
Morgantown, West Virginia26 contributions27 helpful votes
Stayed here with my wife in 2016 during a business trip. Kept it in mind because Hotel Krone is in a super location close to city center on tram line minutes from main station but neighborhood is quiet. Returned while on vacation and found it still at the highest level of quality. Again we were in the connected wing of the hotel. Room was large by European standards and well organized, with good closet space and many shelves for clothes. Refrigerator and sink. Nice AC which was important during summer hot spell. Breakfast was excellent, with wide selection and attentive service. Looked forward to that in the morning. Front desk was friendly, efficient, and helpful. Cleaning staff did great job each day. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your positive feeback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also recommed us! Hope to welcome you again soon on your next trip to Zurich. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
dawnsF5107WH wrote a review Jul 2023
Gateshead, United Kingdom67 contributions54 helpful votes
Great value for money we felt, the hotel was beautiful and clean the bed was surprisingly comfortable pillows were not to our liking we did ask for extra but they are a very individual thing. There was an enormous amount of space to store all your items the room was very well designed to fit everything in, I can’t understand why there is a whole selection of kitchen units when they don’t give you a knife or plate!! You get a fridge and a kettle with 2 mug’s and 2 glasses so a lot of space wasted with pointless units the room could have had more space again. Staff very pleasant and helpful great location only 2 mins on the tram to the centre of town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We are happy to hear the positive and also the negative, that we can learn and improve for the next time. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gail A wrote a review Jul 2023
Greenfield, Wisconsin11 contributions16 helpful votes
The desk staff was wonderful and the room very comfortable. The dirty cups were never removed from our room and the coffee was not refilled. Most hotels include breakfast and the cost of $25 per person each day was way over priced. That was a disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We are happy to hear the positive and also the negative, that we can learn and improve for the next time. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Diane B wrote a review Jun 2023
17 contributions11 helpful votes
This hotel was comfortable, clean and the location was great . The team stops right outside the door, which was very convenient. The staff was professional and helpful. I would strongly recommend this hotel the next time you come to Zurich. Enjoy
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback, which we really appreciate. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joe M wrote a review Jun 2023
Dartmouth, Canada24 contributions18 helpful votes
Very nicely maintained hotel in a central location in Thun. Recently stayed a couple of nights in this location and found the hotel to be very well maintained, rooms were clean and less than ten minutes walk to the train station. Location made it quick to walk to train/ferry station to take a very enjoyable ferry ride ride on Lake Thun to then enjoy a day in Interlaken and then the train ride back. Staff that we encountered were great and very helpful answering questions. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ilovecorndogs wrote a review May 2023
Lausanne, Switzerland1197 contributions642 helpful votes
Amazing price for what you get - just 10 min walk from train station, 10 mins from main cool locations, decent rooms - nice people Not a lot of parking so call in advance or maybe you could be screwed. Didn’t eat the breakfast do no comment there Actual mattress - only average…
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We are happy to hear the positive and also the negative, that we can learn and improve for next time. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cwatso71 wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
When we checked in we were told that the breakfast was one price, but when we checked out we were charged a different (higher) price. We were also told that the taxi would be a flat $40-something dollar charge to the airport. In the morning, once again, the price went up. When the taxi dropped us at the airport we were told there was no flat charge, so the price was higher yet again. The girl at the front desk was rude and unaccommodating. I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded 29 Apr 2023
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for this honest feedback, which we appreciate very much. Since we want to constantly improve, exactly such feedback is very valuable for us. We are very sorry that you had such negative experience during your stay with us. We do have different prices for breakfast if you book it in advance and if you take it spontaneous. Normaly we inform the guests about this matter at the check-in. We are sorry that this information did not reach you. For taxis we can order a flat charge to the airport, why they were not granted this I can now unfortunately no longer understand. We hope you give us a chance again in the future that we can show you that we can do it better. Kind regards and all the best for you Bernadette Russenberger, vice-director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
timo r wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
was surprised to get a folding bed out of a cupboard, was hard - but for me perfect. nice tea faclity & fresh 1l water. very spacious clean as usual. - location super close 2 the city center - best value for money
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded 29 Apr 2023
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thanks for your feedback and the 5 points. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a hybrid bedroom, which our guests can also use as a meetingroom. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger, vice-director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nina R wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
It's my third time in this hotel and it never disappoints. Efficient and welcoming staff, clean and quiet room, excellent food at the restaurant downstairs. Very easy to get to from the station with 2 trams.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded 29 Apr 2023
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for this positive feedback. We are happy that we can make your stay always pleasant! That's what we are here for. Looking forward for your next stay. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger, vice-director
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Zurich area.
PRICE RANGE
S$238 - S$339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
krone unterstrass hotel, best western zurich, krone unterstrass zürich, zürich best western
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL KRONE UNTERSTRASS: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 754 Photos (Zurich, Switzerland) - Tripadvisor