We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Niederdorfstrasse 10, Zurich 8001 Switzerland
2 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
US$255
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Expedia.com
US$276
View deal
Agoda.com
US$236
View deal
Booking.comUS$277
Hotels.comUS$276
TravelocityUS$276
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (434)
360
Panoramas (24)
Room & Suite (348)

About

#66 of 145 hotels in Zurich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Zurich? Then look no further than Hotel Wellenberg, a charming hotel that brings the best of Zurich to your doorstep.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Hotel Wellenberg offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and a desk.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and 24 hour check-in. Guests of Wellenberg Hotel are also welcome to enjoy free breakfast, located on site.

Nearby landmarks such as Limmatquai (0.1 mi) and Lindenhof (0.1 mi) make Wellenberg Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Zurich.

If you’re looking for a cafe, consider a visit to Cafe Schober, Confiserie Sprungli, or Babu's Bakery & Coffeehouse, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Wellenberg Hotel.

If you are interested in exploring Zurich, check out one of the art galleries, such as Photobastei 2.0, Foundation E. G. Buhrle Collection, and Puls 5.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Hotel Wellenberg as you experience everything Zurich has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
259Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
116Attractionswithin 0.5 km
846Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 284
  • 360
  • 121
  • 52
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Barbara K wrote a review Nov 2022
Warsaw, Poland48 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
For a four star hotel this is a terrible place, completely not worth the money. The only good thing about this hotel was the location and the bed. I stayed here with my family in two rooms. The first room that was offered to my sister had mild over half the ceiling. The reception staff was offended when my sister requested a change of rooms. The new room was a bit better bathroom wise, but the sofa was FILTHY. It had dirt spots all over. My room also had mold. There were no coffee/tea making facilities, which should be a given in a hotel of this class. The hairdryer looked and worked as if it was from 1980ties. Chipped paint and wood everywhere. Breakfast was very poor as well: no vegetables available, eggs and coffee other than black (like cappuccino) available only at additional charge. Ridiculous. Breakfast staff did not speak English or German. The reception day staff was the worst. Complaining about us to another person in a different language fight in front of us (assuming none of us could understand), lying about housekeeping and calling our rooms, unwilling to help until we threated to move out. Avoid, avoid, avoid. At this prices there must be better places to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
bunzel wrote a review Nov 2022
maidstone23 contributions14 helpful votes
Hotel was clean and in a great location in the old town, close to trams, walking distance to boat trips and close to restarants. Dining room staff very friendly but front of house staff could be slightly rude and unhelpful. Hot breakfasts only available at extra charge, no hot drinks available in rooms, towels are very small, pillows very lacklustre and you need a degree in electrics to work out the lighting. Used crockery wasn't cleared from rooms and friends in another room had no new toiletries for a 3 night stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
kukaner wrote a review Nov 2022
Mumbai, India19 contributions39 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights in Nov 22 (family room). Large, spacious room, but no view. Great location - close to the station and in the middle of tons of restaurants. Unfortunately the room heating did not work and we had to make do with a hotel provided portable heater, which was grossly insufficient. The other let down was the breakfast. The only hotel (we stayed in 5 during our stay) that did not offer hot items for b/f. You have to pay extra. This was not mentioned anywhere at time of booking, hence it was disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grega Flisar, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Kukaner, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Please do excuse our shortcomings. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay for the most part and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nuyunka wrote a review Oct 2022
Bangkok, Thailand48 contributions27 helpful votes
I picked this hotel based on reviews. The room was cozy, even if small, bed was really large and comfortable. Despite the hotel's central location we experienced very little noise. the staff was very friendly and helpful. We’d be happy to return to the hotel if we came back to Zurich.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grega Flisar, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Nuyunka, Thank you very much for your time sharing your experience with us and for the wonderful compliments. Commendations like this is what make us very proud and keep us going. I will for sure forward it to all my colleagues. We are looking forward to your next stay in the near future. Stay healthy and all the best to you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HNest^22 wrote a review Oct 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia675 contributions185 helpful votes
My friends and I stayed only a night as Zurich is an expensive place to be. Its a 12-15min walk with luggages from the main train station in Zurich. Its a short 5 minutes walk to Old Town filled with shopping options and restaurants. Coop is also around 8 minutes walk away. Staff are excellent during check in and check out. Umbrellas are readily available at lobby. Their library for guests are very well maintained
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Family room for 3 or 4 is a good deal
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grega Flisar, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear msian_alwiz, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
speerbuz wrote a review Oct 2022
Brisbane, Australia39 contributions49 helpful votes
The hotel is very nicely appointed with modern decor. The staff are excellent and the lounge sitting room and library area are a nice place to sit and relax, with a coffee machine available (but unfortunately no tea is provided). The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk from the Hauptbahnhof, but we experienced some night noise from revellers. Breakfast was good and, as we had an early start to catch a train on our last morning, we were given excellent breakfast boxes to take with us. One significant gripe is that the bath towels are quite small and thin and not at all of the standard we would have expected.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: A room not facing the street, if available, may be quieter.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grega Flisar, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Speerbuz, It was our pleasure to welcome you at the Boutique Hotel Wellenberg. Our concern is to fulfill our guest’s wishes individually and in the best possible way. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the great review. Please do excuse our shortcomings. We are already looking forward to your next stay with us. Best regards from Zürich
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DaveAndCarolyn_9 wrote a review Oct 2022
Mount Hope, Canada39 contributions68 helpful votes
On the fourth floor with city view--room 401, good sized room, updated and very nice. Close to the river, restaurants, and historic sites in Zurich. Excellent and friendly front-of-house staff. European cold breakfasts were very good with friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grega Flisar, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg
Responded 13 Oct 2022
Dear Dave and Carolyn, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gail H wrote a review Oct 2022
Grayslake, Illinois5 contributions
We were very excited to stay at the hotel Wallenberg because it is in a great location. Unfortunately, we should have listened to the others who said it is only great if you get an upgraded room….we did not. The room was nice, the beds were comfortable, but the bathroom was a fright. Bright green tiles. I would not have chosen this hotel had I known and suggest that if you decide to choose this hotel, make sure they give you the upgraded rooom.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Grega Flisar, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg
Responded 5 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, it was our pleasure to welcome you at the Hotel Wellenberg. Our concern is to fulfill our guests' wishes individually and in the best possible way. We are aware of the specific issues you mention. Due to supply shortages of building material, we were unable to do renovations amidst the pandemic and are now working hard to complete the improvements around the house. While we wish you had a better experience, we learn from feedback like this and use it to improve. We work hard to provide an exceptional guest experience. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DPAINO wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Our family booked this hotel on the way to a wedding in Switzerland. We stayed 5 days and had the best time. This hotel in a perfect located in the old town. The rooms were clean and had plenty of room and the staff were great. The location is centrally located to the river, dozens of great restaurants and to the train station. They have a library and game room where guests and sit and relax, play video games or grab of cup of espresso. We would definitely go back again and recommend it to everyone
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JanRSF wrote a review Sep 2022
Rancho Santa Fe, California255 contributions82 helpful votes
It’s a lovely hotel in the middle of the the old town yet only an 8-10 minute walk from the train station. The room was roomy and comfortable, nice bedding, firm mattress, ac and a minibar. They have a nice breakfast room or a lovely terrace plus a lounge with coffee machine. The staff is very friendly particularly the ladies taking care of breakfast. There is a nice selection of food available.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grega Flisar, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg
Responded 12 Sep 2022
Dear JanRSF, It was our pleasure to welcome you at the Boutique Hotel Wellenberg. Our concern is to fulfill our guest’s wishes individually and in the best possible way. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the good review. We are already looking forward to your next visit. Best regards from Zurich,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$225 - US$292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wellenberg hotel zürich
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurichOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL WELLENBERG: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 762 Photos (Zurich, Switzerland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Wellenberg
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Wellenberg?
Nearby attractions include Museum of Art (Kunsthaus Zurich) (0.4 km), Old Town (0.2 km), and Lindenhof Hill (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Wellenberg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Wellenberg?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Wellenberg?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Wellenberg?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Wellenberg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haus zum Rüden, La Pasta, and Zunfthaus zur Waag.
Is Hotel Wellenberg located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Zurich.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Wellenberg?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Wellenberg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Wellenberg?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Platzspitz (0.9 km), Liebfrauenkirche (0.8 km), and Zunfthaus zur Meisen (0.4 km).