We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel St. Gotthard

CancelonUS$218*
View Deal
#33 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$277*
US$218*
Great Deal
US$237*
US$232*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel St. Gotthard
Hotel St. Gotthard
Panoramas (48)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

904 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 612: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel St. Gotthard
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Pasa luca and Sri are very good staff. Bed and room comfortable . Quite big bathroom with bath tub and shower booth . 24 hours food just round the corner, Macdonalds , kebab take away . Wooden Floors are squeaky when walking on No ramp for bags at entrance . Also at corridor to rooms u need to carry bags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dex G
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights in May this year 3 people and 3 rooms, one was a room fronting the main street this was really great to see the city the tram and all the action and the noise from the street was not a problem at all. The rooms have a very strange décor, however everything that is needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hi I visited Zurich and stayed in St Gotthard Hotel for five nights . The hotel is quite centrally located, nearly opposite the main train station and the trams running just beside the hotel. The outdoor restaurant is another high point. It is a short walk away from the old town area and the lake. The hotel staff was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arjun B
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location is really convenient that walking distance from Zurich station. Downstair there is a tram station which trams start running around 7am. Therefore you may be waken up by the tram noise. Other than that, you will have nothing to complain. Room is clean and people are nice here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WillYRider
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear WillyRider Thank you for staying with us and having taken the time to give us your feedback. We are very glad that you liked our hotel, service an location, directly at the world famous Bahnhofstreet. Our room faceing to the main street have double isolatied Windows and are airconditioned. Your recommendation to other travelers is highly appreciated and we...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for the last two nights of my most recent stay in Zurich. Overall, I was quite satisfied with the stay. The first night I had stayed in a room on the third floor and this room seemed a bit dated. Also there was an issue with noise from someone who was staying across the hall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank Z
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Frank Z Thank you for staying with us and having taken to give us your excellent feedback. We are very glad that you liked our hotel, service an location, directly at the world famous Bahnhofstreet. You can get our extensive breakfastbuffet (with boiled eggs and scrambled eggs) at a special rate, of CHF 25.- when you choose it already...

moscow, Russia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. Very good location, only 2 min walk from the Central train station, or 20 min drive from the airport. The hotel is quite old and traditional, soft carpets, nice interior. The staff is very attentive and professional, speaking even Russian language. There are excellent seafood restaurant, coffee bar and street bar in house....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana T
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Tatiana T thank you for having taken the time to give us your outstanding feedback. It is great to know that you liked our traditional hotel, the service and the staff, such as our location in the middle of the main shopping and sightseeing area of Zurich. All our rooms have a watercooker the prepare your tea or coffee...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night at St Gotthard and found it a pleasant little hotel. The room was clean and spacious, the staff friendly and efficient and the hotel itself was well located. I particularly appreciated the bathroom design and size, Many hotels in Switzerland are lacking in that area. Only negative was that the buffet breakfast was very average....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlesjb70
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear charlesjb70 Thank you for staying with us and having taken to give us your excellent feedback. We are very glad that you liked our hotel, service an location, directly at the world famous Bahnhofstreet. You can get our breakfastbuffet at a special rate, of CHF 25.- when you choose it already making your reservation. otherwise we also offer Continental,...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, but rooms a tad small and fairly noisy. For an upscale hotel, it was somewhat disappointing. Good location, however, I would not return here or recommend it. Hotel bar had good food and drink, but the live piano inhibited conversation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tnsjnky
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear tnsjnky thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback. We offer several room types from Standard single to de luxe size rooms and we have also 8 Junior suites and suites. We are very sorry that your room size did not cover your expectations. All rooms facing to the word famous Bahnhofstreet have double isolated...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed our two nights at the Hotel St. Gotthard in Zurich. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly- we interacted with three different front desk staff and each was helpful and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom clean and well-stocked. The hotel is also centrally located - very closed to the train station, shopping, restaurants and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn C
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Jenn C thank you for having taken the time to give us your great feedback. It is great to know that you liked our Hotel, the service and the location, near the main railway station and in the middle of the main shopping and sightseeing areas of Zurich. Your recomendation to other travellers is highly appreciated. We are looking...

Al Ain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I reserved a junior suite with a Jacuzzi that the Jacuzzi was disconnected. After three discussions including the General Manager there was never made a statement that it was disconnected and not usable? The A/C heater was not working for the first 5 days after a visit from the maintenance man it still took a visit to the General Manager...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rogerc489
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Roger489 thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback. We ar very sorry, that you did not get the service you expected and that it got too Long to fix the air condition. I offerd you a room change, you didn't want because the Jacuzzi is a Major Problem. We are glad that you liked...

626 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (397)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (50)
Viewed
Executive Suite (76)
Viewed
Junior Suite (46)
Viewed
Queen Comfort Room (47)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
St. Gotthard Suite (103)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#53 of 139 in Zurich
367 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#27 of 139 in Zurich
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
748 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#43 of 139 in Zurich
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range: $277 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Zurich
#28 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel St. Gotthard staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St. Gotthard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Street frontage if you want to get the feel of the city, noise not a problem”
tors829, 27 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on fifth floor fully renovated”
907frankz, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Small number room (202, 302, etc) because of stairs from Elevator to bigger number rooms. I had 301, had a terrace facing main streets.”
aryoa545, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“I find that all hotels in Zurich are expensive. This hotel was mid-range.”
Zimmanj, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very central but also very quite.”
357fadim, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$218* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$237
Official SiteUS$232
HOTEL.INFOUS$277
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates