We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Bahnhofstrasse 87, Zurich 8001 Switzerland
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!10% off room rate
Booking.com
US$271
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/10/22
Expedia.com
US$231
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$176
View deal
Hotels.comUS$231
PricelineUS$271
eDreams
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (345)
360
Panoramas (48)
Videos (1)

About

#71 of 145 hotels in Zurich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 4 star Hotel St. Gotthard is located in an ideal central location of Zurich - in the middle of Bahnhofstrasse. Zurich Main Station is directly opposite the Hotel St. Gotthard and Zurich Airport can be reached in just 10 minutes by S-Bahn. Whether city trip or business trip, with the Hotel St. Gotthard Zurich you have the ideal starting point. LOCATION & SIGHTS ZURICH: - Perfectly located "Bahnhofstrasse" Zurich - Directly opposite Zurich Main Station - Zurich Airport only 10 minutes away - Centre of the business and financial district - Surrounded by café, restaurants and bars - Few steps away from the old town «Niederdorf» - Fraumünster & Grossmünster only 10 minutes walk - Beautyful Lake Zurich in walking distance
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
284Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
62Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1375Reviews36Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 599
  • 451
  • 185
  • 81
  • 59
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Walter U wrote a review 2 Oct
Saint-Malo, France1 contribution
Although it is almost two weeks by now that I stayed in the Hotel Sankt Gotthard in Zürich, I feel that I should give my feedback to this truly unpleasant stay: A colleague of mine first booked a room from Monday 19th to Tuesday 20th (CHF 350!!!) and later he added a second night the day before, from Sunday to Monday (CHF250). Arriving they give me a room so I would not have to change after day one. No comment that they would charge me 2 x CHF 350. Before my arrival, I asked the reception where I could park my car. As they do not have a hotel parking, they suggested I should use the close by parkings at Globus or City Parking. I chose Globus and was surprised to get a bill over the amount of CHF 188 for 43 hrs parking. Two old and very narrow elevators, one for 2 persons and the other for 4 persons with a bit of luggage. The room was small and narrow, and the bed was covered by 4 huge pillows and a big bedspread, but no place to put all that stuff. I had to put it on the floor. The bathroom was, I would say, about at least 20 years old. Breakfast: a barren room, 2 sleepy and yawning young people behind the buffet, which was partially set up on the bar of the hotel. The space in front of the buffet was so narrow that hardly 2 people could pass by eachother. The only one coffee machine was positioned in the far angle of the buffet. Where only one person could walk to the machine. The second person had to wait 3 meters away and let the first person walk out of this kind of cul-de-sac. No background music in the breakfast room, so that you could hear other hotel guests’ knives and spoons on the plates and on the table. There was still water on the buffet. When I asked for sparkling water I was told that I had to pay extra for this. Arriving in my room after day one: the bed was made, but the coffee cups were not cleaned and the waste on the table was still there. No water refill. I complained and reception sent a room service. When I came back from dinner: The cups were cleaned, the waste was gone. But a cleaning rag lay on my bedside table and the TV remote control was gone. With the help of the receptionist, we found it under the bed. When checking out they could not print out my invoice. They promised they would send it to me immediately as the printer would work again. The day after the bill had not arrived yet. I had to call the reception to get the invoice sent. All in all a very unpleasant experience from the start to the end. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do not book this Hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Chandresh J wrote a review Aug 2022
Mumbai, India18 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
I had very pleasant stay in this property, My room was upgraded with assistance from very good reception staff , He is Greek but I forget his name,He puts smile on your face.Hotel is very clean ,Fantastic well decorated room,breakfast had very nice spread,location is one of the top attraction of this hotel ,Hardly 3 minutes from main station. All the shopping malls are adjacent to this great hotel.Highly recommended. Would love to visit again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your positive feedback! Looking forward to welcome you again under our Guests. Best regards Your St. Gotthard Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
William B wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
Arrived at midday, and were told our room would not be ready until 3.00 pm by a very abrupt desk clerk. Left our bags and went for a walk. Returned at 3.20 pm and were told again by the same desk clerk that the room would be ready in 20 minutes. Sat in a small lobby waiting, as we had been up since 5.00 am. 4.00 pm arrived, still no indication as to when our room would be ready. Being very patient and allowing for the fact that the hotel seemed to be busy, gave them the benefit of the doubt, but at 5.00 pm returned to the desk clerk and asked how much longer it would be before the room was ready. She phoned, I can only assume, upstairs, then slammed the phone down and told me our room was still not ready. Other people were coming in with their cases and being given rooms. I then informed her that we had been up since 5.00 am and were very tired and just wanted to know how much longer it was going to be. Finally at 5.15 pm, I can only presume, the manager came over, and said he had made an alternative arrangement and moved us to a different room. He was very apologetic, unlike the desk clerk, who was very abrupt each time we spoke to her, almost as though everything was too much trouble. Other than that it was in a good location for the train station and shops, and not too far from the lake. Breakfast was reasonable for a city hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms are quite small so don't expect too much. If you are only staying a couple of days...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
HikingFoolCincinnati wrote a review Sep 2022
Cincinnati395 contributions221 helpful votes
The room was not that spacious but clean. It had a small table with 2 chairs and a very comfortable bed. It was also very quiet. On the negative side, the AC was not functioning well so it was very hot!! Also, the desk clerk during check-in was not very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your feedback! Your critic is very important for us in order to improve our quality standards. We inform you as well, that we could solve the problem with the AC. WE hope to welcome you again under our Guests. Best regards Your St. Gotthard Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jearwood12 wrote a review Sep 2022
Franklin, Tennessee8 contributions
Lovely welcome and stay at Hotel St. Gotthard, Our rooms were well appointed with the most comfortable and cozy bedding! Tall ceilings and lots of room for giant suitcaes. Zaour at the Front Desk went above and beyond to help us with massage reservations and dinner suggestions. He was kind and patient and everything you would hope from a lovely hotel. Just up the street from the train station, the location was just perfect. We stayed 2 nights in September of 2022 and will definitely be back! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your positive feedback! Looking forward to welcome you again under our Guests. Best regards Your St. Gotthard Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
D'awn C wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Upon check in, “we are putting you in two rooms each with one twin bed. We had a mess up with our system”. We were on our 40th Anniversary trip, so not acceptable. We booked in early March. Clearly lying to accommodate a larger group spending more nights. 1 room was ready but had a terrible stench. Breakfast buffet the worst and poorly maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your feedback. We are sorry, but we cannot be agree with your comment: please check your reservation with your travel agency! You received the rooms according your resrevation! Our Hotel was for 140 years established and it is not possible that we make this mistake with the Reservation as you describe! We wish you all the best and we suggest you to book next time directly with the hotel, and not by 3 different travel agencies, in ordert to catch the cheapest price. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maha I wrote a review Sep 2022
Toronto, Canada4 contributions10 helpful votes
My husband & I stayed 3 nights at this hotels september 2th-5th. coming from round trip in Greece. the worse of the my staying that I got stolen we arrived arround 2 PM, check in at front desk , the man wasn't friendly & have a kind of attitude. my husband though he might be tired. room was small but clean, ( no slipper or bathroom robes) .Surprisingly, soon while we rest a bit from thec trip , room service guy knocked at the door & I told him we will be out shortly as I wondered. I stopped by front desk to ask about the way to go to old town, again the man looked at me & said it is in the other side of the lake , alright i said, i knew that can you help me on direction from the hotel , right or left I know it is a walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your feedback! Your critic is very important for us in order to improve our quality standards. Thank you! Best regards Your St. Gotthard Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ryanCAUSA wrote a review Sep 2022
Los Angeles, California4 contributions
We only stayed for one night (thank god) and it was miserable from the time we arrived to the departure. The hotel is OLD and not in a charming way. We ate outside in the Cafe and our server had two separate yelling matches with the runner from the kitchen, it was awkward. The air con in our room didn't work (which was a major reason we booked that hotel) and it was very hot and humid (mid July 2022). The shower leaked all over the floor only after a minute of using it. The furniture on the balcony was dirty and the ashtray hadn't been emptied from the previous stay. We left early the next morning and when I mentioned the air con issue at checkout she apologized and that was it. There was no way to provide any credit as she was a "new hire" and no manager was available. We paid 400 CHF so please learn from our mistake. -Otherwise safe travels!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your feedback! Your critic is very important for us in order to improve our quality standards, but we cannot be agree with your comment: sure was the AC the main reason you booked our Hotel for, nor the location? Not the history? Not the services? Not the best price thathat you paid under the 4*Hotel in the same location? Are not these really reasons? We do not need to comment the rest of your complain because this is not true. Thank you! Best regards Your St. Gotthard Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sunshine639112 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Current ratings certainly are misrepresenting the actual experience here. We stayed for 3 days in September 2022. Location is really great but the hotel is overall run down and the mattresses are completely worn out. We are in our mid 40’s and reasonably active. Both my wife and I had significant back pain after the first night. We asked for a solution of some sort and they offered a foam mattress topper. We agreed and in the next they placed 2 foam pads the opposite direction across the bed??? We made it through the next two nights but wouldn’t go back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Perfect location. Just needs an update.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your feedback! Your critic is very important for us in order to improve our quality standards. Thank you! Best regards Your St. Gotthard Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David C wrote a review Aug 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana12 contributions18 helpful votes
Good location. Unfortunately pricey for the rooms not being that great and don’t seem to have been renovated for a long time. Air conditioning is not great and we thought it wasn’t working at first (turns out there is a switch which looks like a light switch next to the bed.) Before we found it we reported that it wasn’t working and were offered a fan instead of being moved to another room. I know Europeans are generally less fussy about having air conditioning (probably better for the environment to be fair) but think twice if you were expecting the AC to be good. Overall can’t give it an amazing review based on our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Geschäftsführer at Hotel St. Gotthard
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay in our Hotel and for your positive feedback! Looking forward to welcome you again under our Guests. Best regards Your St. Gotthard Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$176 - US$287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel st gotthard, st gotthard zürich
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurichOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
139
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel St. Gotthard
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel St. Gotthard?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Gmbh (0.1 km), Hauptbahnhof (0.2 km), and Limmatquai (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel St. Gotthard?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel St. Gotthard?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel St. Gotthard?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel St. Gotthard?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel St. Gotthard?
Conveniently located restaurants include Laderach, Restaurant La Soupière, and Ellermann`s Hummerbar.
Does Hotel St. Gotthard have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel St. Gotthard offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel St. Gotthard located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Zurich.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel St. Gotthard?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel St. Gotthard offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel St. Gotthard?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.